Aichi International School vs NUCB International Junior and Senior High School
Aichi International School and NUCB International Junior and Senior High School are both in Nagoya, about 5 km apart. Both schools offer Japanese programmes. Aichi International School also offers Bespoke and Canadian, and NUCB International Junior and Senior High School also offers IB. Published annual fees are ¥1,089,000 - 1,331,000 at Aichi International School and ¥596,900 - 1,093,900 at NUCB International Junior and Senior High School, which puts Aichi International School roughly 43% higher. Aichi International School takes pupils from 3 to 12, and NUCB International Junior and Senior High School from 12 to 18. NUCB International Junior and Senior High School is the larger school, with around 3,000 pupils to Aichi International School's 100. Both keep typical class sizes around 15.
Bespoke Curriculum, Canadian Curriculum, Japanese Curriculum
Curriculum
IB (MYP), IB (DP), Japanese Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
100
Pupils
3,000
Typical class size
Typical class size
15
Typical class size
15
Instruction language
Instruction language
English, Japanese
Instruction language
English, Japanese
Opened
Opened
2006
Opened
2003
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Aichi International School is located at Nijigaoka 3-4, Meito Ward, Nagoya, Aichi. The campus sits in a quiet residential district opposite Nijigaoka Park. It is about a 15-minute walk from Hoshigaoka Station on the Higashiyama Line and roughly a 10-minute drive from the Nagoya Exit of the Tomei/Meishin Expressways, with parkland in the immediate surrounds supporting a calm learning environment.
Location
NUCB International Junior and Senior High School is located at 1-16 Hirojihonmachi, Showa-ku, Nagoya, Aichi 466-0841, Japan. The campus sits in Showa Ward in Nagoya and is part of the NUCB education group. It is accessible by public transport and sits near other NUCB facilities.
Stages
Stages
AIS uses a nine-year framework: three years of kindergarten and six years of elementary school. Kindergarten classes are taught exclusively in English, while the elementary program is bilingual in English and Japanese (approximately 70% English and 30% Japanese) for Grades 1–6, accommodating students aged 3–12.
Stages
The school operates as a six-year integrated junior-senior high program. It offers the IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) and the IB Diploma Programme (DP) for secondary students. The school serves students typically aged 13–18.
School type
School type
Co-educational international school serving boys and girls aged 3–12.
School type
Private, co-educational day school. Boarding facilities are not offered.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
There is no published count of nationalities or local/international ratios. Admission policy states there is no restriction on nationality or religion, and an International Class exists. Enrollment data shows 688 students in total (353 male / 335 female) as of May 1, 2025.
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Class sizes range from 10 to 20 students per class, enabling individualized attention. All teachers are certified to deliver the full curriculum. The school uses external assessments such as the ISA for Grades 3–6 and EIKEN Institute-based assessments for elementary students.
Additional learning support
The school runs an English for International Understanding program with ten native English instructors in small classes to develop oral English. Public documentation of dedicated SEN facilities is not listed; language support is a prominent feature.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Japan
Country affiliation
Affiliations include UNESCO ASPnet (ASPnet member) and Council of International Schools (CIS). The school is located in Japan.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
Not specified
Religious affiliation
No formal religious affiliation is stated; admissions policies indicate no restriction on nationality or religion.
School day structure
School day structure
Morning care for kindergarten starts at 8:00 AM. After-care is offered for kindergarten from 3:30 PM to 5:00 PM and for elementary students from 4:15 PM to 5:00 PM.
School day structure
Publicly published start times are not stated; after-school activities end around 17:30–18:00 depending on the season. A timetable exists for class days, and the school provides after-school programs.
Bus service details
Bus service details
AIS offers a bus service: a 5-minute ride from Hoshigaoka Bus Terminal bound for Irinaka. Timetables for the nearest stop (Nishiyama Elementary School) are provided, and additional transit information can be found via Nagoya City public transportation resources.
Bus service details
Bus service details are not publicly published; inquiries should be directed to admissions for transport options.
- Kindergarten (Ages 3–5): JPY 1,089,000 per school year. - Elementary School (Grades 1–6): JPY 1,331,000 per school year.
Tuition — per term breakdown (calculated by number of months in each term)
- The school year runs April through March and is divided into three terms: Term 1 (April–July = 4 months), Term 2 (September–December = 4 months), Term 3 (January–March = 3 months). Term payments are calculated by the number of months in the term.
- Kindergarten (annual JPY 1,089,000): - Monthly basis used for term calculation: JPY 99,000 (JPY 1,089,000 ÷ 11 months). - Term 1 (4 months): JPY 396,000. - Term 2 (4 months): JPY 396,000. - Term 3 (3 months): JPY 297,000. - Total for the year: JPY 1,089,000.
- Elementary (annual JPY 1,331,000): - Monthly basis used for term calculation: JPY 121,000 (JPY 1,331,000 ÷ 11 months). - Term 1 (4 months): JPY 484,000. - Term 2 (4 months): JPY 484,000. - Term 3 (3 months): JPY 363,000. - Total for the year: JPY 1,331,000.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition may be paid either in a single annual payment or on a term basis (term amounts are calculated by number of months in each term). Both annual and term payments are collected by electronic withdrawal from the family's financial institution. A handling charge of JPY 3,300 is applied to termly installment payments. - The application fee is submitted at the same time as the application form.
Facilities, supplies and other one-time / recurring fees
- School facilities fee: - Kindergarten (Ages 3–5): JPY 206,800. - Elementary (Grades 1–6): JPY 227,480. - Supply fee: - Kindergarten: JPY 88,000. - Elementary: JPY 96,800. - Additional likely costs (charged as applicable): school uniform; school bag (elementary); textbooks; school lunch (if ordered); violin lessons for elementary students; costs for special events and activities. These items are noted as additional costs beyond the amounts listed above.
Boarding fees
- Boarding is not applicable. No boarding fees are listed for Aichi International School's Kindergarten or Elementary programs.
Refund information
- No explicit refund policy or refund schedule is published within the school's tuition, admission, and application materials.
Fee payment options
- Primary payment collection method for tuition is electronic withdrawal (direct debit) from the family's financial institution. A termly installment incurs a JPY 3,300 administrative charge. The application form instruction requires submission of the applicable application fee when the application form is submitted. Specific alternate payment methods (for example, credit card or wire transfer) are not specified in the published fee materials.
Fee details
Application / Entrance fees
- Admission (one‑time): JPY 500,000. - No separate, publicly posted ‘‘application only'' fee or separate exam fee schedule is published on the school's publicly available admissions/fees pages; the school's published one‑time charge is presented as the Admission fee above.
Tuition fees (by year / per term information)
- Published annual tuition (single headline amount for enrolled students): JPY 2,100,000 per year. The school presents this as the annual tuition figure rather than as a per‑grade breakdown. - The school does not publish a public per‑grade fee table or a per‑term numerical breakdown on its publicly accessible tuition and admissions pages; the published figure is given as an annual amount. Installment and loan options are described separately (see Billing schedule and Payment terms below).
Boarding and recurring annual charges
- Boarding fee (full boarding): JPY 1,550,000 per year. The boarding fee is stated to include utilities and three meals per day; additional charges apply for special menus to meet allergies or dietary restrictions (e.g., Halal, vegetarian). - Education enhancement fee: JPY 450,000 per year.
Total example (headline components published together)
- One‑time admission + annual charges (headline components published by the school): Admission JPY 500,000; Tuition JPY 2,100,000/year; Boarding JPY 1,550,000/year; Education enhancement fee JPY 450,000/year. These four items are the school's published headline fee components.
Other costs and fees (additional, typically billed separately or charged alongside tuition)
- Uniforms, study materials and textbooks, health/medical examinations, group insurance, student projects, CAS and extracurricular activity costs, and other consumables or program costs are additional and will be charged in addition to the headline tuition/boarding/education enhancement fees. The school notes these items as separate expected expenses. - The school provides each incoming student with an Apple laptop as part of enrollment (noted in the school materials).
Billing schedule and payment terms
- The school publishes the annual amounts above but does not publish a detailed public calendar of exact fee due dates or a per‑term invoice schedule on the tuition/fees pages that are publicly available. Where payment splitting and support are described, the school references dedicated payment support plans and partner loan options (see next section). - The school offers a tuition payment support plan run through a third‑party (Orico). That support plan permits分割 (installment) payment of school fees and uses automatic monthly deduction; the plan description specifies monthly automatic debits and a fixed interest rate for the split payment service. Specifics such as minimum/maximum amounts, application process, and the monthly debit date (automatic bank transfer on the 27th) are described in the school's published support plan material. - The school lists partner education‑loan arrangements (for example, a partnered SMBC Finance Service loan and other bank loan options) as available payment pathways; these partner products may include repayment choices such as interest‑only payments while in school or other education‑loan specific terms. These are presented as optional financing routes rather than as changes to the headline tuition figures.
Refund information
- No detailed, itemized refund schedule (for withdrawal, visa denial, late arrival, or term‑by‑term pro‑rata refunds) is published on the school's publicly available tuition, admissions, download, or scholarships pages. A specific refund policy and precise refund conditions were not located on the public fee pages. Because no public refund schedule appears on those pages, specific refund terms (eligibility, deadlines, or proportional refund percentages) are not available from the school's posted fee materials. Parents should treat refund terms as unspecified in the school's published fee summaries.
Fee payment methods and practical options
- Installment payment: Available via the school's announced tuition support plan (Orico) with automatic bank debit; the plan documentation sets out automatic debit details and a fixed interest rate for split payments. - Education loans: The school lists partner education‑loan products (e.g., SMBC Finance Service and other local bank options) for families who prefer loan financing; those partner programs describe their own application and repayment terms. - No explicit, detailed list of all accepted instant payment methods (for example, which credit cards the school will accept for school fee payment or whether international wire transfers are accepted) is published on the headline tuition pages. The school's payment support pages indicate bank automatic debit and partner‑loan methods; other payment modalities may be available through Admissions/Finance on request but are not itemized in the publicly posted tuition summary.
Discounts / reductions affecting fees
- The school publishes scholarship and discount schemes that reduce headline fees for eligible applicants or returning families. Examples include dormitory scholarships, sibling discounts, and affiliation discounts (for graduates of affiliated schools or children of NUCB alumni) that can reduce admission or tuition amounts. These are applied according to the scholarship rules the school publishes.
Practical notes and contact
- The figures above are the school's published headline amounts for tuition, boarding, admission, and education enhancement fees on the school's fees pages. The school's fee pages also note that some items (special dietary menu charges, uniforms, insurance, materials, extracurricular charges, and similar costs) are additional. - Admissions Office contact (for payment queries and final, binding fee schedules and refund terms): NUCB International College Admissions Office, Sagamine 4‑4, Komenoki‑cho, Nisshin, Aichi 470‑0193; Tel: +81‑561‑73‑8181; Email: info@ic.nucba.ac.jp. Use the Admissions/Download materials for the full admissions guidebook and the school's published scholarship pages for details on reductions and eligibility.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Aichi International School follows a nine-year program consisting of three years of kindergarten (100% English) and six years of bilingual elementary education (English and Japanese). Kindergarten is taught entirely in English, while the elementary program delivers about 70% English and 30% Japanese. The curriculum aligns with Japan's Ministry of Education (MEXT) guidelines and the British Columbia curriculum, supporting bilingual learning across subjects. In elementary, international teachers teach English, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Art, Music, Digital Technology, and PE, while Japanese teachers cover Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies under MEXT. Assessment includes internal Criterion-Referenced Testing in core Japanese subjects for all grades; external ISA examinations in English and Math for Grades 3–6; EIKEN IBA Reading and Listening for all elementary students; and EIKEN Junior Silver/Gold tests for kindergarten. Aichi International School is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC).
Curriculum details
NUCB International Junior and Senior High School offers a six-year Integrated Junior and Senior High School program, plus two Senior High tracks: International Studies and General Studies. Instruction is primarily in English, with an English-for-International Understanding program and a team of native-English instructors to support language development. In 2021 an International Class was established for upper English-proficiency students, with English courses taught by native instructors and additional Japanese language support as needed. The senior high offers the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (DP); the school has been an IB World School since 2014 and is pursuing the Middle Years Programme (MYP) as a candidate. The curriculum is complemented by TOEIC preparation, United Nations General Assembly simulations, and international exchanges with partner schools in multiple countries; the school also holds Article 1 MEXT accreditation and CIS membership.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. Application windows and calendar for April 2026 entry: Aichi International School operates on an April–March academic year. For the April 2026 intake, Kindergarten applications open on September 1, 2025; Grade 1 applications open on September 22, 2025; and applications for Grades 2 and above open on September 1, 2025. Applications for the 2025–2026 school year remain open until all places are filled. Entry to each grade is determined by the child's age as of April 2.
2. Submitting the application and fees: Complete the AIS application form and submit the applicable application fee with the form to ensure the application is considered. The application forms are provided as PDFs for Kindergarten and Elementary, and the process emphasizes submitting the application form together with the fee. A notice also states that applications for 2026 are now open and invites inquiries for more information.
3. Application review and acceptance notice: After the school reviews the submitted application form, families will be notified of acceptance. This review step determines next steps for the family and the student. The page also offers a contact avenue for additional information during the review process.
4. Testing and interview requirements: Testing for Grade 1 includes an interview or speaking test and a written test conducted in both English and Japanese. The admission process also indicates that testing details are part of the process, with language assessment as a key component.
5. Rolling admissions and waitlist: The school operates rolling admissions for mid-year transfers, accepting applications as long as spaces are available. If no spaces are available, applicants are placed on a waiting list. School visits or online visits can be arranged if needed to support the process.
6. Enrollment timing and age-based placement: Students may join AIS at various points during the school year, but placement into a specific grade is determined by the child's age as of April 2. The AIS year runs from April to March, with scheduled breaks, and the overall policy allows entry anytime during the year.
7. Class capacity and availability: Class capacity is published by grade and reflects limited spots in several classes. As of the published availability for the 2025–2026 year, some grades show few spots left or are full with waiting lists, indicating that early application is beneficial for securing a place.
Admissions
Step 1: Entry and application fee payment. Submit the online application form and pay the application fee to access the My Page application portal. After payment you will gain access to the My Page portal to manage your submission. Incomplete or inaccurate information can delay the review. Step 2: CAT4 Online Examination. Applicants are required to take the CAT4 online examination as part of the admissions process. The exam is completed online and contributes to the overall evaluation of each applicant. Step 3: Submitting application documents. In My Page, upload the listed documents: Personal Information and Declaration form, the Application Form, an English essay (roughly 500 words), academic transcript and attendance record for Grade 7 to 9, a recent portrait photo, and a family photo. For international applicants, provide a photocopy of passport or residence card and a financial statement demonstrating the ability to support the applicant for the duration of the programme. Optional documents include evidence of English proficiency and annual tax statements; two referee references should be submitted directly to the school. Step 4: Interview. After the documents are reviewed, applicants will be contacted to schedule the final interview; if the document review is unsuccessful, no interview will be conducted. Step 5: Application Result. Admissions decisions are based on the submitted documents, CAT4 results, and the interview. The result is communicated within two weeks after the interview. Step 6: Enrolment and capacity. Enrollment is limited to 75 students in Grade 10. Enrollment follows the admission result. Applications for the 2025/2026 cycle opened on October 1, 2025 and are reviewed on a rolling basis. Stage 2 and Stage 3 may not open if full capacity is reached. Enrolment occurs after admission to secure a seat; exact steps may be provided after the offer.
Scholarships
Scholarships
AIS does not advertise a separate school-specific scholarship program. The school notes that it is certified as an unlicensed childcare facility and qualifies for the government's free early childhood education and childcare program, which can reduce costs for eligible families. There is no indication of AIS offering its own scholarships or tuition waivers.
Scholarships
NUCB International College offers several scholarships. The Academic Scholarship provides either 90%, 60%, or 30% of the first-year tuition, renewed annually for recipients who remain in the top 20% of the cohort. The Housing Scholarship provides 360,000 JPY over one year (30,000 JPY per month) toward boarding fees, with a maximum of three new students per year. The Affiliation Scholarship covers 50% of the admission fee for students progressing from the affiliated middle school or who are children of NUCB alumni. The Sibling Discount offers 10% off tuition for siblings of current or former students. Scholarships are awarded automatically based on eligibility; no separate application is required. There are no NUCB loans or grants for this program, and there is no application fee waiver.
Waitlist
Waitlist
AIS uses a waitlist as part of its rolling admissions. For mid-year transfers, applications are considered as long as spaces exist; when spaces are filled, applicants are placed on a waiting list. If needed, AIS offers school visits or online visits to support applicants during the process.
Waitlist
There is no publicly described waitlist or pool system. Admissions operate on a rolling basis with capacity constraints. Stage 2 and Stage 3 may not open if full capacity is reached.