American English Academy vs Change the World Schools International School and Kindergarten
American English Academy and Change the World Schools International School and Kindergarten are both in Sofia, about 2 km apart. Both schools offer American programmes. American English Academy also offers Advanced Placement (AP), and Change the World Schools International School and Kindergarten also offers IB and Bespoke. Published annual fees are close, at €55 - 15,600 for American English Academy and €8,000 - 8,200 for Change the World Schools International School and Kindergarten. American English Academy takes pupils from 3 to 18, and Change the World Schools International School and Kindergarten from 4 to 14.
American Curriculum, IB (PYP), IB (MYP), Bespoke Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
200
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
10
Typical class size
—
Instruction language
Instruction language
English, Bulgarian
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
1992
Opened
2022
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Lozen Area, Sofia, Bulgaria; campus in the foothills outside the city near Lozen, with views toward the mountains.
Location
The school is located in Sofia, Bulgaria. It is the first international school of Change the World Schools.
Stages
Stages
Pre-kindergarten through Grade 12.
Stages
Elementary and Middle School
School type
School type
Day, coeducational international school.
School type
International School and Kindergarten
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
About 200 students from 35+ countries; 40% international, 60% local.
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
—
Country affiliation
American-owned
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
—
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application and one‑time fees - Application fee: EUR 450, due upon student application; this fee is non‑refundable (siblings of current AEA students are exempt from the application fee). - Wait‑pool registration (when applicable): EUR 55. - Capital fee (new students only): EUR 1,950, payable with the contract signing; this is a one‑time fee and is non‑refundable. The capital fee covers educational materials (books, models, etc.) for the student's entire period at AEA.
Annual tuition fees (school year 2026/27) and standard term breakdown All tuition figures are stated per academic year. The school uses a standard payment plan of three installments (50% / 30% / 20%) with due dates shown in the Billing section below. Per‑installment amounts shown here follow that split. - Kindergarten K3–K5: Annual tuition EUR 10,500. Installments: Payment 1 (50%) EUR 5,250; Payment 2 (30%) EUR 3,150; Payment 3 (20%) EUR 2,100. - Advanced Kindergarten (K6): Annual tuition EUR 12,200. Installments: Payment 1 EUR 6,100; Payment 2 EUR 3,660; Payment 3 EUR 2,440. - Grade 1–7, International Program: Annual tuition EUR 14,500. Installments: Payment 1 EUR 7,250; Payment 2 EUR 4,350; Payment 3 EUR 2,900. - Grade 1–7, Dual Language Program: Annual tuition EUR 15,600. Installments: Payment 1 EUR 7,800; Payment 2 EUR 4,680; Payment 3 EUR 3,120. - Grade 8: Annual tuition EUR 14,600. Installments: Payment 1 EUR 7,300; Payment 2 EUR 4,380; Payment 3 EUR 2,920. - Grades 9–10: Annual tuition EUR 12,200. Installments: Payment 1 EUR 6,100; Payment 2 EUR 3,660; Payment 3 EUR 2,440. - Grades 11–12: Annual tuition EUR 13,400. Installments: Payment 1 EUR 6,700; Payment 2 EUR 4,020; Payment 3 EUR 2,680.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Standard payment plan: three installments — 50% due by March 31, 30% due by June 30, and 20% due by December 15. Returning students' first installment is scheduled for March 31. New students' first installment is due within one month after enrollment. - For more than one child enrolled, the family receives a 5% discount on the fee with the lower amount. All fees listed are VAT inclusive.
Boarding fees - AEA is a day school (coeducational day international school); there are no boarding services or boarding fees.
Other costs and optional services (typical annual fees) - School meals (breakfast and lunch): K6–Grade 3: EUR 1,656; Grades 4–7: EUR 1,808; Grades 8–12: EUR 1,992. A lunch‑only option is available: K6–Grade 3: EUR 1,368; Grades 4–7: EUR 1,532; Grades 8–12: EUR 1,700. A 10% discount applies if the full school‑meals program is prepaid for the entire academic year. - Transportation (annual): round‑trip EUR 2,570 per student (fee is updated annually); one‑way EUR 1,740 per student. - After‑school activities: charged separately; fees are set according to the activity and local Sofia market rates. - AP exam costs and certain examination or exam‑preparation fees: AP courses and some AP exam administration are included in the weekly schedule for high‑school students, but additional fees apply if students self‑prepare for more than the mandatory AP exams. Field trips, ski trips, and certain overseas trips are charged separately. - Uniforms, textbooks, and educational materials are provided as part of the tuition/capital fee coverage; parents are not charged a separate standard uniform fee. Specific optional personal or replacement items remain the parents' responsibility.
Partial‑year enrolment and early withdrawal (refund treatment and pro‑rata) - Tuition for partial‑year enrolment or early withdrawal is calculated on a prorated basis according to the enrollment quarter: students enrolled in the 1st quarter are charged the full annual tuition; 2nd quarter enrolment is charged 75% of the annual tuition; 3rd quarter enrolment 50%; 4th quarter enrolment 25%. Application and capital fees are non‑refundable.
Payment methods and billing notes - Admissions procedures reference payment by bank transfer (bank transfer receipts) or cash receipt for application and capital fee payments; bank transfer is the standard method documented in admissions steps. The school issues invoices and schedules payments according to the standard plan. No general credit‑card acceptance for tuition is specified in the published admissions/fee documents.
VAT and inclusions - All listed fees are VAT inclusive. The tuition fee is described as all‑inclusive for educational provision (access to facilities, tests, selected exam administration, student insurance, counseling, and provision of uniforms/textbooks/materials), while optional non‑pedagogical services (meals, transport, after‑school activities, trips) are charged in addition.
Fee details
Academic year covered - Published fee schedule for the 2025–2026 academic year.
Application fee - Application fee: EUR 100 when an installment plan that includes an application fee is selected. The application fee is waived if the family chooses the single (one-installment) annual payment option.
Tuition fees by school year (amounts shown per year and per payment option) - Kindergarten (ages 4–6) - Annual tuition: EUR 8,000 per year. - Payment of 1 installment (annual): EUR 8,000 (application fee waived). - Payment of 2 installments: EUR 4,100 per installment + EUR 100 application fee. - Payment of 10 installments: EUR 810 per installment + EUR 100 application fee.
- Primary and Middle School (Grades 1–8) - Annual tuition: EUR 8,200 per year. - Payment of 1 installment (annual): EUR 8,200 (application fee waived). - Payment of 2 installments: EUR 4,150 per installment + EUR 100 application fee. - Payment of 10 installments: EUR 830 per installment + EUR 100 application fee.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Families may choose one of three billing schedules: a single annual payment, two instalments, or ten instalments (monthly-style). The single annual payment option carries no application fee; the two- and ten-instalment options include an application fee of EUR 100. Specific due dates, late-payment penalties, and invoice timing are not stated in the published fee schedule.
Boarding fees - No boarding programme or boarding fees are listed in the published fee information.
Other costs and fees (uniforms, materials, extracurriculars, transport, etc.) - The published academic fee schedule lists only the tuition amounts and the application-fee rule tied to payment option. No separate amounts are published for uniforms, textbooks, materials, school lunches, extracurricular activities, transport, or capital/development levies.
Refund information - No refund policy, refundable/deposit rules, or partial-refund terms are published alongside the fee schedule.
Fee payment options (methods) - Specific payment methods (for example credit card, bank transfer, direct debit, or other processors) are not specified in the published fee schedule.
Brief summary of findings and remaining items not published - The published materials provide clear annual tuition amounts for Kindergarten and for Primary/Middle (Grades 1–8) and specify three billing schedules with the application-fee rule. The published materials do not provide boarding fees, uniform or other ancillary-fee amounts, refund terms, detailed payment-methods, exact billing dates, or late-payment terms; those items are not listed in the available fee schedule.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The American English Academy offers a U.S. standards-based program from pre-kindergarten through Grade 12, with instruction in English. The curriculum follows U.S. Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts and mathematics, and includes literacy in history, science, and technical subjects. The program is organized by grade level: Middle School (5th–7th), 8th grade, 9th, 10th, 11th, and 12th grade, with core courses across English, math, science, social studies, and electives including Art, Music, IT, and Physical Education, plus after-school activities. An optional Dual Language Program for Bulgarian students (Pre-school to Grade 12) is taught in Bulgarian and English and provides double certification after each grade, aligning with both U.S. and Bulgarian standards. The school is an official Advanced Placement (AP) center; students may prepare for up to five AP exams during high school.
Curriculum details
The school's Elementary and Middle School programs use a mix of US-based and IB frameworks. The Elementary core academic curriculum is based on the American Common Core standards, and the school aims to align with the IB Primary Years Programme (PYP), with project-based learning. The Middle School core also uses Common Core, built on the IB Middle Years Programme (MYP), with projects that apply learning to the community. The programs emphasize 21st-century teaching techniques and practical education; social-emotional development is a focus in the elementary program, while middle school includes practical skills such as budgeting, obtaining and keeping a job, and basic DIY projects to prepare for high school and beyond.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
1:4 teacher-student ratio; average class size is 12 students.
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
100% of graduates are admitted to university or college.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
All graduates are admitted to university or college. The AP program supports college readiness and offers on-site AP exams.
Higher education progression
Graduates are prepared for universities or other higher learning.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
The American English Academy operates a selective admissions policy and evaluates all applicants for Grades 1-12 with an entrance interview and English language skills assessment. Admissions are based on the school's ability to meet the educational needs of the applicant and the applicant's potential to benefit from the education, with consideration of language support, special needs, class size and demographics. All admissions are subject to availability; if the designated grade level is full, students may be placed in the wait pool upon parental request. Priority of admission is given to: children with siblings currently studying at AEA; children who have studied in other international schools; children of parents with international citizenship; and children of Bulgarian citizens. AEA accepts students throughout the school year; applications are reviewed individually with possible statuses of “approved”, “rejected”, or “continued for further assessment”. Approved candidates are enrolled after signing an Agreement for educational services, and the full process typically takes 10–15 days if documents are complete. Admissions are based on the chronological order of application submission, acceptance, and registration. New student grade placement is determined by previous educational experience and age; generally students should be no more than twelve months older or younger than the average age for their grade.
Admissions
An Application Form is available for applications. The school is located in Sofia, Bulgaria.
Scholarships
Scholarships
AEA Scholarship Program offers limited partial scholarships for new high school enrollees joining after February 1, 2020. Priority is given to high-achieving international or local students with exceptional academic records whose sponsoring agencies do not provide full tuition. Applicants must submit: standard AEA Admission Application; a scholarship request letter from parents; academic records; a teacher recommendation; letters from parents and the applicant detailing motivation; proof of financial need (i.e., a letter from the embassy or employing company); and evidence of satisfactory behavior and a willingness to participate in Advanced Placement exams. Scholarship applicants must also undergo the standard entrance assessment; funding is for one school year and may continue in subsequent years based on yearly reviews of academic/behavioral performance and financial situation. Only students not currently enrolled at AEA or who have not previously been enrolled at AEA are eligible to apply for a scholarship. The scholarship program is funded by Markan Holding AD and approved by the AEA Scholarship Committee; applicant's Admission Application must be submitted online and all other documentation sent by email to admissions@aeasofia.com.
Scholarships
—
Waitlist
Waitlist
If a grade level is full, a student may be placed in the wait pool upon parental request.