Assafwah International School – Sohar Branch vs Oloum Al Mustaqbal International Private School (Future Science)
Assafwah International School – Sohar Branch and Oloum Al Mustaqbal International Private School (Future Science) are both in Sohar, about 30 km apart. Both schools offer Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels and Bespoke programmes, and Oloum Al Mustaqbal International Private School (Future Science) also offers British, Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary) and Canadian. Published annual fees are close, at OMR 1,340 - 3,090 for Assafwah International School – Sohar Branch and OMR 1,550 - 2,850 for Oloum Al Mustaqbal International Private School (Future Science). Assafwah International School – Sohar Branch takes pupils from 3 to 14, and Oloum Al Mustaqbal International Private School (Future Science) from 4 to 18.
Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels, Bespoke Curriculum
Curriculum
Bespoke Curriculum, British Curriculum, Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels, Canadian Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
—
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
21
Typical class size
—
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English, Arabic
Opened
Opened
2000
Opened
2014
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
Yes
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
—
Location
FSIS is located in Majan Village, Falaj Al Qabail, Sohar, Oman. It sits in the Sohar area and serves students from Reception to Grade 12. The campus operates Sunday to Thursday from 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM.
Stages
Stages
Classes from Kindergarten to Grade 12. The school offers Early Childhood KG, Primary (Grade 1-6), Lower Secondary (Grade 7-8), Upper Secondary (Grade 9-11), and Cambridge Advanced Summer Class. The Cambridge curriculum (IGCSE, AS & A levels) is followed along with a bilingual system under the Ministry of Education of Oman.
Stages
Reception to Grade 12.
School type
School type
—
School type
Private international school.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
Public information describes FSIS as holistic and inclusive, but no specific SEN provisions or facilities are listed.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Oman.
Country affiliation
FSIS follows Cambridge International Education and operates under the Oman Ministry of Education. It is ECIS-accredited.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is stated.
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
The school day runs Sunday to Thursday from 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM.
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
A school bus service is available. Arrangements are handled by the Bus Administrator, Mr. Abdulrahman Ismail Al Balushi.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application / Registration fee - No specific application or registration fee amount is listed for the Sohar branch. The school notes that students must be registered on the MOE portal and fees must be paid before March 1 to attend.
Tuition fees — per term and per academic year (OMR) - Grade 1 — Term 1 (Sep 1): OMR 450; Term 2 (Jan 1): OMR 450; Term 3 (Apr 1): OMR 440. (Annual total: OMR 1,340). - Grade 2 — Term 1: OMR 480; Term 2: OMR 480; Term 3: OMR 480. (Annual total: OMR 1,440). - Grade 3 — Term 1: OMR 565; Term 2: OMR 565; Term 3: OMR 410. (Annual total: OMR 1,540). - Grade 4 — Term 1: OMR 650; Term 2: OMR 650; Term 3: OMR 543. (Annual total: OMR 1,843). - Grade 5 — Term 1: OMR 670; Term 2: OMR 670; Term 3: OMR 650. (Annual total: OMR 1,990). - Grade 6 — Term 1: OMR 720; Term 2: OMR 720; Term 3: OMR 700. (Annual total: OMR 2,140). - Grade 7 — Term 1: OMR 750; Term 2: OMR 750; Term 3: OMR 740. (Annual total: OMR 2,240). - Grade 8 — Term 1: OMR 820; Term 2: OMR 820; Term 3: OMR 807. (Annual total: OMR 2,447). - Grade 9 — Term 1: OMR 880; Term 2: OMR 880; Term 3: OMR 880. (Annual total: OMR 2,640). - Grade 10 — Term 1: OMR 1,030; Term 2: OMR 1,030; Term 3: OMR 1,030. (Annual total: OMR 3,090). - Grade 11 — Term 1: OMR 1,090; Term 2: OMR 1,090; Term 3: OMR 810. (Annual total: OMR 2,990). - Grade 12 — Term 1: OMR 1,030; Term 2: OMR 1,030; Term 3: OMR 1,030. (Annual total: OMR 3,090). - Kindergarten (KG1/KG2) — per-term and annual amounts are not provided in the available fees listing.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Standard installment schedule: three installments with due dates shown as First Installment — September 1; Second Installment — January 1; Third Installment — April 1. - Payment plans offered: full payment (due before the first semester ends) or three-installment plan (split between semesters). - Early-payment terms: a one-time discount of OMR 200 is offered for paying all fees in cash upfront. - Sibling discounts: 5% off annual fees for the first sibling; 10% off annual fees for the second sibling. Only one sibling discount can be applied per family. - Withdrawal / refund-related schedule: If a student is withdrawn before January 15, the school states “60% of fees due.” If withdrawal occurs after January 15, the school states the full fees are due. (This defines the payable amount on withdrawal; no further refund detail is provided).
Transportation fees (OMR) - One-way Zone 1: OMR 210. - One-way Zone 2: OMR 280. - Two-way Zone 1: OMR 300. - Two-way Zone 2: OMR 400.
Boarding fees - No boarding fees or boarding program are listed for the Sohar branch; boarding is not indicated as a service. The school's branch/facility notes do not list boarding as an offering.
Other costs and typical additional charges - Books / learning materials: the annual fees are described as covering books and learning materials, but no separate book fee amount or breakdown is shown. - Uniforms, exam registration fees, subject-specific charges, activity or laboratory fees, and any separate application/registration fee amounts are not specified in the available fee listing.
Refunds and withdrawal - The explicit withdrawal schedule given is: before January 15 — 60% of fees due; after January 15 — full fees due. No additional refund procedure, timelines for refund processing, or bank/administrative charges on refunds are specified.
Fee payment options and accepted methods - Stated payment arrangements: full payment or three installments as described above. An OMR 200 discount is specified for paying all fees in cash upfront. Specific accepted payment instruments (for example: credit card, bank transfer, online payment portal) are not listed in the published fee information.
Brief note on gaps in the published fee information - The published fees list provides detailed term amounts for Grades 1–12, transportation tariffs, installment dates, discounts, and the withdrawal schedule. It does not publish numerical fees for KG, does not list any application/registration fee amount, does not itemize uniform or exam fees, does not state boarding fees (boarding not offered), and does not list which payment instruments (credit card, bank transfer, online portal) are accepted.
Fee details
Application / One-time fees
- One-time capital fee (payable at registration): OMR 250.
Tuition and materials – annual amounts by year group (total and breakdown)
- KG1: Total annual charge OMR 1,550 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,350; Book & Stationery OMR 200.
- KG2: Total annual charge OMR 1,650 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,450; Book & Stationery OMR 200.
- Grade 1: Total annual charge OMR 1,775 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,550; Book & Stationery OMR 225.
- Grade 2: Total annual charge OMR 1,875 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,650; Book & Stationery OMR 225.
- Grade 3: Total annual charge OMR 1,975 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,750; Book & Stationery OMR 225.
- Grade 4: Total annual charge OMR 2,075 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,850; Book & Stationery OMR 225.
- Grade 5: Total annual charge OMR 2,100 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,850; Book & Stationery OMR 250.
- Grade 6: Total annual charge OMR 2,100 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 1,850; Book & Stationery OMR 250.
- Grade 7: Total annual charge OMR 2,400 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 2,100; Book & Stationery OMR 300.
- Grade 8: Total annual charge OMR 2,400 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 2,100; Book & Stationery OMR 300.
- Grade 9: Total annual charge OMR 2,600 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 2,200; Book & Stationery OMR 400.
- Grade 10: Total annual charge OMR 2,700 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 2,300; Book & Stationery OMR 400.
- Grade 11: Total annual charge OMR 2,750 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 2,350; Book & Stationery OMR 400.
- Grade 12: Total annual charge OMR 2,850 — Tuition (School Fees) OMR 2,450; Book & Stationery OMR 400.
Per-term billing
- Fees are published as annual totals (tuition/school fees plus book & stationery). A per-term breakdown is not specified in the published fee schedule.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- The published information lists annual charges but does not specify the school's billing schedule (termly instalments, monthly payments, or due dates) or detailed payment terms.
Sibling discounts
- Sibling discount scale: 5% for the second child, 10% for the third child, and 15% for the fourth child; the child in the highest grade is considered the first child for discount calculation.
Transport (bus) fees — cost per year by route/area
- Sohar routes (annual): Al Afifa OMR 325; Al Ghushba OMR 325; Al Hambar OMR 360; Al Jafra OMR 325; Al Khuwairia OMR 315; Al Mutaqa OMR 325; Al Ohi OMR 325; Al Suwaihra OMR 370; Al Tareef OMR 360; Al Waqaina East OMR 360; Al Waqaiba 5 OMR 370; Al Zafaran OMR 325; Al Sanqar OMR 325; Falaj Al Qabail OMR 300; Ghail Al Shibool OMR 370; Hay Al Rafaa OMR 370; Majan OMR 150; Majaz OMR 370; Majees OMR 315; Muwaileh OMR 370; Outab OMR 370; Sallan OMR 350; Seih Al Makarem OMR 370.
- Liwa routes (annual): Al Rasa OMR 400; Al Teeb Town OMR 380; Al Zahia East OMR 370; Fezh OMR 400; Ghadfan OMR 350; Harmool OMR 370; Liwa Suq OMR 370; Sha Abiat OMR 380.
- A uniform section appears in the published information but specific uniform prices are not listed. Other ancillary costs such as exam fees, extra-curricular fees, medical fees or special programme fees are not itemised in the published fee schedule. Bus fees are quoted as annual amounts by route.
Boarding
- Boarding is not listed as an offered service; no boarding fees are published.
Refund information
- No explicit refund policy or refund amounts (for withdrawal, overpayment, or term cancellation) are published in the fee information.
Payment methods / options
- Specific payment methods (for example: bank transfer, credit card, cash, or instalment plans) are not specified in the published fee information.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The Cambridge curriculum (IGCSE, AS & A levels) and a bilingual system aligned with the Ministry of Education of Oman are followed. Classes run from kindergarten to grade 12. A range of sports and co-curricular activities is offered. The curriculum aims to develop inquiring, knowledgeable, and responsible young citizens of the future.
Curriculum details
FSIS in Sohar, Oman offers a dual-curriculum model: the Cambridge International Programme (IGCSE 14-16 and Cambridge International AS & A Levels 16-19) alongside the General Education Diploma (GED) under the Ministry of Education for Grades 9–12. The Cambridge pathway provides internationally recognized qualifications, while the GED provides a MOE-aligned credential for senior students. Grades 9–10 under the GED cover Arabic, English, Social Studies (Arabic), Islamic (Arabic), Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, ICT, Art, Music, Life Skills, and Physical Education. Grades 11–12 under the GED maintain Arabic, English Language, Social Studies (Arabic), Islamic (Arabic), Mathematics, and offer three elective subjects from English Language Skills, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, French, German, ICT, Economics, Business Studies, Art, Music, and PE. FSIS teaches in English and Arabic, with French and Urdu available as third-language options. The school is Cambridge International-accredited, partners with Oman's MOE, and is a member of ECIS.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Classes from kindergarten to grade 12; The Cambridge curriculum (IGCSE, AS & A levels) and bilingual system (Ministry of Education of Oman) are followed. Apply online via 'APPLY NOW' and register online via Classter. Contact details for branches are listed, including Al Khoudh (Main Office) and Sohar along with telephone numbers and email addresses for each branch.
Admissions
1. Step 1 — Submit required documents and pay the One Time Capital Fee. The school lists the following documents for applicants (KG1 through Grade 1): a copy of the student's birth certificate certified by the MOFA, four passport-size photographs, copies of the student's and parents' passports with a valid visa for non-Omani family members, a health vaccination card, a transfer letter from the previous school, the last grade report (certified by MOFA and equated to MOE), and copies of the resident cards for both the student and parents. The One Time Capital Fee is 250 OMR. These items must accompany the application, and the fee is a separate upfront charge. This step requires the family to prepare and submit all listed materials to initiate the admission process.
2. Step 2 — Verify grade eligibility and review cost details. The school publishes explicit age ranges by grade to determine appropriate placement (e.g., KG1 is for attending ages 3 years 2 months to 4 years 11 months, KG2 for ages around 4 years 2 months to 5 years 11 months, Grade 1 for 5 years 2 months to 7 years 2 months, etc.). Each grade has a total annual fee comprised of School Fees plus Book & Stationery (for example, KG1 totals 1550 OMR with 1350 OMR for fees and 200 OMR for books, and Grade 12 totals 2850 OMR with 2450 OMR for fees and 400 OMR for books). The numbers and the mixed English/Arabic fee details are provided per grade on the admissions materials. The One Time Capital Fee remains separate from these annual charges.
3. Step 3 — Transfer, MOE equivalence, and documents review; admission decision timing is not published. In addition to the documents above, the page references a transfer letter from the previous school and a school report of the last grade (certified from MOFA and equated to MOE) as part of the submission, with MOE equivalence for non-Omani students. The site does not publish a timetable for decisions or the exact communication method, so families are advised to await confirmation from the school after document review. For further details or to confirm any grade-specific requirements, contact FSIS using the numbers and emails listed on the school's contact page.
4. Step 4 — Enrollment confirmation and fee settlement. Once admitted, families typically proceed to enroll and settle the applicable tuition by grade, which is the sum of the Grade's School Fees and Books & Stationery. The page also indicates a sibling-discount structure (5% for the 2nd child, 10% for the 3rd, and 15% for the 4th child) to be applied to the tuition charges. The One Time Capital Fee is a separate, upfront charge. This step includes confirming enrollment and arranging payment of the current year's charges.
5. Step 5 — Uniforms and transport arrangements. The FSIS site notes sections for Uniforms and Bus Routes as part of the admissions/enrollment package. Uniform costs are not published on the page, while bus routes are listed with annual costs by region (e.g., Sohar routes with various stop names and annual fares such as Al Afifa, Al Ghushba, Al Hambar, etc., and Liwa and Shinas/Saham routes with corresponding fees). Families should plan for these additional annual costs alongside tuition and books, and contact the school for exact current figures and bus-route eligibility.
6. Step 6 — Curriculum and language of instruction. FSIS operates under Cambridge International Education in addition to the local Ministry of Education framework, and it is an ECIS-accredited school. The curriculum is delivered in English and Arabic, with French and Urdu offered as a third-language option. This provides a bilingual learning environment alongside Cambridge examinations for eligible grades.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
FSIS Oman does not publish information about scholarships.
Waitlist
Waitlist
—
Waitlist
There is no published waitlist or pool policy on FSIS's site. The admissions pages describe required documents, grade-specific fees, and other enrollment details, but they do not outline any waitlist procedure. For confirmation, contact the school's administration via the listed channels. Contact details: +968 94904409; futurescienceschool@gmail.com.