Australian International School Laos vs Western Australian International School
Australian International School Laos and Western Australian International School are both in Vientiane, about 1 km apart. Both schools offer Australian, Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge A Levels programmes, and Western Australian International School also offers Cambridge International AS Levels. Published annual fees are LAK 7,200 - 7,440 at Australian International School Laos and LAK 3,800 - 7,440 at Western Australian International School, which puts Australian International School Laos roughly 30% higher. Both take pupils from 2 to 18.
Australian Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels
Curriculum
Australian Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels
Pupils
Pupils
—
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
—
Typical class size
—
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
2011
Opened
2011
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Ban Nondouang Tai, Sikkhotabong District, Vientiane, Lao PDR, Laos. The school is in the Vientiane region of Laos.
Location
Ban Nondouang Tai, Sikkhotabong District, Vientiane, Lao PDR, Laos. The school is located in Vientiane, the capital city of Laos. Contact details listed: Phone +85620-2222-0526; Fax +856-21 264800; Email info@aisedulaos.com. The site identifies the school as The Australian International School Laos.
Stages
Stages
Preschool program (ages 2 to 7); Primary program (ages 3 to 11); Secondary program (ages 12 to 18).
Stages
Nursery to Year 12, with Nursery to Kindergarten 3; Primary (Year 1–7); Secondary (Year 8–12).
Tuition fees (annual and payment-plan details by year group)
- Nursery – K3: - Single annual payment (Plan A): USD 3,800. - Two-installment plan (Plan B): USD 1,945 per installment. - Three-installment plan (Plan C): USD 1,460 per installment. - Monthly plan (Plan D): USD 600 per month.
- Year 1 – Year 6 (including Primary Preparation Program): - Single annual payment (Plan A): USD 3,800. - Two-installment plan (Plan B): USD 2,110 per installment. - Three-installment plan (Plan C): USD 1,585 per installment. - Monthly plan (Plan D): USD 600 per month.
- Year 7 – Year 12 (including Secondary Preparation Program): - Single annual payment (Plan A): USD 3,900. - Two-installment plan (Plan B): USD 2,165 per installment. - Three-installment plan (Plan C): USD 1,625 per installment. - Monthly plan (Plan D): USD 620 per month.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- The published schedule sets specific due dates for the different payment plans: single-payment and installment due dates are listed in the published fee schedule, and monthly-plan payments are due on the 1st of each month. A late payment charge of USD 100 is applied for late payments. - Discounts applicable to tuition (tuition only): - 10% discount for full payment made by the specified cut-off date. - Sibling discounts when tuition is paid in full: 2nd sibling 15%; 3rd–5th siblings 20%. - Government employee discount: 30% (when payment is made in full).
Boarding fees
- School dormitory (boarding): USD 400 per month.
Other costs and typical additional fees
- International examination fees: - NAPLAN (Years 3, 5, 7): USD 50. - IGCSE (Year 10): USD 110 per subject. - AS / A Levels (Years 11–12): USD 120 per subject. - Cambridge English: USD 80. - Textbooks / learning resources: - Nursery–K3: USD 350. - Year 1–6: USD 550. - Year 7–12: USD 550. - Canteen (annual amount listed): USD 500. - Transportation (annual): USD 800. - Insurance: 120,000 LAK per person (listed). - School uniform: USD 30. - P.E. uniform: USD 20. - Evening IELTS preparation (optional activity): USD 800 per year.
Refund information
- Registration and reservation fees as published are non‑refundable. All paid fees are stated as non‑refundable and non‑transferable. A late payment fee of USD 100 applies for late payments.
Fee payment options
- The published fee schedule lists payment plans (single payment, two installments, three installments, monthly) and due dates, and it specifies late payment charges and discounts for full payment. The schedule does not specify the accepted payment instruments (for example, credit card, bank transfer, or online payment methods) within the published fee details. Confirm the available payment instruments and any bank/payment details with the school's finance office.
Notes on the published schedule
- The published fee schedule provides the annual tuition amounts and the corresponding installment amounts and other standard charges (examination, textbooks, uniforms, canteen, transport, boarding, insurance). Some line items are shown as monthly, annual or per‑subject amounts as indicated above.
Fee details
Registration and application fees
- Registration fee (new students): USD 500, payable once and non‑refundable; invoiced at the time an enrolment offer is made. - Reservation fee (existing students): non‑refundable advanced deposit USD 300; payment window stated as March 1 to May 15.
Tuition fees by year group and payment plans (amounts as published)
- Payment plan definitions (as published): - Plan A — one annual payment (single payment amount listed). - Plan B — two installments (amounts shown are per installment). - Plan C — three installments (amounts shown are per installment). - Plan D — monthly plan (amounts shown are monthly).
- Nursery – K3: - Plan A (one payment, annual): USD 3,800. - Plan B (2 installments): USD 1,945 per installment. - Plan C (3 installments): USD 1,460 per installment. - Plan D (monthly): USD 600 per month.
- Year 1 – Year 6: - Plan A (one payment, annual): USD 3,800. - Plan B (2 installments): USD 2,110 per installment. - Plan C (3 installments): USD 1,585 per installment. - Plan D (monthly): USD 600 per month.
- Primary Preparation Program: - Plan A: USD 3,800 (one payment). - Plan B: USD 2,110 per installment (2 installments). - Plan C: USD 1,585 per installment (3 installments). - Plan D: USD 600 per month.
- Year 7 – Year 12: - Plan A (one payment, annual): USD 3,900. - Plan B (2 installments): USD 2,165 per installment. - Plan C (3 installments): USD 1,625 per installment. - Plan D (monthly): USD 620 per month.
- Secondary Preparation Program: - Plan A: USD 3,900 (one payment). - Plan B: USD 2,165 per installment (2 installments). - Plan C: USD 1,625 per installment (3 installments). - Plan D: USD 620 per month.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Due dates shown with the published plan examples (dates listed in the published schedule): - One‑payment (Plan A) due date given as 31 July (dates shown in the published schedule use 31/07/2020). - Two‑installment (Plan B) example due dates listed as 1st installment 31/07/2020 and 2nd installment 14/12/2020 (as published). - Three‑installment (Plan C) example due dates listed as 1st installment 31/07/2020, 2nd installment 09/11/2020, and 3rd installment 15/02/2021 (as published). - Monthly plan (Plan D) amounts are stated as due on the 1st of each month. - Late payment charge: USD 100 for payments received after the due date. - Registration/reservation timing: registration fee is invoiced at offer of enrolment; reservation deposit window for returning students stated as March 1 to May 15.
Boarding and accommodation fees (where applicable)
- School dormitory (boarding): USD 400 per month.
Other costs and fees
- International examination fees: - NAPLAN (Year 3, 5, 7): USD 50. - IGCSE (Year 10): USD 110 per subject. - AS and A Levels (Years 11–12): USD 120 per subject. - Cambridge English: USD 80.
- Insurance: 120,000 LAK (Kips) per person (published figure).
- School uniform: USD 30; P.E. uniform: USD 20.
- Evening IELTS preparation (extra‑curricular option): USD 800 per year.
Discounts and concessions (tuition only)
- Full payment discount: 10% discount if payment is made in full before 31 July (date referenced in the published schedule). - Sibling discounts (tuition only): 2nd sibling 15% (if paid in full); 3rd to 5th siblings 20% (if paid in full). - Government employee discount: 30% (if payment is made in full).
Refund information
- All paid fees are stated as non‑refundable and non‑transferable.
Fee payment options
- The published fee schedule that lists the fees does not specify accepted payment methods (for example, credit card, bank transfer, or other channels) within the fee‑details document. For payment method details, the school's contact channels are provided in the published contact information.
Note about the published schedule used for these figures
- The figures presented above are those shown in the published fee schedule labeled "School Fees Academic Year 2020 - 2021." The schedule contains the registration and reservation fees, the tuition amounts under each payment plan, installment due dates as shown in that publication, boarding and other ancillary fees, discounts, and the stated refund policy.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Preschool program; Primary program uses Australian Curriculum for Year 1 to Year 7; Secondary program uses Cambridge Curriculum for Year 8 to Year 12.
Curriculum details
Preschool program is for Pupils aged 2 to 7. Primary program uses the Australian Curriculum for Year 1 to Year 7. Secondary program uses the Cambridge Curriculum for Year 8 to Year 12. Preschool program subjects include English, Mathematics, Science, ITC, PDHPE, Performing Arts, Arts and Craft, Discovery, Gardening, First Aid, and Cooking. Primary program subjects include English, Mathematics, ITC, PDHPE, Science, Social Studies, Design and Technology, and The Arts. The Curriculum section also lists Academic Support and International Accreditations.