Balboa Academy and United School of Panama are both in Panama City, about 17 km apart. Both schools offer American programmes. Balboa Academy also offers Advanced Placement (AP), and United School of Panama also offers British. Published annual fees are close, at $1,993 - 16,005 for Balboa Academy and $8,600 - 9,500 for United School of Panama. Balboa Academy takes pupils from 3 to 18, and United School of Panama from 4 to 13. Balboa Academy is the larger school, with around 901 pupils to United School of Panama's 335. Typical class sizes are 22 at Balboa Academy and 16 at United School of Panama.
Balboa Academy is a private school in Panama City, located in the heart of the capital's vibrant community. The school sits in Ciudad del Saber (City of Knowledge) in Clayton, Panama City. This location places Balboa Academy in the Clayton neighborhood with convenient access to Panama City's amenities.
Location
Av. Principal de Costa Sur, Corregimiento de Juan Diaz, Republic of Panama. The campus is minutes from Panama City, providing easy access for families.
Stages
Stages
Balboa Academy serves students from PK-3 through 12th grade. Academic stages include Preschool (ages 3-4), Elementary (ages 5-10), Middle School (ages 11-14), and High School (ages 15-18).
Stages
Preschool and Kindergarten. Elementary School. Since August 2021 USP offered PK4 to 4th grade and will offer PK4-12 by 2029.
School type
School type
The school is a private day, college-preparatory school offering a U.S.-standards-based curriculum and dual Panamanian/U.S. diplomas.
School type
Multicultural community offering a trilingual curriculum in English, Spanish, and Mandarin.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
Over 40 nationalities represented.
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Honor and support classes are offered.
Additional learning support
Student Support and Success Department. Inclusion Policy states USP is open to boys and girls of any race, religion, or nationality, and diversity is valued.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Panama and the United States. The school issues dual Panamanian and U.S. diplomas.
Preschool day uses Head, Heart, and Hands (H3) learning stations with hands-on activities. In Elementary, Language Arts, Mathematics, Mandarin, Spanish, Social Studies, Physical Education, Science, and Computer Science are taught, with National Geographic Learning and i-Ready Math supporting instruction. USP uses technology across the curriculum and is an Apple Distinguished School.
Bus service details
Bus service details
Bus transportation is available for all Balboa Academy students. The service is provided by TRANES PANAMA, S.A. Clayton is among the served areas; many neighborhoods across Panama City are included.
Bus service details
SCHOOL BUS: MISAR Transportes is a trusted provider with over 15 years of experience; private transportation is recommended; buses include seatbelts, insurance, first-aid kits, and dedicated assistance.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application and Admission fees - Application / evaluation fee: USD 150, paid online as part of the application process. - Admission fee (one-time, payable on acceptance/enrolment): USD 12,000.
Annual tuition — non‑sponsored students (full year) - PK3 & PK4: USD 7,966 per year. - Kindergarten: USD 12,541 per year. - Grades 1–5: USD 12,665 per year. - Grades 6–12: USD 14,006 per year.
Annual tuition — sponsored students (full year) - PK3 & PK4: USD 9,257 per year. - Kindergarten: USD 13,828 per year. - Grades 1–5: USD 13,965 per year. - Grades 6–12: USD 15,309 per year.
Tuition per term / instalments and billing schedule - The school calendar published for the 2025–26 year uses quarter/term blocks. The school does not publish a public per‑term invoice table on the fee pages; the website invites families to contact the admissions team about payment options. Where a school uses term or monthly instalments, per‑term amounts are normally calculated from the annual tuition and the school's chosen number of instalments; Balboa Academy's public fee pages do not list per‑term amounts or an explicit payment‑due calendar. - Application payment is taken online through the application link. For other billing cadence (annual, termly, monthly), accepted instalment plans and specific due dates are not detailed on the school's public fees page.
Boarding fees - No boarding provision or boarding fees are published for Balboa Academy. The school's materials describe the campus and programmes for day students; therefore boarding fees are not applicable.
Other costs and typical additional charges - Registration/annual administration fees (listed above) apply in addition to tuition. - Uniforms: uniforms are required and may be purchased through the school's listed supplier (Galapago Panama); individual uniform item prices are not published on the school fee pages. - Bus service: a paid bus service is available for multiple areas; route coverage is published but bus fares are not listed on the public pages. - School meals: a daily lunch service (partnered with Yaya's Kitchen) is offered and menus are available monthly; meal pricing is not published on the school's fee page. - After‑school and extracurricular activities: some activities may have additional costs; specific activity fees are not published on the general fees page.
Refunds and cancellations - No detailed public refund policy, pro‑rata withdrawal table or explicit refund rules for tuition or other fees are published on the school's public fees or admissions pages. Families are required to contact the admissions office for enrolment and fee terms; specific refund provisions are not listed.
Fee payment options (what is publicly stated) - The application/evaluation fee is paid via the application link during the application process. Beyond that, the school's public pages invite enquiries about payment options but do not enumerate accepted payment methods (credit card, bank transfer, local payment portals) or give step‑by‑step payment instructions on the general fees page. Families are directed to contact the admissions office for payment arrangements.
Summary of verified figures and totals - Key published figures (application fee, admission fee, annual fees, tuition rates for sponsored and non‑sponsored students) are taken from the school's public fees and admissions pages. Third‑party fee aggregators also reproduce these figures and show combined first‑year totals that include the one‑time admission/registration charges plus annual tuition.
What was not publicly available on the school's fee pages (brief note) - The school's public pages do not provide an itemised per‑term invoice table, explicit payment due dates or schedules, detailed payment‑method instructions (credit card vs bank transfer vs payment portal), per‑item uniform or meal prices, or a published refund/withdrawal refund schedule. For those items, families must contact the school's admissions or finance office to obtain the official payment schedule, instalment options, accepted payment methods and the school's refund policy.
Tuition — amounts, payment frequency and annual totals
Note: tuition is shown as a monthly amount with 10 payments across the school year ("Monthly x10"). Annual tuition = monthly amount × 10.
- Preschool (PK / Kinder) - Tuition: USD 860.00 per month × 10 payments = USD 8,600.00 per year. - Elementary (1st–5th grade) - Tuition: USD 905.00 per month × 10 payments = USD 9,050.00 per year. - Middle School (6th–8th grade) - Tuition: USD 950.00 per month × 10 payments = USD 9,500.00 per year.
Books, technology, insurance, food and other recurring charges
- Books and school supplies (annual, billed in June): - Preschool: USD 750.00 (annual). - Elementary: USD 750.00 (annual). - Middle School: USD 925.00 (annual). - Technology / Platform (annual, billed in July): - Preschool: USD 0.00 (annual). - Elementary: USD 530.00 (annual). - Middle School: USD 530.00 (annual). - Insurance: Included in fees (no separate charge shown). - Food and Nutrition (monthly ×10): - Preschool: USD 167.00 per month × 10 = USD 1,670.00 per year. - Elementary: USD 178.40 per month × 10 = USD 1,784.00 per year. - Middle School: USD 181.56 per month × 10 = USD 1,815.60 per year. - Extra‑curricular activities: Charged by activity; optional and billed monthly (amounts vary by activity).
School transport (bus)
- School bus service is outsourced; families pay the transport provider directly. Specific bus fees are set by the transport company and are not included in the tuition figures. Recommended transport providers are listed by the school.
Uniforms and related costs
- Uniforms are required and are available for purchase at the school. The fee schedule lists uniform requirements by level (Preschool; Grades 1–8) but does not list a uniform price.
Boarding
- Boarding is not applicable; no boarding fees are listed. United School of Panama operates as a day school.
Billing schedule and payment terms (timing shown in fee schedule)
- One‑time fees (Evaluation and Sign‑up) are payable at admission as one‑time payments. Enrollment Fee is billed annually in April. Books and school supplies are billed annually in June. Technology/platform charges are billed annually in July. Tuition and food/nutrition are shown as monthly payments over 10 months (Monthly ×10). Additional charges (extra‑curricular activities, transport) are billed separately by the provider or by activity. Specific late‑payment penalties or installment contract terms are not listed in the published schedule.
Refunds and cancellations
- No explicit refund or cancellation policy for fees is provided in the published fee schedule. Refund terms (if any) are not specified in the fee tables.
Fee payment options
- The published fee schedule shows payment frequencies and billing months but does not specify accepted payment methods (credit card, bank transfer, etc.). Families should note that some services (transport) are billed and collected directly by external providers. Contact options (phone and WhatsApp) are provided for the school's Admissions/Finance offices.
Summary — example total‑year costs to expect (per pupil, illustrative)
- Preschool (annual examples): - Tuition: USD 8,600.00 - Books & supplies: USD 750.00 - Technology: USD 0.00 - Enrollment Fee (annual): USD 825.00 - Food & Nutrition (annual): USD 1,670.00 - One‑time Sign‑up (if applicable): USD 9,500.00 - Evaluation (one‑time): USD 150.00 - Total for first year including sign‑up and evaluation (illustrative): USD 21,495.00 (not including transport, optional activities, or uniform).
- Elementary (annual examples): - Tuition: USD 9,050.00 - Books & supplies: USD 750.00 - Technology: USD 530.00 - Enrollment Fee (annual): USD 825.00 - Food & Nutrition (annual): USD 1,784.00 - One‑time Sign‑up (if applicable): USD 9,500.00 - Evaluation (one‑time): USD 150.00 - Total for first year including sign‑up and evaluation (illustrative): USD 22,589.00 (not including transport, optional activities, or uniform).
- Middle School (annual examples): - Tuition: USD 9,500.00 - Books & supplies: USD 925.00 - Technology: USD 530.00 - Enrollment Fee (annual): USD 825.00 - Food & Nutrition (annual): USD 1,815.60 - One‑time Sign‑up (if applicable): USD 4,750.00 - Evaluation (one‑time): USD 150.00 - Total for first year including sign‑up and evaluation (illustrative): USD 18,495.60 (not including transport, optional activities, or uniform).
(Amounts shown in USD as presented in the school's published fee schedule.)
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Balboa Academy provides PK3-12 with a US standards-based curriculum and English as the language of instruction. The middle school offers courses in English, Social Studies, Mathematics, Sciences, Modern Languages, Computer Science, and an Encore curriculum, with accelerated options and Panama-required courses taught in Spanish. The school operates on a 180-day calendar with two semesters (August to mid-December; mid-January to mid-June). The high school offers 19 Advanced Placement (AP) courses and 4 PreAP courses; AP subjects include Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Comparative Government, Computer Science Principles, English Language, English Literature, Environmental Science, Human Geography, Physics 1, Psychology, Seminar, Research, Spanish Language, Spanish Literature, Statistics, Studio Art 2D, Studio Art Drawing, and World History. The AP Capstone Diploma is available for students who complete at least 4 AP subjects in addition to AP Seminar and AP Research. All Balboa Academy graduates earn both a U.S. high school diploma and a Panamanian Bachiller en Ciencias y Letras.
Curriculum details
USP follows the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) and is fully accredited by Panama's Ministry of Education (MEDUCA). The curriculum includes a trilingual program—English, Spanish, and Mandarin—and integrates Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Technology across grades. Language Arts uses National Geographic Learning and a project-based curriculum to develop literacy and critical thinking, while Mathematics uses the i-Ready program with diagnostic assessments. Mandarin is taught in five phases—listening, comprehension, speaking, writing, and performing—with cultural context. Spanish follows Panamanian Ministry standards, building grammar, writing, reading, and vocabulary with increasing complexity, while Social Studies emphasizes Panamanian culture and global citizenship. Science aligns with NGSS for K-5 through National Geographic Exploring Science and MindTap; Computer Science covers robotics, coding, and data analysis; and USP is moving toward Apple Distinguished School status with technology integrated across the curriculum.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
In 2023, 210 Balboa Academy students took 403 AP exams, with 77% scoring 3+ on at least one AP exam.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
Class of 2025 received 779 university offers, with an average of 13.4 offers per student and an average of $848,000 in scholarships awarded per student. Graduates have gained admission to universities across the United States, Canada, Spain, the Netherlands, Switzerland and Panama; institutions include McGill University, University of Toronto, Western University, Columbia University, Georgetown University, Duke University, University of Florida, and University of Michigan, among others.
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
Balboa Academy offers a rigorous AP program with 19 AP courses and 4 PreAP courses. AP Capstone Diploma is available for students who complete AP Seminar and AP Research along with at least 4 AP courses. AP courses receive a GPA weighting of 0.5.
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Make an enquiry by completing the Enquiry Form. The Admissions Team will contact you to arrange a visit to the campus. Complete Balboa Academy's online application and pay the $150 application and evaluation fee. Include copies of the child's passport, birth certificate, immunization records or the Immunization Form filled out by your child's pediatrician, copies of both parents' passports, and all academic records including the current school year's grades. Balboa Academy accepts copies in English or Spanish; originals translated into Spanish by a notarized translator in Panama are required by MEDUCA if records are not in Spanish. An in-person or virtual evaluation and interview will be scheduled. The evaluation for Preschool lasts about 30 minutes and for Kindergarten through 12th grade about an hour, and it is conducted entirely in English. The Admissions Committee reviews complete applications and makes a final decision within 10 calendar days. Students may be accepted without conditions, accepted with conditions, denied, or placed on the waiting list. If offered, enrolment fees are payable to join Balboa Academy. The school teaches in English.
Admissions
1. Inquiries and appointment requests. USP Admissions welcomes inquiries from families and assists with new-student application requests. The Admissions Department is available to help with questions and to arrange appointments. For direct communication, contact via the WhatsApp Business account, and responses are prompt.
2. Age and grade placement guidelines. Admissions uses age and grade placement to ensure appropriate development. Pre-Kindergarten must be 4 by August; Kindergarten must be 5 by August. 1st through 9th grades have age requirements from 6 to 14 by August. Exceptions to these guidelines are rare and reviewed by the Admissions Committee.
3. Applications and review. The Admissions Committee carefully evaluates each application to determine how the applicant can benefit from USP's educational offering. The review considers the applicant's prior school records and age to determine appropriate placement. For students transferring from outside Panama in grades 2–9, MEDUCA's validation process may apply and USP guides families through this requirement. Applicants are informed of the outcome and the next steps.
4. Tuition and fees. The 2025–2026 year lists program-specific costs for Preschool, Elementary, and Middle School. Preschool (PK/KINDER) includes a $150 pre-admission evaluation, a $9,500 sign-up fee, a $825 enrollment fee, a monthly tuition of $860 for 10 months, a $750 annual books and supplies charge, and $167 per month for nutrition; transportation is outsourced and paid directly to the transport provider. Elementary (1st–5th) includes a $150 pre-admission evaluation, a $9,500 sign-up fee, an $825 enrollment fee, a monthly tuition of $905 for 10 months, a $750 annual books and supplies charge, $530 for technology annually, $178.40 per month for nutrition, and outsourced transportation; extras are available per activity. Middle School (6th–8th) includes a $150 pre-admission evaluation, a $4,750 sign-up fee, an $825 enrollment fee, a monthly tuition of $950 for 10 months, a $925 books and supplies charge, and $530 for technology; nutrition is $181.56 per month.
5. Admission timing and placement. We generally admit students at the start of the academic year or at the beginning of the second semester. Exceptions may be made on a case-by-case basis. Grade placement is based on the student's previous school records, an academic evaluation, and age; for students entering 2nd grade and above from schools outside Panama, MEDUCA requires a validation process and USP guides families through this process.
Scholarships
Scholarships
The Nsouli Scholars Programme provides 50 full-scholarship places at Inspired schools at any one time for the duration of students' education. The endowment honours Nadim Nsouli, founder of Inspired, and scholarships are awarded with inclusivity in mind, including individuals of Lebanese origin.
Scholarships
—
Waitlist
Waitlist
Candidates may be placed on Balboa Academy's waiting list.