Boston International School vs Sycamore International School
Boston International School and Sycamore International School are both in Kampala, about 7 km apart. Both schools offer British programmes, and Sycamore International School also offers Cambridge (Primary). Published annual fees are UGX 5 - 10,000,000 at Boston International School and UGX 8,200,000 at Sycamore International School, which puts Sycamore International School roughly 64% higher. Boston International School takes pupils from 3 to 18, and Sycamore International School from 1 to 12. The two are similar in size, at around 170 and 173 pupils. Typical class sizes are 15 at Boston International School and 12 at Sycamore International School.
Plot 3 Olumi Close, Kitante, Kampala, Uganda. The campus is located in Kitante, Kampala. Phone: +256 776 470 555; +256 700 470 555. Email: admin@sycamore.ac.ug.
Stages
Stages
—
Stages
Early Years and Primary.
School type
School type
—
School type
International school offering the Cambridge curriculum.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
—
Country affiliation
Uganda
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
Christian (non-denominational)
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
—
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application fees - No separate application or one‑time admission fee is published in the available public fee schedules for Boston International School; public fee listings present tuition amounts but do not list a non‑refundable application or admission charge.
Tuition fees by year group (annual amounts) - Kindergarten (Kindg. 1 to Kindg. 3) and Years 1–8: UGX 5,000,000 per year. - Years 9–12: UGX 10,000,000 per year. - Note: the figures above are published as annual tuition totals; a per‑term breakdown is not provided in the publicly available fee materials.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Fees are quoted as annual tuition amounts. No publicly available fee schedule specifies exact billing dates, the number of instalments accepted, instalment deadlines, or published late‑payment penalties.
Boarding fees (if applicable) - Public fee listings show day‑student tuition amounts and do not publish boarding fees. For families seeking boarding, no boarding fee schedule is publicly listed in the available materials.
Other costs and fees - No explicit, published line items for school uniform costs, transport, canteen/lunch, exam charges, activity or club fees, deposits (e.g., caution/capital deposit), or refundable bonds appear in the available public fee summaries. Additional ancillary costs are not itemised in the public fee summaries accessed.
Refund information - No published refund policy or details on refunds for tuition, deposits, or fees were included in the public fee summaries reviewed.
Fee payment options - Accepted payment methods (bank transfer, credit/debit card, mobile payment, cheques, etc.) are not specified in the public fee materials that list the tuition amounts.
Summary of findings and gaps - Published public fee listings consistently report annual tuition amounts of UGX 5,000,000 for Kindergarten–Year 8 and UGX 10,000,000 for Years 9–12. These listings do not include per‑term figures, application/admission charges, boarding fees, payment schedules, payment methods, uniform costs, or refund policy details in the publicly available fee summaries reviewed; therefore those items cannot be presented as specific numeric values from the available materials.
Fee details
Application and Admission Fees - Interview (application) fee: UGX 150,000 per applicant. - Admission fee (one-time, non-refundable): USD 100.
Tuition fees by year group (per term and annual total) - Foundation (Early Years to Reception, ages 1.5–4): UGX 2,490,000 per term (USD 100 per term). Annual total (3 terms): UGX 7,470,000 (USD 300). - Lower Primary (Year 1 to Year 3, ages 5–7): UGX 2,590,000 per term (USD 150 per term). Annual total (3 terms): UGX 7,770,000 (USD 450). - Upper Primary (Year 4 to Year 6, ages 8–10): UGX 2,920,000 per term (USD 200 per term). Annual total (3 terms): UGX 8,760,000 (USD 600). - Lower Secondary (Year 7 to Year 9): UGX 3,150,000 per term (USD 350 per term). Annual total (3 terms): UGX 9,450,000 (USD 1,050). - Upper Secondary (Year 10 to Year 13): Fee not published / listed as TBD in the available fee schedule.
Billing schedule and payment terms - The academic year is divided into three terms; tuition is payable each term. Prompt payment is desirable. - Payments may be made in both Ugandan shillings (UGX) and US dollars (USD) where shown. Tuition amounts are shown in both currencies for the applicable year groups. - When paying by electronic bank transfer (EFT/RTGS), use the child's name as the payment reference. All payments should be made using the SchoolPay system or to the school bank account. No cash payments are accepted at the school.
Boarding fees - No boarding or boarding fees are listed in the published fee schedule; the available fee schedule indicates day-school arrangements (tuition includes lunch) and does not specify boarding charges. This indicates boarding is not applicable in the published schedule.
Other costs and regularly listed additional fees - Development fee (annual): UGX 250,000. - Swimming: UGX 160,000 per term. - Co-curricular activities: listed range UGX 60,000 to UGX 170,000 (amounts may vary by activity; listed as TBC for some activities). - Outdoor education trips and Checkpoint examination fees (Year 6 & Year 9): amounts listed as TBC in the published schedule. - School uniform (full-set prices by stage): - Early Years & Reception (full set): UGX 285,000. - Year 1 to Year 6 (full set): UGX 380,000. - Year 7 to Year 9 (full set): UGX 450,000. - The published uniform schedule also lists unit prices for items (e.g., shirts, trousers, jumpers, socks, belts) and typical quantities per set; parents should budget for the full-set amount shown for the relevant year group.
Refund information - Refunds are permitted only under the school's stated terms and conditions; refunds are subject to the rules set out in the Parents' Handbook. Specific refund conditions (timing, amounts forfeited, or eligibility) are defined in those terms.
Fee payment options (methods accepted and instructions) - SchoolPay online payment system (SchoolPay code provided on the application form). - Electronic bank transfer (EFT) / Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) to the school bank account; use the child's name as the payment reference. - The published instructions explicitly state that all payments must be made via SchoolPay or the school bank account and that no cash payments are allowed at the school.
Brief note on the fee schedule used - The details above are taken from the school's published Fee Structure (2024–2025) and the school's Fees Schedule page, which are the most recent fee documents available in the school's public admissions materials. No later academic-year fee schedule (2025–2026 or 2026–2027) was found in the school's published downloads at the time of review.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
—
Curriculum details
The curriculum is interactive, reflective and fun. It imparts lifelong learning skills including communication, collaboration, problem-solving, innovation, research, risk-taking and strategic thinking, focusing on 21st-century competencies. Core subjects Math, English, Science, and Global Perspectives are integrated with co-curricular activities. Physical Education (P.E.), music, ICT, French, Kiswahili and field trips are included in the program. Bible teachings are incorporated in lessons.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
—
Admissions
1. Visit any of our campuses and see the Admissions Officer or Head Teacher. You will be requested to book an appointment to assess your child. The assessment aims to gauge the student's progress and identify if they will need special or additional support on enrolment. The student's performance in the assessment does not affect the admission decision. 2. You will be requested to fill the Admission Forms. 3. You will be given a deposit slip or bank details to make your initial Admission deposit. Your admission will not be considered complete until you have returned the deposit slip. 4. Alternative application process. For alternative application process, click the link below to apply online. Online Application. 5. On admission, the following documents are required: A copy of birth certificate and, for Early Years, a copy of the immunization card; Two passport size photos for the student; One passport photo and copy of national identity card or passport details for parents/guardian; One passport photo and copy of national identity card or passport details for emergency contact; Copies of the last 3 report cards from the previous school (where applicable). The passport photos can be scanned and emailed along with the other documents.