Brighton International Academy vs Oxford English School
Brighton International Academy and Oxford English School are both in Doha, about 12 km apart. Both schools offer British programmes, and Brighton International Academy also offers Cambridge (Primary). Published annual fees are QAR 18,000 - 22,000 at Brighton International Academy and QAR 19,650 - 25,680 at Oxford English School, which puts Oxford English School roughly 13% higher. Brighton International Academy takes pupils from 5 to 11, and Oxford English School from 3 to 11.
120 Al Maadheed Street, Doha, Qatar. It is in Doha, Qatar. The school is located in the capital city of Qatar.
Location
The Oxford English School is located in Al Gharrafa, Ar-Rayyan Municipality, Doha, Qatar. The campus is on Wadi Al Jaada Street in the Al Gharrafa area, offering access to main roads and nearby residential and local facilities. The site is positioned within a Doha suburb, convenient for families living in or commuting to central Doha.
Stages
Stages
KG Curriculum guides early-years learning, while the Primary Curriculum covers Year 1–6 under the Cambridge International Primary Programme. The Cambridge International Primary Programme is designed for children aged 5–11 and develops English, Mathematics and Science in English. Arabic Language, Qatar History and Islamic Studies are taught, with French also included among core subjects.
Stages
The school provides Early Years through Year 6, organized as three Key Stages: EYFS, KS1 and KS2. The published age range is roughly 3 to 11 years, covering preschool to the end of primary schooling.
School type
School type
—
School type
The school is primarily co-educational in Early Years and Key Stage 1; Years 4–6 are gender-segregated. This arrangement applies to the higher primary years, with co-education in the earlier years.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
Public information on pupil nationality mix is not published. The school describes an international community, but exact nationality proportions are not disclosed.
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
Explicit Additional Learning Needs (SEN) provisions are not published on the school's pages. The curriculum focuses on the National Curriculum of England with bilingual delivery (English and Arabic) and MOE-aligned Arabic Islamic Studies and Qatar History.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
—
Country affiliation
No formal country affiliation is stated beyond alignment with the National Curriculum of England.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
There is no formal religious affiliation; the school emphasizes traditional Islamic family values and incorporates Islamic Studies as part of the Arabic curriculum in line with MOE requirements.
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
The school day runs from 7:00 to 14:00 (2:00 pm) from Sunday to Thursday. Specific break and lunch timings are not publicly published on the school pages.
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
A transport service operates to select areas of Qatar. Buses are monitored by a bus assistant for safety. Availability depends on location and registration through the school's Registration Department.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application fees - Admission test fee: QAR 300 for Grades 1–6. KG1 and KG2 do not have an admission-test charge listed (no fee shown). - Registration (one‑time): QAR 1,000 (applies at enrolment).
Tuition fees by year group (amounts per term and annual total) — academic year 2025–2026 - KG1: First Term QAR 8,000; Second Term QAR 5,000; Third Term QAR 5,000; Tuition fee total QAR 18,000. - KG2: First Term QAR 8,000; Second Term QAR 5,000; Third Term QAR 5,000; Tuition fee total QAR 18,000. - Grade 1: First Term QAR 8,000; Second Term QAR 6,000; Third Term QAR 6,000; Tuition fee total QAR 20,000. - Grade 2: First Term QAR 8,000; Second Term QAR 6,000; Third Term QAR 6,000; Tuition fee total QAR 20,000. - Grade 3: First Term QAR 8,000; Second Term QAR 6,000; Third Term QAR 6,000; Tuition fee total QAR 20,000. - Grade 4: First Term QAR 8,000; Second Term QAR 6,000; Third Term QAR 6,000; Tuition fee total QAR 20,000. - Grade 5: First Term QAR 9,000; Second Term QAR 6,500; Third Term QAR 6,500; Tuition fee total QAR 22,000. - Grade 6: First Term QAR 9,000; Second Term QAR 6,500; Third Term QAR 6,500; Tuition fee total QAR 22,000.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Tuition is presented as three term payments (First Term, Second Term, Third Term) with the per‑term amounts shown above and the annual tuition totals shown as the sum of those three term payments. No specific due dates, instalment deadlines, or late‑payment penalties are included in the published 2025–2026 fee schedule.
Boarding fees - Boarding is not applicable; the academy operates as a day school for the listed age range and does not publish boarding fees.
Other costs and recurring/additional fees - Books (annual): KG1/KG2 QAR 1,200; Grade 1–3 QAR 1,300; Grade 4–6 QAR 1,500 (amounts vary by grade as shown). - Uniform (one‑off/annual as shown): KG1/KG2 QAR 800; Grades 1–6 QAR 1,000. - Transport (annual): QAR 5,000 (per student, single rate shown across grades). - Admission test fee (already listed above): QAR 300 for Grades 1–6; KG levels show no admission test fee. - Registration (one‑time): QAR 1,000 (already listed above).
Refund information - The published 2025–2026 fee schedule does not include a detailed refund or withdrawal policy within the fee document itself. No specific refund amounts, prorating rules, or deadlines are provided in that fee schedule.
Fee payment options - Payment methods (for example, bank transfer, credit card, cash) are not specified in the published 2025–2026 fee schedule or the admissions fee summary. Contact details for the accounting/registrar are published separately for payment enquiries.
Fee details
Application / One‑time Fees
- Seat reservation (حجز مقعد): QAR 2,500 (one‑time, payable to secure the place). - Registration/Enrollment (التسجيل): QAR 1,020 (one‑time). .
Tuition fees — annual and inferred per‑term amounts by year group
- KG1 (FS1): Annual tuition QAR 18,900 — Per term (inferred as equal split into three terms): QAR 6,300 per term. - KG2 (FS2): Annual tuition QAR 18,900 — Per term (inferred): QAR 6,300 per term. - Year 1 (Primary 1): Annual tuition QAR 19,950 — Per term (inferred): QAR 6,650 per term. - Year 2 (Primary 2): Annual tuition QAR 19,950 — Per term (inferred): QAR 6,650 per term. - Year 3 (Primary 3): Annual tuition QAR 22,050 — Per term (inferred): QAR 7,350 per term. - Year 4 (Primary 4): Annual tuition QAR 22,050 — Per term (inferred): QAR 7,350 per term. - Year 5 (Primary 5): Annual tuition QAR 24,150 — Per term (inferred): QAR 8,050 per term. - Year 6 (Primary 6): Annual tuition QAR 24,150 — Per term (inferred): QAR 8,050 per term.
Note: the per‑term amounts above are calculated by dividing the published annual tuition by three equal terms (this per‑term breakdown is an arithmetic inference, not a separately published line item).
Other mandatory or annual additional fees
- Placement / level‑assessment fee (تحديد المستوى): KG1 and KG2 — not applicable; Year 1 & Year 2 — QAR 357 (one‑time); Years 3–6 — QAR 408 (one‑time). - Book / learning resources fees (رسوم كتب): KG1 & KG2 — QAR 750 per year; Year 1 & Year 2 — QAR 1,020 per year; Years 3–6 — QAR 1,530 per year.
Optional / additional annual charges
- School transport (inside route): QAR 5,508 per year (optional). - School transport (outside route): QAR 7,344 per year (optional). - School uniform (الزي المدرسي): QAR 714 per year (annual amount shown).
Boarding
- Boarding is not applicable. The school operates for ages 3–11 (Early Years through Year 6) as a day school.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- The published fee schedule lists annual tuition and specifies which items are one‑time (e.g., seat reservation, registration) and which are recurring annual charges (tuition, books, transport, uniform). The published schedule does not show explicit term due dates or a detailed instalment plan; term amounts above were calculated by dividing annual tuition by three equal terms (inference). Parents should treat tuition figures as annual charges with separate one‑time and optional lines as listed.
Refunds and cancellations
- The published fee notice does not specify refund terms or an explicit refund policy on the fee schedule. No refundable amounts (for example a refundable deposit) are shown on the published fees page.
Accepted payment methods and instructions
- The published fee schedule image does not list specific payment methods (for example: bank transfer, card, cheque). Payment channels and detailed payment deadlines or instalment options are not published on the fee sheet itself.
Quick summary (figures in QAR)
- Annual tuition range by year: KG1/KG2 QAR 18,900; Years 1–2 QAR 19,950; Years 3–4 QAR 22,050; Years 5–6 QAR 24,150. - One‑time fees: Seat reservation QAR 2,500; Registration QAR 1,020. - Annual additional fees: Placement (where applicable) QAR 357–408; Books QAR 750–1,530; Transport QAR 5,508 (inside) / QAR 7,344 (outside); Uniform QAR 714.
Please use these figures as the school's published fee items for the current academic fee schedule. The document published with these amounts identifies which fees are one‑time and which are annual; per‑term amounts above were computed by dividing annual tuition by three (this per‑term split is an inference for convenience).
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Brighton International Academy follows the Cambridge International Primary Programme. The KG Curriculum runs from Year 1 to Year 6 and emphasizes communication, language and literacy; personal, social and emotional development; problem solving; creative development; physical development; and knowledge of the world. The Primary Curriculum develops English, Mathematics and Science, with Social Studies, PE, Art and Character Education, all taught in English; Arabic Language, Qatar History and Islamic Studies are offered (Arabic and Qatar History for Arab nationals). The Primary Programme covers Year 1–6 with Mathematics, English Language, Arabic Language, Islamic Studies (Muslim students only), Qatar History, Science, Social Studies, Art, and Physical Education; French is taught as a foundation subject in Key Stage 1 and 2. Assessments are continuous with reporting twice a year.
Curriculum details
The Oxford English School follows the English National Curriculum across three Key Stages: Early Years Foundation Stage (Preschool and Reception) and Key Stages 1 and 2 (Years 1 to 6), for ages 3 to 11. Core subjects (English, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Art, Physical Education and Information Technology) are taught in English, while Arabic, Islamic Studies and Qatar History are delivered in Arabic. Year-by-year objectives are mapped to the National Curriculum, with year-level learning outcomes emphasizing knowledge application, communication, collaboration and independent learning. The curriculum emphasizes cross-curricular projects, differentiation and language support for second-language learners, supported by technology and resources from Pearson, Collins and Oxford Primary. The school offers Preschool through Year 6, and there is no indication of on-site external qualifications such as IGCSE or A-Levels, with progression typically toward secondary education outside the school.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Enrollment Now Open for KG 1 to Year 6. The school has a simple 3-step process: Request Info, Apply, Entry Exam. To join Brighton International Academy, check our admission policy and regulations. Required documents include: copy of student's passport and ID; copy of parents' passport and ID; passport-size photo of the student; copy of student's birth certificate; copy of immunization card; student medical file and copy of health card; original and copy of academic certificate of the last year; for students transferring from other countries, legal documentation for the report card; tuition fees clearance form from the previous school. Entry Exam requires students to sit for entrance exams in English and Math and pass both with a minimum of 60% in each. The school is located at 120 Al Maadheed Street, Doha, Qatar.
Admissions
1. Submit an online application through the online admissions portal. The online admissions portal is ready for use via the Apply Online Now option on the admissions page. Applicants begin enrollment by submitting the online form. The school serves ages 3-11 and follows the British National Curriculum.
2. Preschool and Reception undergo an interactive play session assessment with the Early Years team. The Early Years team greet you at the reception area and invite you to proceed to the classroom. Parents are welcome to remain in the room during the assessment to help their child feel comfortable. The assessment is designed to be age-appropriate and non-stressful.
3. KS1 and KS2 students have a written assessment according to their age and current year group. The tests assist the school in understanding the level of the students so they can plan and prepare for them effectively. This ensures the school supports a happy, healthy, and successful school career.