British International Academy vs Ibn Rushd National Academy
British International Academy and Ibn Rushd National Academy are both in Amman, about 15 km apart. Both schools follow an IB curriculum. Published annual fees are close, at JOD 3,200 - 10,150 for British International Academy and JOD 3,785 - 10,250 for Ibn Rushd National Academy. British International Academy takes pupils from 2 to 18, and Ibn Rushd National Academy from 4 to 18.
The British International Academy is located in Amman, Jordan, in the Dabouq area. The commonly published address is 11831 Bakri Talib Albitar Street. The school is accessible via Amman's main roads and public transport serving the Dabouq district. The 11831 postal area is used in contact listings for the school.
Location
Amman, Jordan. The campus is in the Na'ur area on Umm Al-Basateen Street 1, Amman 11194. The address is commonly cited as Na'ur, Umm Al-Basateen Street, Amman. It is accessible via local Amman roads in the city.
Stages
Stages
The school offers the International Baccalaureate continuum: Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP), and Diploma Programme (DP).
Stages
Ibn Rushd National Academy offers an IB continuum: Primary Years Programme (PYP) for Grades K–5, Middle Years Programme (MYP) for Grades 6–10, and the IB Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11–12. PYP uses Arabic as the main language of instruction with English as a first language; MYP uses English as the main language with Arabic and Islamic studies included; DP leads to the IB Diploma.
School type
School type
Girls' day school.
School type
Co-educational, day school. Boarding is not offered.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
Nationality mix is not publicly disclosed.
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Public information does not list dedicated SEN facilities or programs.
Additional learning support
The admissions policy describes the school as inclusive and states it welcomes students from all backgrounds and abilities; entry is not generally impeded by special needs, subject to space availability. Specific SEN facilities are not listed publicly.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
No country affiliation beyond the school being located in Jordan.
Country affiliation
Jordan.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is publicly listed.
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is listed.
School day structure
School day structure
Exact start and end times are not publicly published; a third‑party listing indicates a school day approximately from 9:00 to 15:00.
School day structure
The school day typically runs from 7:30 am to 3:30 pm, Sunday through Thursday. Breaks and lunch are included in the timetable.
Bus service details
Bus service details
A school‑provided bus service is not publicly confirmed; Amman has city buses and a bus rapid transit system operated independently of the school.
Bus service details
Bus service exists, but details about providers and routes are not published on the school site. Families should contact the admissions office for arrangements. Telephone: +962 (06) 476 2000; mobile: +962 (0) 79 896 1810.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application and one‑time registration fees - Testing fee (new students): JOD 100 (one‑time, non‑refundable). - Registration fee (new students): JOD 500 (one‑time).
Tuition fees by year group (annual and per term) - Pre1 (Pre‑K1): Tuition JOD 2,800 per year; per term (3 equal installments) JOD 933.33. Additional annual fees JOD 400; additional per term JOD 133.33. Total annual charge JOD 3,200; total per term JOD 1,066.67. - Pre2 (Pre‑K2): Tuition JOD 2,800 per year; per term JOD 933.33. Additional annual fees JOD 400; per term JOD 133.33. Total annual JOD 3,200; per term JOD 1,066.67. - KG1: Tuition JOD 3,550 per year; per term JOD 1,183.33. Additional annual fees JOD 400; per term JOD 133.33. Total annual JOD 3,950; per term JOD 1,316.67. - KG2: Tuition JOD 3,550 per year; per term JOD 1,183.33. Additional annual fees JOD 480; per term JOD 160. Total annual JOD 4,030; per term JOD 1,343.33. - Grade 1: Tuition JOD 4,400 per year; per term JOD 1,466.67. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 4,950; per term JOD 1,650.00. - Grade 2: Tuition JOD 4,400 per year; per term JOD 1,466.67. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 4,950; per term JOD 1,650.00. - Grade 3: Tuition JOD 4,700 per year; per term JOD 1,566.67. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 5,250; per term JOD 1,750.00. - Grade 4: Tuition JOD 4,900 per year; per term JOD 1,633.33. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 5,450; per term JOD 1,816.67. - Grade 5: Tuition JOD 5,200 per year; per term JOD 1,733.33. Additional annual fees JOD 550; per term JOD 183.33. Total annual JOD 5,750; per term JOD 1,916.67. - Grade 6: Tuition JOD 5,400 per year; per term JOD 1,800.00. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 6,000; per term JOD 2,000.00. - Grade 7: Tuition JOD 5,700 per year; per term JOD 1,900.00. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 6,300; per term JOD 2,100.00. - Grade 8: Tuition JOD 5,900 per year; per term JOD 1,966.67. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 6,500; per term JOD 2,166.67. - Grade 9: Tuition JOD 6,400 per year; per term JOD 2,133.33. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 7,000; per term JOD 2,333.33. - Grade 10: Tuition JOD 7,350 per year; per term JOD 2,450.00. Additional annual fees JOD 600; per term JOD 200. Total annual JOD 7,950; per term JOD 2,650.00. - Grade 11 (Courses track): Tuition JOD 8,700 per year; per term JOD 2,900.00. Additional annual fees JOD 700; per term JOD 233.33. Total annual JOD 9,400; per term JOD 3,133.33. Grade 11 (Full Diploma with CAS): Tuition JOD 8,700; additional annual fees JOD 950; total annual JOD 9,650; per term total JOD 3,216.67. - Grade 12 (Courses track): Tuition JOD 8,700 per year; per term JOD 2,900.00. Additional annual fees JOD 1,450; per term JOD 483.33. Total annual JOD 10,150; per term JOD 3,383.33. Grade 12 (Full Diploma with CAS): Tuition JOD 8,700; additional annual fees JOD 1,700; total annual JOD 10,400; per term total JOD 3,466.67.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Tuition is payable in three equal installments (three terms). All cheques should be submitted together no later than the date of registration. The dates for the three payments are: upon registration (first installment), September 1st (second installment), and January 1st (third installment). Fees are payable in Jordanian Dinars (JOD). - A completed place is guaranteed only when the required fee payments are made by the prescribed dates. The school reserves the right to review and adjust fees.
Sibling discounts and full‑payment discount - Second sibling: 10% discount on annual tuition. Third sibling: 15% discount. Fourth sibling: 20% discount. - Complete payment in cash: 7% discount on annual tuition.
Boarding - No boarding fees are listed; boarding is not applicable.
Other mandatory or optional costs - Additional fees shown above (labelled “Additional Fees”) are charged annually by grade to cover resources and specific services. These are separate from tuition and are payable with tuition according to the school's billing schedule. - Uniform fees and book fees are charged separately. Bus transport is optional and priced as follows: round trip JOD 850 per year (or JOD 550 for half a year); one trip (morning or afternoon) JOD 550 per year (or JOD 350 for half a year). - Governmental fees, Pamoja registration, external examination fees, overseas trips, extracurricular activities, summer school, cafeteria charges, and yearbook fees are payable separately on their due dates. Additional learning support for diagnosed students carries supplemental fees depending on the level and type of support required; individual assessment fees may also apply.
Refunds and cancellations - School fees are non‑refundable. The published fee policy states that school fees are set at the end of the preceding year and that the school board may review and adjust fees.
Accepted payment forms and notes on payment - The published terms specify submission of cheques together at registration and indicate that cash payment (complete payment) qualifies for the stated 7% discount. Fees must be paid in Jordanian Dinars (JOD). No separate listing of credit‑card or bank‑transfer procedures is provided in the published fee schedule.
Summary note - The amounts above reflect the published annual tuition, additional fees and the school's stated billing terms for the current fees schedule. The three‑installment billing plan divides the annual tuition into three equal term payments with the dates specified above.
- Admissions (application/initial assessment) fee: JD 75. - Seat reservation fee: JD 500. This seat reservation fee is non-refundable and is treated as part of the third instalment.
- Early payment discount for continuing families: 7% if payment is made prior to 01.06; 5% if payment is made prior to 01.08. - Early payment discount for new families: 7% if payment is made within three working days from offer (or as above for continuing families, whichever is latest). - Sibling discounts on tuition only: Child 1 = 5%; Child 2 = 10%; Child 3 = 15%; Child 4+ = 20%. Loyalty/group discounts also listed for larger groups. Sibling discounts do not apply to transport, uniform, books, examinations, or support.
Billing schedule and payment terms (publicly available details)
- Annual tuition figures are published for each grade level. The published information refers to a “third instalment” in relation to the seat reservation fee, which indicates fees can be collected in multiple instalments; however, a complete public schedule of instalment due dates, the exact number and timing of instalments, and full billing calendar are not published in the school's public fee listing. For purposes of planning, the annual and the approximate per-term (three-installment) splits above are provided as an indicative breakdown only.
Boarding fees
- No boarding programme or boarding fees are published. Boarding is not listed as a service or fee in the Academy's publicly-available fee schedule.
Refund information
- The seat reservation fee (JD 500) is explicitly non-refundable. No other specific refund rules or a comprehensive refund/cancellation policy are published in the public fee listing. Refunds for other fees or deposits are not detailed in the publicly-available fee schedule.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
A school uniform is required. The uniform costs JD 105.
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
British International Academy (BIA) in Amman, Jordan, is an International Baccalaureate World School offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP), and Diploma Programme (DP). The languages of instruction are English and Arabic across the IB continuum. The PYP (ages 3–12) provides an inquiry-based, transdisciplinary curriculum organized around six global themes, integrating language, mathematics, science, social studies, the arts, and personal-social development. The MYP (ages 11–16) uses eight subject groups and includes a culminating MYP Personal Project, with emphasis on approaches to learning and international-mindedness. The DP (ages 16–19; Grades 11–12) offers six subject groups with SL/HL options (e.g., Language & Literature, Language Acquisition, Sciences, Mathematics, the Arts/Design Technology) plus the core of Theory of Knowledge (TOK), Extended Essay (EE), and Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS); external exams are taken in May.
Curriculum details
Ibn Rushd National Academy offers an IB continuum from kindergarten through grade 12. The Primary Years Programme (PYP) is taught in K–5 with Arabic as the main language of instruction alongside English as a first language. The Middle Years Programme (MYP) runs from grades 6–10, with English as the main language of instruction and an in‑depth Arabic and Islamic studies component; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In Grade 10, students undertake external IB assessments and commonly earn the MYP bilingual certificate. The Diploma Programme (DP) for grades 11–12 provides the full IB Diploma, and the Diploma College does not offer the IB Certificate option; the DP core includes Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, and CAS, with subject options across the usual IB groups (e.g., Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, English A Language and Literature, Arabic A Language and Literature) and instruction delivered in English and Arabic.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
The school does not publicly disclose information regarding Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) provisions.
Social & emotional learning
Ibn Rushd National Academy communicates a focus on personal development through messaging that highlights growth mindset, character-building, and lifelong skills. Public pages do not specify a formal Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) program or named SEL staff. The admissions page describes the school as inclusive and non-selective, noting that applications are treated with sensitivity and that special needs do not generally impede admission. A 'Learning support' option exists on a case-by-case basis, indicating some individualized support for learning needs. Thus, explicit, named SEL provisions, initiatives, or staff are not publicly disclosed beyond the general messaging.
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
The school does not publicly disclose information regarding Special Educational Needs (SEN) provisions or whether it is a specialist SEN institution.
Special educational needs (SEN)
The school is described as non-selective and inclusive; acceptance is not generally impeded by a student's special needs. Learning support is available on a case-by-case basis. The specific kinds of Special Educational Needs the school can support are not listed on publicly accessible pages. The academy is not described as a specialist SEN institution; it operates as an IB continuum world school. Public pages do not disclose dedicated SEN staff or centers.
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
English and Arabic are the languages of instruction; specific EAL programmes are not publicly disclosed.
English as an additional language
The language of instruction at Ibn Rushd National Academy is both English and Arabic. Public disclosures do not detail separate English as an Additional Language (EAL) provisions or staffing. The school uses Arabic as the main language of instruction in the early years alongside English, indicating a bilingual approach. Therefore, explicit EAL programmes or dedicated EAL staff are not publicly described. No other statements are disclosed beyond this language-instruction information.
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
The school does not publicly disclose information regarding mental wellbeing support.
Mental wellbeing
No explicit mental wellbeing program or staff are named on publicly accessible pages. The site focuses on personal development, growth mindset, and character-building in its messaging. A 'Learning support' provision exists for academic needs on a case-by-case basis, which may relate to student wellbeing. There is no published information about school counsellors or dedicated wellbeing teams. Therefore, public information about mental wellbeing initiatives is not available.
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
The school does not publicly disclose information regarding safeguarding and child protection policies.
Safeguarding
No dedicated safeguarding or child protection policy is published on publicly accessible pages. A Privacy Policy exists, detailing data collection and privacy rights. The admissions page emphasizes inclusivity and a safety-conscious environment. Contact information for school staff is available via the Contact page. No explicit safeguarding procedures or policies are publicly disclosed.
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
The school is an International Baccalaureate (IB) continuum world school offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP), and Diploma Programme (DP). In the PYP (Kindergarten through Grade 5), Arabic is the main language of instruction alongside English as a first language. In MYP (Grades 6–10), English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies in depth; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In Diploma College (Grades 11–12), the IB Diploma Programme is offered exclusively, including the Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, and the CAS programme. The school's cumulative cohort figure is 38.4.
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
The Diploma Programme includes the Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS) programme.
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
British International Academy (BIA) is a private girls' IB World School located in Amman, Jordan. It holds Diploma Programme authorization since March 19, 2019, and offers the IB continuum including the Primary Years Programme and Middle Years Programme. A public professional profile indicates a planned opening in September 2016 for KG1 to Grade 8, suggesting early operations prior to full IB authorization. The school is led by Head of School Ghada Zabalawi and operates from the Dabouq area of Amman as a private IB-focused institution.
History
In 2012, Ibn Rushd National Academy became the first school globally authorized to offer the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (IB PYP) for kindergarten and primary grades (K–5), with Arabic as the main language of instruction and English as a first language. In Middle School (grades 6–10), the IB Middle Years Programme is taught with English as the main language of instruction, alongside Arabic and Islamic studies; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature. In the Diploma College (grades 11–12), scholars pursue the IB Diploma programme, and the school does not offer the IB Certificate option. Ibn Rushd has been an IB World School since May 18, 2012, with Diploma Programme authorization granted on September 7, 2018, and it reports a cumulative cohort score of 38.4.
Community
Community
The student body is female and spans roughly ages 4 to 18, with instruction in English and Arabic. Graduation ceremonies are a key community event, and the 2025 graduation was held under the patronage of HRH Princess Jalila bint Ali, with attendance by families, faculty, and graduates. Such events reflect active involvement of families in the school community and a connection to Jordan's broader public life.
Community
Ibn Rushd National Academy presents itself as a unique learning community focused on discovery, creation, reflection, and growth. The approach emphasizes experiential learning, a growth mindset, character-building, and lifelong skills. Dual-language acquisition and research-informed practices shape learning from the early years, with Arabic as the mother tongue and English featured across the IB continuum. Industry links provide real-world connections to enrich scholars' experiences, and student voices are highlighted through accounts of IBDP journeys.
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
A formal Parent Teacher Association for British International Academy Amman is not publicly documented in accessible sources. Public reporting highlights parent and family involvement around major events, including the 2025 graduation under royal patronage. The 2025 graduation was hosted under the patronage of HRH Princess Jalila bint Ali, with involvement of families and school leadership. No detailed PTA committees or regular meetings are described in the publicly available sources consulted. If you would like, I can search for official PTA documentation or direct contact details for confirmation.
Parent teacher association
Public information about a dedicated Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is not published in Ibn Rushd National Academy's publicly accessible materials. Family engagement channels appear to be centered on campus visits and direct communications, as shown by the availability of a campus tour and the admissions contact. The school also references a community development centre that provides enriching opportunities for its community members to contribute and engage with society, which may involve families beyond formal PTA structures. For any specific PTA details, please contact the school directly via the provided contact channels.
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
The school is an IB continuum world school offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP) for Kindergarten to Grade 5, the Middle Years Programme (MYP) for Grades 6–10, and the Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11–12. In PYP, Arabic is the main language of instruction, with English taught as a first language. In MYP, English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies integrated into the curriculum. In the Diploma College, students experience the IB core, including Theory of Knowledge, the Extended Essay, and the Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS) programme.
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
Visual Arts is offered as a Diploma Programme subject. Music is referenced as part of a Diploma Programme experience in student testimonials. These references indicate an arts-friendly orientation within the IB curriculum at Ibn Rushd.
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
The school uses Arabic as the main language of instruction in the PYP and English as the main language in the MYP. In MYP, Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. The Middle School program includes Arabic language and Islamic studies. The UNESCO-related language education content on the site discusses mother tongue-based bilingual or multilingual education within IB programmes.
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
The Diploma Programme includes the CAS programme as part of the core. No detailed information about specific community service opportunities or outreach activities is published on the site.
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
Arabic and English are the core languages taught across the IB programmes. In PYP, Arabic is the main language of instruction and English is taught as a first language. In MYP, English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In DP, English and Arabic are the languages of instruction.
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
The school uses a bilingual approach across the IB continuum, with Arabic and English both used as languages of instruction at different stages. In the Primary Years Programme (K-5), Arabic is the main language of instruction, with English taught as a first language. In Middle Years (grades 6-10), English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In the Diploma Programme (grades 11-12), the Diploma College uses English and Arabic as languages of instruction.
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
- IB World School since 18 May 2012. This status means Ibn Rushd National Academy is authorized to offer International Baccalaureate programmes across the continuum (PYP, MYP, and DP).
- Primary Years Programme (PYP) – Authorized 18 May 2012. The school was the first globally to offer the IB PYP in Arabic for kindergarten and primary grades (K–5), with English as a first language alongside Arabic. Language of instruction is English and Arabic.
- Middle Years Programme (MYP) – Authorized 11 October 2017. English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies integrated as part of the programme. Examinations are conducted in June.
- Diploma Programme (DP) – Authorized 7 September 2018. The school offers the full IB Diploma Programme (not the IB Certificate option), including Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, and CAS; language of instruction is English and Arabic. Examinations are conducted in May.
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
—
Admissions
1. Admissions timing and capacity: Admissions are targeted for the start of the academic year, typically in late August. Enrollment during the year is possible only in very rare circumstances. The main restriction on entry is space availability, and aptitude or special needs do not generally block admission. Admissions to the MYP and Diploma College depend on meeting the programmes' rigorous requirements.
2. How to apply: Parents should complete the online "Interested form" for each child by the end of December of the preceding year. The form is the first step in the process and is submitted online. After submission, the Admissions Department will schedule interviews or entrance assessments, subject to space availability.
3. Interviews and assessments: All Kindergarten applicants must attend a personal interview. All applicants from Grade 1 upwards must attend a personal interview and sit for entrance assessments. The initial entry assessment fee is referenced in the school fees schedule.
4. MoE regulations and intake ages: MoE regulations specify KG1 enters the academic year in which they become four years old. Prospective applicants to Grade 1 enter the academic year in which they become six.
5. Notification and offers: After interviews/assessments, parents will be notified of the admissions decision once all applications have been considered. Successful candidates will receive a placement offer and be asked to complete their registration.
6. Additional notes: The Academy is non-selective and inclusive. The main constraint is space availability. Admissions to the MYP and Diploma College require fulfilling the programmes' rigorous requirements.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
The school does not advertise scholarships. Instead, it lists discounts and a limited learning-support option. Tuition discounts include an early payment discount, sibling discounts, and a loyalty programme, with amounts and eligibility described in the fees schedule.
Waitlist
Waitlist
—
Waitlist
There is no published waitlist or pool system on public materials.