Cambridge High School and Ibn Rushd National Academy are both in Amman, about 15 km apart. Both schools offer IB programmes, and Cambridge High School also offers British. Published annual fees are JOD 2,750 - 9,000 at Cambridge High School and JOD 3,785 - 10,250 at Ibn Rushd National Academy, which puts Ibn Rushd National Academy roughly 19% higher. Cambridge High School takes pupils from 3 to 18, and Ibn Rushd National Academy from 4 to 18.
|
C
Cambridge High School
Amman, Jordan
|
I
Ibn Rushd National Academy
Amman, Jordan
|
|
|---|---|---|
| Snapshot | Snapshot | |
|
Fees / year
|
Fees / year JOD 2,750 - 9,000 | Fees / year JOD 3,785 - 10,250 |
|
Age range
|
Age range 3 - 18 years | Age range 4 - 18 years |
|
Type
|
Type — | Type Co-educational |
|
Curriculum
|
Curriculum British Curriculum, IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP) | Curriculum IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP) |
|
Pupils
|
Pupils 1,018 | Pupils — |
|
Typical class size
|
Typical class size — | Typical class size — |
|
Instruction language
|
Instruction language English, Arabic | Instruction language English, Arabic |
|
Opened
|
Opened — | Opened 2012 |
|
Bus service
|
Bus service — | Bus service Yes |
| Essentials | Essentials | |
|
Location
|
Location Cambridge High School is located in the Al Rabia area of west Amman, on Abdel Kareem Al Dabbas Street, Amman 11185, Jordan. It sits in a central, accessible part of the city with good transport links to surrounding neighbourhoods. The area is served by bus routes and local transit connections, making commuting feasible from various parts of Amman. The school is described as being in the heart of west Amman. | Location Amman, Jordan. The campus is in the Na'ur area on Umm Al-Basateen Street 1, Amman 11194. The address is commonly cited as Na'ur, Umm Al-Basateen Street, Amman. It is accessible via local Amman roads in the city. |
|
Stages
|
Stages The school serves students aged approximately 3–18, spanning Kindergarten, Primary, Middle Years Programme (MYP), and the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP). The IB programmes run alongside a multi-stage education system that includes KG, primary, and secondary levels. | Stages Ibn Rushd National Academy offers an IB continuum: Primary Years Programme (PYP) for Grades K–5, Middle Years Programme (MYP) for Grades 6–10, and the IB Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11–12. PYP uses Arabic as the main language of instruction with English as a first language; MYP uses English as the main language with Arabic and Islamic studies included; DP leads to the IB Diploma. |
|
School type
|
School type Co-educational day school with no boarding facilities. | School type Co-educational, day school. Boarding is not offered. |
|
Pupil nationality mix
|
Pupil nationality mix Enrollment is around 1,000–1,200 students aged 3–18, representing approximately 30 nationalities. The school's materials do not publicly publish the most common nationality or the exact local-to-international ratio. | Pupil nationality mix — |
|
Additional learning support
|
Additional learning support The school operates an Inclusion Department to support Additional Learning Needs (SEN). An Inclusion Department fee of JD 350 per subject per semester applies for eligible subjects. | Additional learning support The admissions policy describes the school as inclusive and states it welcomes students from all backgrounds and abilities; entry is not generally impeded by special needs, subject to space availability. Specific SEN facilities are not listed publicly. |
|
Country affiliation
|
Country affiliation The school is located in Jordan and functions as an IB World School; there is no formal country-specific affiliation beyond its Jordan location. | Country affiliation Jordan. |
|
Religious affiliation
|
Religious affiliation No formal religious affiliation is publicly indicated for the school. | Religious affiliation No religious affiliation is listed. |
|
School day structure
|
School day structure The published start time for the first semester is 8:00 am for Grades 1–10 and KG2. Daily end times and the exact break/lunch schedules are not publicly published. | School day structure The school day typically runs from 7:30 am to 3:30 pm, Sunday through Thursday. Breaks and lunch are included in the timetable. |
|
Bus service details
|
Bus service details A school bus service operates within Amman. Transportation inside Amman costs JD 750 per year; the Airport Road route costs JD 800 per year. Each bus has an assistant to ensure child safety. | Bus service details Bus service exists, but details about providers and routes are not published on the school site. Families should contact the admissions office for arrangements. Telephone: +962 (06) 476 2000; mobile: +962 (0) 79 896 1810. |
| Fees | Fees | |
|
Fee details
|
Fee details Application / joining fees - New students in Grades 2–12 (IB): JOD 400 (one-time, non-refundable). - New students in Kindergarten, KG1, KG2 and Grade 1: JOD 200 (one-time, non-refundable). Tuition fees by year group (annual amounts; full-year tuition) - Kindergarten 1 (age 3): JOD 2,750. - Kindergarten 2 (age 4): JOD 3,695. - Kindergarten 3 (age 5): JOD 3,810. - Grade 1 (age 6): JOD 4,370. - Grade 2 (age 7): JOD 4,790. - Grade 3 (age 8): JOD 5,020. - Grade 4 (age 9): JOD 5,190. - Grade 5 (age 10): JOD 5,330. - Grade 6 (age 11): JOD 5,500. - Grade 7 (age 12): JOD 5,730. - Grade 8 (age 13): JOD 5,930. - Grade 9 (age 14): JOD 6,265. - Grade 10 (age 15): JOD 6,565. - Grade 11 (age 16): JOD 8,700. - Grade 12 (age 17): JOD 9,000. Per-term detail and billing frequency - Tuition is published and billed as an annual amount; seats are reserved on a yearly basis and the school treats fees as payable for the full year. A per-term fee schedule is not published in the school's public fee materials. Billing schedule and payment terms - Seats are reserved by paying the required reservation/first payment by the published reservation date for the coming academic year; accounts must be settled in full before school documents are released. Fees are non-refundable and full-year fees apply even if a student transfers during the year. - An early-payment discount is offered when tuition is paid in full by the published early-payment date (example: a 5% discount was specified for full payment made before 01/08/2024 in prior published material). Boarding fees - The school operates as a day school; no full or weekly boarding fees are listed. Other costs and recurring / optional fees - Visual Arts fee for Grades 11 and 12: JOD 150 per year. - Inclusion Department fee (special educational support): JOD 350 per subject, per semester. - Kindergarten additional supervision (one hour before and after school): JOD 300 per year. - Transportation (yearly, round trip): Inside Amman routes approximately JOD 750 per year; Airport Road route approximately JOD 800 per year. Each bus is accompanied by an assistant. - CAS (Creativity, Activity, Service) educational charge for Grades 11 and 12: JOD 150 per year (due on the published due date). - Extended Essay fee for Diploma students (Grade 11): JOD 300 (published due date applied). - Graduation fee for Grade 12: JOD 300. - Intensive language lessons (where offered as an extra): examples previously published include Arabic or English intensive lessons charged at JOD 1,000 per year for the specified grades (charged on published due dates). These are optional extras and are billed separately from tuition. - Textbooks, copybooks, examination fees, graduation fees, uniform, transportation and field trips are generally excluded from the published tuition figures (Ministry of Education textbooks and on-campus accident insurance are included). Specific exclusions and inclusions follow the school's fee listing. - Sibling discount: first sibling pays full tuition; second sibling receives 10% discount; third and subsequent siblings receive 15% discount. Refund and transfer policy - Fees paid are non-refundable and full-year fees apply even if the student transfers out during the year. Accounts must be settled in full before official documents are released and student files are removed by the published cut-off date at the end of the academic year. Fee payment options - Public fee materials and the published fee pages do not present a detailed list of accepted payment methods (for example, credit card, bank transfer, or post-dated cheques are not specified in the public fee notices). Parents should use the school's finance office contact channels for the available payment methods for the relevant academic year. | Fee details Tuition fees (annual and approximate per-term) - Kindergarten 1 (KG1): JD 3,640 per year. Approximate per-term (if billed in three equal installments): JD 1,213.33. - Kindergarten 2 (KG2): JD 3,640 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 1,213.33. - PYP 1 / Grade 1: JD 4,410 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 1,470.00. - PYP 2 / Grade 2: JD 4,410 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 1,470.00. - PYP 3 / Grade 3: JD 4,620 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 1,540.00. - PYP 4 / Grade 4: JD 4,620 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 1,540.00. - PYP 5 / Grade 5: JD 5,145 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 1,715.00. - MYP 1 / Grade 6: JD 6,090 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 2,030.00. - MYP 2 / Grade 7: JD 6,405 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 2,135.00. - MYP 3 / Grade 8: JD 6,825 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 2,275.00. - MYP 4 / Grade 9: JD 7,035 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 2,345.00. - MYP 5 / Grade 10: JD 7,875 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 2,625.00. - DP 1 / Grade 11: JD 9,860 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 3,286.67. - DP 2 / Grade 12: JD 9,860 per year. Approximate per-term: JD 3,286.67. Application and registration fees - Admissions (application/initial assessment) fee: JD 75. - Seat reservation fee: JD 500. This seat reservation fee is non-refundable and is treated as part of the third instalment. Miscellaneous fees and charges - KG waiting fees (until 14:30): JD 250. - Transport: one-way JD 580; two-way JD 830. - Uniform: JD 105. - Textbooks (by programme): PYP 1–3 JD 65; PYP 4–5 JD 85; MYP 1–3 JD 145; MYP 4–5 JD 265; DP 1–2 JD 570. - Learning support: charged individually on a case-by-case basis (no fixed public rate). Discounts and timing for early-payment discounts - Early payment discount for continuing families: 7% if payment is made prior to 01.06; 5% if payment is made prior to 01.08. - Early payment discount for new families: 7% if payment is made within three working days from offer (or as above for continuing families, whichever is latest). - Sibling discounts on tuition only: Child 1 = 5%; Child 2 = 10%; Child 3 = 15%; Child 4+ = 20%. Loyalty/group discounts also listed for larger groups. Sibling discounts do not apply to transport, uniform, books, examinations, or support. Billing schedule and payment terms (publicly available details) - Annual tuition figures are published for each grade level. The published information refers to a “third instalment” in relation to the seat reservation fee, which indicates fees can be collected in multiple instalments; however, a complete public schedule of instalment due dates, the exact number and timing of instalments, and full billing calendar are not published in the school's public fee listing. For purposes of planning, the annual and the approximate per-term (three-installment) splits above are provided as an indicative breakdown only. Boarding fees - No boarding programme or boarding fees are published. Boarding is not listed as a service or fee in the Academy's publicly-available fee schedule. Refund information - The seat reservation fee (JD 500) is explicitly non-refundable. No other specific refund rules or a comprehensive refund/cancellation policy are published in the public fee listing. Refunds for other fees or deposits are not detailed in the publicly-available fee schedule. |
| Diving deeper | Diving deeper | |
|
Boarding arrangements
|
Boarding arrangements Cambridge High School operates as a day school; there are no on-site boarding facilities. The school does not offer full, weekly, or flexi-boarding. Transportation is provided by bus within West Amman where available. | Boarding arrangements — |
|
Uniform requirement
|
Uniform requirement The school uniform is worn at all times and the PE uniform is to be worn on PE days only. | Uniform requirement A school uniform is required. The uniform costs JD 105. |
|
Food options
|
Food options — | Food options — |
|
House system
|
House system — | House system — |
|
Governance and ownership
|
Governance and ownership — | Governance and ownership — |
| Academics | Academics | |
|
Curriculum details
|
Curriculum details Cambridge High School in Amman, Jordan, is an IB World School offering the Middle Years Programme (MYP) and the Diploma Programme (DP). MYP was implemented in 2016 and CHS was authorized as an MYP World School on December 13, 2018; the programme maps Year 0 to Grade 5, Year 1 to Grade 6, Year 2 to Grade 7, and Year 3 to Grade 8, with eight subject groups including Language & Literature, Mathematics, Arabic language acquisition, Sciences, Individuals & Societies, Design, Arts, Religions, and Physical & Health Education. The Diploma Programme is offered in the final two years of secondary and includes core elements Theory of Knowledge, the Extended Essay, and CAS; CHS describes science and arts streams and a six-subject structure with language and mathematics at SL/HL and a minimum total score aligned to 21/42. The language of instruction is English, with KG and some programmes featuring bilingual Arabic-English components; university counseling begins in Grade 10 to support higher-education planning. The CHS CAS program follows the Creativity, Activity, and Service framework integral to the DP. | Curriculum details Ibn Rushd National Academy offers an IB continuum from kindergarten through grade 12. The Primary Years Programme (PYP) is taught in K–5 with Arabic as the main language of instruction alongside English as a first language. The Middle Years Programme (MYP) runs from grades 6–10, with English as the main language of instruction and an in‑depth Arabic and Islamic studies component; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In Grade 10, students undertake external IB assessments and commonly earn the MYP bilingual certificate. The Diploma Programme (DP) for grades 11–12 provides the full IB Diploma, and the Diploma College does not offer the IB Certificate option; the DP core includes Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, and CAS, with subject options across the usual IB groups (e.g., Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, English A Language and Literature, Arabic A Language and Literature) and instruction delivered in English and Arabic. |
|
Student teacher ratio
|
Student teacher ratio — | Student teacher ratio — |
|
Exam results
|
Exam results — | Exam results — |
|
Higher education progression
|
Higher education progression — | Higher education progression — |
|
Gifted and talented
|
Gifted and talented — | Gifted and talented — |
|
Academic calendar
|
Academic calendar — | Academic calendar — |
| Wellbeing & support | Wellbeing & support | |
|
Social & emotional learning
|
Social & emotional learning Cambridge High School supports SEL through its CAS Programme and a University Counseling team that focuses on student growth, social and emotional intelligence, and the development of decision-making and time-management skills. | Social & emotional learning Ibn Rushd National Academy communicates a focus on personal development through messaging that highlights growth mindset, character-building, and lifelong skills. Public pages do not specify a formal Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) program or named SEL staff. The admissions page describes the school as inclusive and non-selective, noting that applications are treated with sensitivity and that special needs do not generally impede admission. A 'Learning support' option exists on a case-by-case basis, indicating some individualized support for learning needs. Thus, explicit, named SEL provisions, initiatives, or staff are not publicly disclosed beyond the general messaging. |
|
Special educational needs (SEN)
|
Special educational needs (SEN) The school does not publicly disclose a dedicated SEN department or the specific types of Special Educational Needs it can support; however, it notes that students who do not fit the school's profile are helped by its support staff, counsellors and student affairs. | Special educational needs (SEN) The school is described as non-selective and inclusive; acceptance is not generally impeded by a student's special needs. Learning support is available on a case-by-case basis. The specific kinds of Special Educational Needs the school can support are not listed on publicly accessible pages. The academy is not described as a specialist SEN institution; it operates as an IB continuum world school. Public pages do not disclose dedicated SEN staff or centers. |
|
English as an additional language
|
English as an additional language EAL and language support are evidenced by bilingual Kindergarten (two hours of English daily and one hour of Arabic) and by English-language instruction with Arabic and French offered in the Primary section. | English as an additional language The language of instruction at Ibn Rushd National Academy is both English and Arabic. Public disclosures do not detail separate English as an Additional Language (EAL) provisions or staffing. The school uses Arabic as the main language of instruction in the early years alongside English, indicating a bilingual approach. Therefore, explicit EAL programmes or dedicated EAL staff are not publicly described. No other statements are disclosed beyond this language-instruction information. |
|
Mental wellbeing
|
Mental wellbeing Mental wellbeing is supported through the University Counseling program, which aims to foster social and emotional intelligence, resilience, and self-management during the university admissions process. | Mental wellbeing No explicit mental wellbeing program or staff are named on publicly accessible pages. The site focuses on personal development, growth mindset, and character-building in its messaging. A 'Learning support' provision exists for academic needs on a case-by-case basis, which may relate to student wellbeing. There is no published information about school counsellors or dedicated wellbeing teams. Therefore, public information about mental wellbeing initiatives is not available. |
|
Safeguarding
|
Safeguarding Safeguarding is addressed through the school's policies, which note that counsellors and support staff assist students and that the IB learner profile informs behavior and guidance. | Safeguarding No dedicated safeguarding or child protection policy is published on publicly accessible pages. A Privacy Policy exists, detailing data collection and privacy rights. The admissions page emphasizes inclusivity and a safety-conscious environment. Contact information for school staff is available via the Contact page. No explicit safeguarding procedures or policies are publicly disclosed. |
|
Safeguarding policy
|
Safeguarding policy — | Safeguarding policy — |
| Facilities | Facilities | |
|
Facilities overview
|
Facilities overview Cambridge High School's Amman campus offers facilities across academics, sports and creative arts. The library is available to students through a Follett Destiny online catalog. The campus includes a gymnasium and a swimming facility for physical education and competitive activities. Creative spaces include an art room and music facilities, with programs in visual arts, music and audio, filmmaking and photography. The KG section features interactive classrooms and dedicated indoor and outdoor play areas, reflecting hands-on learning across the early years. These facilities support a holistic, internationally oriented education across multiple levels. | Facilities overview — |
|
Sports facilities
|
Sports facilities Facilities for sports include a gymnasium suitable for physical education and indoor activities. The school provides swimming facilities for water-based lessons. The site lists football and basketball teams as part of the sports program and mentions badminton and general fitness activities. These facilities support a broad program of physical education and team sports. | Sports facilities — |
|
Academic facilities
|
Academic facilities Academic facilities include a library with Follett Destiny online catalog access. Interactive Classrooms indicate technology-enabled spaces integrated into daily teaching. The KG section highlights interactive learning environments, underscoring the school's emphasis on modern, collaborative learning. The site references library access and interactive classrooms as key academic resources. | Academic facilities The school is an International Baccalaureate (IB) continuum world school offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP), and Diploma Programme (DP). In the PYP (Kindergarten through Grade 5), Arabic is the main language of instruction alongside English as a first language. In MYP (Grades 6–10), English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies in depth; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In Diploma College (Grades 11–12), the IB Diploma Programme is offered exclusively, including the Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, and the CAS programme. The school's cumulative cohort figure is 38.4. |
|
Extra curricular facilities
|
Extra curricular facilities Creative spaces include an art room and music facilities. Programs span visual arts, music and audio, filmmaking and photography, reflecting a strong arts and media focus. | Extra curricular facilities The Diploma Programme includes the Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS) programme. |
| Parent experience | Parent experience | |
|
History
|
History Cambridge High School has been an IB World School since March 2004, with authorization for the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. In 2008, the school obtained authorization for the Middle Years Programme, reflecting ongoing expansion of its IB offerings. The school reports enrollment of around 1000–1200 students aged 3–18, and the student body comprises learners from roughly 30 countries, indicating a multinational community. The school is located in Rabia, in western Amman, and emphasizes hard work, discipline, respect and enjoyment as core elements of its approach. | History In 2012, Ibn Rushd National Academy became the first school globally authorized to offer the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (IB PYP) for kindergarten and primary grades (K–5), with Arabic as the main language of instruction and English as a first language. In Middle School (grades 6–10), the IB Middle Years Programme is taught with English as the main language of instruction, alongside Arabic and Islamic studies; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature. In the Diploma College (grades 11–12), scholars pursue the IB Diploma programme, and the school does not offer the IB Certificate option. Ibn Rushd has been an IB World School since May 18, 2012, with Diploma Programme authorization granted on September 7, 2018, and it reports a cumulative cohort score of 38.4. |
|
Community
|
Community The Cambridge High School community is multinational, with students from about 30 countries. The school emphasizes service initiatives and extracurricular activities as part of its educational approach to develop well-rounded, internationally minded learners. The school shares updates about its activities and events via social media channels, including Instagram, Facebook, and YouTube. Publicly listed events illustrate a busy calendar of school-wide and community activities, such as the Winter Donation Campaign “Warm Hearts 4” and a Christmas Bazar (KG-12). | Community Ibn Rushd National Academy presents itself as a unique learning community focused on discovery, creation, reflection, and growth. The approach emphasizes experiential learning, a growth mindset, character-building, and lifelong skills. Dual-language acquisition and research-informed practices shape learning from the early years, with Arabic as the mother tongue and English featured across the IB continuum. Industry links provide real-world connections to enrich scholars' experiences, and student voices are highlighted through accounts of IBDP journeys. |
|
Parent teacher association
|
Parent teacher association Public information publicly available about Cambridge High School in Amman does not list a separate Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) page or officers. The school's mission and activities emphasize service initiatives and a broad range of extracurriculars, which involve families and the wider school community through events. The events calendar includes family-oriented or community activities such as the Winter Donation Campaign “Warm Hearts 4” and the Christmas Bazar, indicating active engagement with families through school-organized programs. Other events, like Grade 5 assemblies and science exhibits, show a robust schedule of student showcases that involve the broader school community. The school provides a visible social media presence (Instagram, Facebook, YouTube) to share updates and events, which aids parental and community involvement. If there is a formal PTA, it is not publicly documented on the site, and direct contact with the school would be needed to confirm any official parent-teacher collaboration structure. | Parent teacher association Public information about a dedicated Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is not published in Ibn Rushd National Academy's publicly accessible materials. Family engagement channels appear to be centered on campus visits and direct communications, as shown by the availability of a campus tour and the admissions contact. The school also references a community development centre that provides enriching opportunities for its community members to contribute and engage with society, which may involve families beyond formal PTA structures. For any specific PTA details, please contact the school directly via the provided contact channels. |
| Extra-curricular | Extra-curricular | |
|
Academic & intellectual
|
Academic & intellectual — | Academic & intellectual The school is an IB continuum world school offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP) for Kindergarten to Grade 5, the Middle Years Programme (MYP) for Grades 6–10, and the Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11–12. In PYP, Arabic is the main language of instruction, with English taught as a first language. In MYP, English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies integrated into the curriculum. In the Diploma College, students experience the IB core, including Theory of Knowledge, the Extended Essay, and the Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS) programme. |
|
Arts & creative
|
Arts & creative — | Arts & creative Visual Arts is offered as a Diploma Programme subject. Music is referenced as part of a Diploma Programme experience in student testimonials. These references indicate an arts-friendly orientation within the IB curriculum at Ibn Rushd. |
|
Cultural & language
|
Cultural & language — | Cultural & language The school uses Arabic as the main language of instruction in the PYP and English as the main language in the MYP. In MYP, Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. The Middle School program includes Arabic language and Islamic studies. The UNESCO-related language education content on the site discusses mother tongue-based bilingual or multilingual education within IB programmes. |
|
Social & hobbies
|
Social & hobbies — | Social & hobbies — |
|
Community & service
|
Community & service — | Community & service The Diploma Programme includes the CAS programme as part of the core. No detailed information about specific community service opportunities or outreach activities is published on the site. |
|
Leadership & professional
|
Leadership & professional — | Leadership & professional — |
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing
|
Lifestyle & wellbeing — | Lifestyle & wellbeing — |
| Language provision | Language provision | |
|
Language provision
|
Language provision The school teaches in English and Arabic. In the MYP, Language & Literature is offered in Arabic and English, and Arabic language acquisition is provided. | Language provision Arabic and English are the core languages taught across the IB programmes. In PYP, Arabic is the main language of instruction and English is taught as a first language. In MYP, English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In DP, English and Arabic are the languages of instruction. |
|
Bilingual teaching
|
Bilingual teaching The school offers bilingual education in English and Arabic. Language & Literature is taught in Arabic and English, and Arabic language acquisition is provided. | Bilingual teaching The school uses a bilingual approach across the IB continuum, with Arabic and English both used as languages of instruction at different stages. In the Primary Years Programme (K-5), Arabic is the main language of instruction, with English taught as a first language. In Middle Years (grades 6-10), English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies; Arabic and English are offered as Group 1 Language and Literature courses. In the Diploma Programme (grades 11-12), the Diploma College uses English and Arabic as languages of instruction. |
|
Immersion programs
|
Immersion programs — | Immersion programs — |
| Reputation | Reputation | |
|
Awards
|
Awards null | Awards — |
|
Accreditations
|
Accreditations The school is an IB World School offering the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (DP) and the Middle Years Programme (MYP). | Accreditations - IB World School since 18 May 2012. This status means Ibn Rushd National Academy is authorized to offer International Baccalaureate programmes across the continuum (PYP, MYP, and DP). - Primary Years Programme (PYP) – Authorized 18 May 2012. The school was the first globally to offer the IB PYP in Arabic for kindergarten and primary grades (K–5), with English as a first language alongside Arabic. Language of instruction is English and Arabic. - Middle Years Programme (MYP) – Authorized 11 October 2017. English is the main language of instruction, with Arabic and Islamic studies integrated as part of the programme. Examinations are conducted in June. - Diploma Programme (DP) – Authorized 7 September 2018. The school offers the full IB Diploma Programme (not the IB Certificate option), including Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, and CAS; language of instruction is English and Arabic. Examinations are conducted in May. |
| Admissions | Admissions | |
|
Admissions
|
Admissions 1. Enrolment at Cambridge High School is conducted on a yearly basis. Attendance is not automatically renewed, and at the end of each academic year the school reviews every student's record to determine renewal. Parents are expected to stay informed through the school's communications and to engage with policies to support their child's continued enrollment. 2. The admissions process includes a seat reservation step. A seat reservation fee must be paid by the deadline (for the coming academic year: 1/4/2024). If seats are not reserved by that date, they are offered to students on the waiting list. 3. New students pay joining fees to begin enrollment. Joining fees are 400 JD for Grades 2–12IB and 200 JD for K, KG1, KG2, and Grade 1; these fees are non-refundable and are separate from tuition. 4. Tuition terms and what they cover are defined at enrollment. Tuition excludes textbooks, copybooks, exams, graduation, uniform, transportation, and field trips, but includes Ministry of Education textbooks and insurance for accidents on school premises. Discounts for siblings apply: first sibling pays full tuition, second sibling receives 10% off, and third and subsequent siblings receive 15% off. Early payment discounts may also apply when tuition is paid in full by the stated deadline (e.g., 1/8/2024). 5. Additional fees may apply depending on program and services. Visual Arts fees are 150 JD per year for Grades 11–12, and Inclusion Department fees are 350 JD per subject per semester. Transportation is available inside Amman (750 JD) and Airport Road (800 JD) with an accompanying bus assistant for child safety. 6. After enrollment, the school maintains ongoing governance of student progress. The school's Parent's Guide emphasizes a commitment to the IB learner profile and related policies, and notes that parents are informed whenever school support is required. Registration for the next year occurs on a yearly basis, and student records are reviewed at the end of each year to determine continued placement. | Admissions 1. Admissions timing and capacity: Admissions are targeted for the start of the academic year, typically in late August. Enrollment during the year is possible only in very rare circumstances. The main restriction on entry is space availability, and aptitude or special needs do not generally block admission. Admissions to the MYP and Diploma College depend on meeting the programmes' rigorous requirements. 2. How to apply: Parents should complete the online "Interested form" for each child by the end of December of the preceding year. The form is the first step in the process and is submitted online. After submission, the Admissions Department will schedule interviews or entrance assessments, subject to space availability. 3. Interviews and assessments: All Kindergarten applicants must attend a personal interview. All applicants from Grade 1 upwards must attend a personal interview and sit for entrance assessments. The initial entry assessment fee is referenced in the school fees schedule. 4. MoE regulations and intake ages: MoE regulations specify KG1 enters the academic year in which they become four years old. Prospective applicants to Grade 1 enter the academic year in which they become six. 5. Notification and offers: After interviews/assessments, parents will be notified of the admissions decision once all applications have been considered. Successful candidates will receive a placement offer and be asked to complete their registration. 6. Additional notes: The Academy is non-selective and inclusive. The main constraint is space availability. Admissions to the MYP and Diploma College require fulfilling the programmes' rigorous requirements. |
|
Scholarships
|
Scholarships — | Scholarships The school does not advertise scholarships. Instead, it lists discounts and a limited learning-support option. Tuition discounts include an early payment discount, sibling discounts, and a loyalty programme, with amounts and eligibility described in the fees schedule. |
|
Waitlist
|
Waitlist The school manages a waitlist for admissions. A seat reservation deadline exists, and seats not reserved by the deadline are offered to students on the waiting list. | Waitlist There is no published waitlist or pool system on public materials. |
| View full profile → | View full profile → | |
Comparing more schools, or want notes and ratings of your own? Build your own compare board.