Capital International Schools vs Royal Canadian School
Capital International Schools and Royal Canadian School are both in Cairo, about 19 km apart. Both schools offer Advanced Placement (AP) and IB programmes. Capital International Schools also offers American, Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels, Pearson Edexcel IGCSE and EYFS, and Royal Canadian School also offers Canadian. Published annual fees are EGP 100,000 - 204,500 at Capital International Schools and EGP 10 - 229,000 at Royal Canadian School, which puts Capital International Schools roughly 33% higher. Both take pupils from 3 to 18.
American Curriculum, Advanced Placement (AP), Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels, Pearson Edexcel IGCSE, IB (DP), EYFS (Early years foundation stage)
Curriculum
Canadian Curriculum, IB (DP), Advanced Placement (AP)
Pupils
Pupils
—
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
22
Typical class size
—
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
2016
Opened
—
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Main Campus: Area 17 KH-El Narges district - New Cairo, Egypt; Lotus Campus: Golden Square, Plot 114E, Northern, North Lotus
Location
DC-SC-3, LAND R2, The Residential Neighbourhood, New Cairo (The New Administrative Capital), Egypt. The campus is located in the Residential Neighbourhood area of New Cairo, within the New Administrative Capital.
Stages
Stages
FS / KG; American School; British School; IGCSE; IB Diploma Programme
Stages
KG & Elementary (G1-G6); Middle School (G7-G9); High School (G10-G12)
School type
School type
The school offers American, British and IB Diploma Programmes.
School type
International school; Canadian curriculum; Prince Edward Island affiliated; IB Diploma Programme
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
United Kingdom and United States
Country affiliation
Canada (Prince Edward Island)
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
Safe and reliable transportation with GPS-enabled buses and trained staff
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application & assessment fees
- Application fee: EGP 4,000 (one‑off at time of application). - New‑student evaluation / assessment fee: EGP 2,000 (one‑off).
Tuition fees by year group (published for the 2025/2026 academic year)
- Pre‑School (Preschool): Annual tuition EGP 100,000 — Per term (three equal terms) EGP 33,333.33. - KG1–KG2: Annual tuition EGP 183,500 — Per term (three equal terms) EGP 61,166.67. - Grade 1–5: Annual tuition EGP 192,000 — Per term (three equal terms) EGP 64,000.00. - Grade 6: Annual tuition EGP 204,500 — Per term (three equal terms) EGP 68,166.67. - Grade 7–9: Annual tuition EGP 214,500 — Per term (three equal terms) EGP 71,500.00.
Boarding fees
- Boarding: Not applicable. Capital International Schools is presented as a day school; no boarding fees or boarding provision are published.
Other costs and typical ancillary fees
- Books: The published tuition figures are noted to include book costs in the school's published fee summary. - School bus / transportation: Annual bus fees shown in published material (example amounts published): EGP 39,000 (main campus summary). Separate campus listings show similar bus fees (examples: EGP 35,000 on Lotus campus listings). Parents should expect an annual bus charge if using school transport. - Uniforms, lunch, extra‑curricular activities, examination fees and some assessed tests: these items are commonly charged in addition to tuition at comparable international schools; the school's Lotus campus listings show separate book/resource amounts for particular grades. Where a separate charge is published for a grade (for example book or resource lists), that amount is listed alongside the tuition on campus‑specific notices. Parents should budget for optional services (lunch, extra activities) where applicable.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Academic structure and instalments: The admissions/registration system lists three academic terms (Term 1, Term 2, Term 3). Per‑term amounts above are shown as the annual tuition divided into three equal instalments to reflect the school's three‑term billing framework; the school's online admission form references the three terms. (Per‑term amounts in this summary are calculated from the published annual tuition divided by three.) - Timing and immediate charges: Application and assessment fees are payable at application/registration. Transport and other optional services are typically charged on an annual basis or per term depending on the service; parents selecting transport will incur the annual bus fee.
Refund information
- No published, detailed refund policy for application, registration, tuition or transport charges was located in the school's publicly posted fee summaries for the 2025/2026 academic year. Where a school does publish a refundable deposit or specific refund rules those are normally called out in the terms and conditions or fee schedule; no such itemised refund clause was found in the fee information available for 2025/2026. Parents should treat application and assessment charges as one‑off payments unless otherwise advised in formal acceptance paperwork.
Fee payment options
- Publicly listed payment methods are not itemised in the published fee listings found for 2025/2026. The school operates an online admissions/parent portal (Engage) which indicates an electronic payment and invoicing workflow is in use for applications and registrations; expect standard options such as bank transfer and card payments to be available through the school's finance office or online portal, but the school's published materials do not provide a definitive, itemised list of accepted payment channels. Contact the school's admissions/finance office for confirmed payment methods when completing registration.
Practical notes (brief)
- The figures provided above are the published annual tuition amounts for the 2025/2026 academic year and the one‑off application/evaluation charges shown in the school's published fee summaries. Per‑term amounts shown are calculated by dividing the published annual tuition by three because the school's admissions form lists three academic terms; that calculation is an arithmetic division to present per‑term instalments consistent with the school's three‑term billing framework.
What was not found in the public fee materials
- The publicly available fee information for 2025/2026 did not include a clear, itemised refund policy, detailed payment‑method list (bank account numbers or card merchant details), explicit per‑term invoices/dates, or published late‑payment penalties tied specifically to Capital International Schools. The school's admissions/finance office or formal contract at acceptance normally supplies these operational details; they were not present in the fee summaries located for 2025/2026.
Fee details
Application / Registration fee - Registration (application) fee: EGP 10,000 (one‑time). - An earlier published application figure of EGP 8,000 is also listed in third‑party directories for the prior year.
Tuition fees by year group (annual and per‑term amounts) — published figures for the 2025/26 academic year - KG1–KG2: Annual tuition EGP 150,000. Per term (equal three‑term division, calculated): EGP 50,000 per term. - Grades 1–9: Annual tuition EGP 182,000. Per term (calculated): EGP 60,666.67 per term. - Grades 10–12: Annual tuition EGP 229,000. Per term (calculated): EGP 76,333.33 per term.
(Alternate published figures from other school directories — earlier year / for reference) - Alternate annual figures that have been published for 2024/25 include: KG1–KG2 EGP 120,000; Grade 1–6 EGP 125,000; Grade 7–9 EGP 178,000; Grade 10–12 EGP 194,000. Per‑term values shown in the main section above are calculated from the 2025/26 annual figures.
Billing schedule and payment terms - The registration fee is payable at the time of application and may be paid in person using cash or by credit card at the campus. Annual tuition is published as an annual amount; where per‑term payment is used the per‑term figures above are equal divisions of the published annual tuition (three equal instalments). Specific invoice dates, due dates, late‑payment penalties, and published instalment schedules are not publicly listed in the materials reviewed; families should follow the school's admission paperwork and invoice instructions for exact deadlines.
Boarding fees - Boarding is not listed among the school's services; school services explicitly include day‑school facilities such as a school bus and campus amenities, indicating the school operates as a day school (no published boarding fee).
Other costs and optional extras - School bus (transportation) is charged in addition to tuition. Published bus fees vary by source and year: a published bus fee of EGP 45,000 for 2025/26 is listed; other published ranges for bus fees in prior listings show approximately EGP 17,000–20,300. Bus fees are charged separately from tuition. - Books, activities and resource fees are reported as included within some published tuition figures (check specific invoice breakdowns for confirmation). - Uniform costs, optional activity charges, school insurance, examination fees, airport transfer, and other ancillary costs are not shown as fixed published amounts in the reviewed public materials; families should budget for those items in addition to tuition and transport.
Refund information - No publicly published, detailed refund policy for registration or tuition (for the 2025/26 or 2024/25 materials reviewed) was located. Refund and cancellation rules (for registration deposits, withdrawals, and tuition) are handled through the school's admission and fee‑policy documents and should be confirmed directly with the admissions office when completing registration.
Fee payment options and accepted currencies - Accepted currencies and payment methods: payments are accepted in Egyptian pounds (EGP) and in US dollars in published listings; the registration fee can be paid in person by cash or by credit card at the campus. No public bank account or online payment gateway details were listed in the materials reviewed; payment by bank transfer or other electronic methods should be confirmed with the admissions office.
Quick practical summary for parents - Expect to pay a one‑time registration fee (published EGP 10,000 for 2025/26). Annual tuition is published by grade band (see amounts above) and is commonly invoiced as an annual amount. Transport is an extra cost. Per‑term figures above are equal three‑term divisions of the published annual tuition (calculated for convenience). For exact invoice dates, any instalment plans, refund/cancellation terms, and the final invoice breakdown (uniform, optional services, examination fees, etc.), follow the school's admission paperwork and the invoice you receive from the admissions office.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
K to Grade 10 wear the RCS School Uniform; uniform items may be purchased from the School Uniform Shop at 3G27+H47, El Nasr, Second New Cairo, Cairo Governorate 4752101, or ordered online using the student's Grade Level and RCS Student Number.
Food options
Food options
The school has eight cafeterias on site.
Food options
The school has a healthy canteen offering nutritious, balanced meals prepared daily with fresh, high-quality ingredients; a weekly canteen menu is available.
House system
House system
—
House system
Four Houses. Students are divided into four Houses, each led by House Leaders and House Captains; activities include competitions, student-led assemblies, and House Fridays; new students are assigned a House on joining and points contribute to the House total.
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
The school is governed by a Board of Directors.
Governance and ownership
The school is a private Prince Edward Island-affiliated Canadian international school in Cairo. Students are PEI Ministry of Education students and graduate with a PEI diploma; the school is registered with the Egyptian Ministry of Education to grant high school diplomas. The PEI Ministry of Education inspects the school annually.
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
British School, American School, and IB Diploma Programme (IB DP) are offered. The school provides MYP (Grades 9–10) and DP (Grades 11–12). There are two campuses: Main Campus and Lotus Campus. Entry Year Groups span from Year 1 to Year 12 across British and American streams, with DP1 and DP2 available in the Diploma Programme. The American School option allows selecting a second language: French, German, or Spanish.
Curriculum details
Canadian curriculum with KG–G12 progression: Early Child Education, Elementary Program, Middle School Program, and High School Program. Graduates earn an accredited Canadian diploma recognized by universities in Egypt and internationally. Certified Canadian teachers plus qualified Arabic and French instructors support the program. Prince Edward Island (PEI) affiliation covers K–12 and the school registers students in Canada throughout their academic journey.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
Graduates earn an accredited Canadian diploma recognized by universities in Egypt and internationally. Students are registered in Canada throughout their schooling, reinforcing a Canada-based credential. The Canadian certificate is recognized by top international universities, supporting admission to higher education worldwide. The school employs certified Canadian teachers along with Arabic and French instructors to support this pathway.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
The school fosters individualized experiences within a supportive community, enabling each child to develop into an independent, confident, and capable young learner with well-rounded cognitive, social, and emotional skills. It provides a caring atmosphere that caters for each child's needs and supports an excellent academic environment.
Social & emotional learning
The school emphasizes a holistic approach to student development, with small class sizes and a nurturing environment designed to support individual growth.
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
The school identifies a student's areas of weakness through assessments and addresses those areas through a variety of support plans.
Special educational needs (SEN)
Not specified on the provided content.
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
Not specified on the provided content.
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
The IB Diploma Programme has been designed to address the intellectual, social, emotional and physical well-being of students.
Mental wellbeing
Not specified on the provided content.
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
The wellbeing of students is the number one priority. Any concerns or signs of abuse or neglect are immediately reported to a Child Protection Officer. Students in need of psychological and moral support have access to the school psychologist and class advocate.
Safeguarding
Not specified on the provided content.
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
Capital International Schools have two campuses, American and British, in New Cairo. The campus provides a range of facilities, including three computer labs per school, a Mac lab, four science labs per school (elementary, physics, biology, chemistry), and four music studios. It also features a gymnasium, a semi-Olympic heated swimming pool, eight cafeterias, three libraries per school, two dining halls, an auditorium with a 700-person capacity, and an innovation lab. The school has play areas, art studios, lecture halls, two tennis courts, two basketball courts, and 700 m3 soccer courts. Classrooms are spacious, bright, ventilated, well-furnished, and equipped with smart boards and high-tech teaching solutions.
Facilities overview
The campus spans over 20,000 square meters and features state-of-the-art facilities designed to inspire learning, creativity, and growth. The campus is built with Canadian architectural principles to provide a world-class educational environment in Egypt, while celebrating Egyptian heritage. Modern learning spaces support academic excellence and personal development. The campus includes modern classrooms, science and computer labs, and a library and resource center.
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
Key sports facilities include two basketball courts, two tennis courts, soccer courts, a gymnasium, and a semi-Olympic, covered and heated swimming pool.
Sports facilities
The sports facilities include a full-sized football field, running track, and multi-purpose courts for basketball, volleyball, and tennis. There is an Olympic-sized swimming pool with professional coaching for all skill levels. A calendar of events and activities enriches student life, including cultural celebrations, academic competitions, and community service.
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
Academic facilities include four science labs per school (elementary, physics, biology, chemistry), a Mac lab, and three computer labs per school. Two lecture halls, an innovation lab, art studios, music studios, and libraries support learning.
Academic facilities
Modern classrooms are spacious, well-lit, with smart boards and flexible seating for collaborative learning. Fully equipped science and computer labs provide up-to-date technology with safety measures. The Library & Resource Center offers a wide collection of books, digital resources, and quiet study areas to support independent learning and research.
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
A vibrant calendar of events and activities enriches student life, including cultural celebrations, academic competitions, and community service.
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
Capital International Schools was founded in 2016. The school is governed by a Board of Directors. The expansion included the opening of the Lotus Campus. The superintendent message emphasizes partnerships with families as a core part of ongoing growth and the school's commitment to holistic education.
History
Royal Canadian School is located in New Cairo, Egypt. It is the only school worldwide officially affiliated with Prince Edward Island's Department of Education and Early Years from kindergarten through graduation. Students graduate with an accredited Canadian diploma and follow a Canadian curriculum with students registered in Canada throughout their studies. The RCS Board of Governors governs the school, led by Chairman Dr. Sayed Eissa and Directors Dr. Othman Abd El-bary and Dr. Emil Samarah, with Mr. Kevin O'Brien as Head of School. The Canadian-designed campus features state-of-the-art facilities and a multilingual faculty including certified Canadian teachers plus Arabic and French instructors.
Community
Community
Community events and cultural activities are featured in CIS News, including orientations and start dates for Lotus Campus 2025-2026 and Main Campus 2025-2026; the Annual Art Exhibition 2025 at the American School; Book Character Day; and the CIS Football Tournament, which showcases competitions and cup wins by CIS British and American high school teams in Ramadan tournaments.
Community
From international festivals to art exhibitions, music performances, and cultural exchange programs, Royal Canadian School provides opportunities for students to explore, express, and excel. Educators create an inclusive environment that fosters creativity, global awareness, and appreciation for diverse cultures. The school emphasizes celebrating diversity and engaging students in cultural activities as part of its learning experience.
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
The Innovation Lab is a hub of creativity where students discover, create, and develop ideas using makerspace tools. It prepares students to navigate the world with innovative thinking. Students have the opportunity to participate in national and international school competitions through the Innovation Lab. The initiative develops critical thinking, problem-solving, and teamwork.
Academic & intellectual
Prince Edward Island Department of Education and Lifelong Learning accredits Royal Canadian School as a PEI Affiliate School. Graduates receive a High School Diploma from the PEI Ministry of Education in Canada, and students remain PEI Ministry of Education students throughout their studies. The PEI affiliation covers Kindergarten through Grade 9, and the school is an IB World School authorized to implement the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. The Anglophone PEI Curriculum is taught in English by certified Canadian teachers with Arabic and French instructors, and the curriculum emphasizes holistic development, Indigenous perspectives, and global citizenship.
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
Art Studios and four Music Studios support visual and performing arts on campus. AP Art Classes are offered within the American program. An Annual Art Exhibition is held for Grades 1–12, including IB and AP artists. The American Gallery showcases events such as the American Talent Show, Wax Museum, Shark Tank, MFL Spelling Bee, and Art Awards Ceremony.
Arts & creative
Cultural activities include international festivals, art exhibitions, and music performances, along with cultural exchange programs.
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
Book Character Day is featured among CIS News events. MFL Spelling Bee is listed in the American Gallery. Quraan Competition is included among school activities. American MUN is part of student opportunities.
Cultural & language
The school employs certified Canadian teachers plus Arabic and French instructors. Instruction follows the PEI Anglophone Curriculum in English. The PEI framework emphasizes Indigenous perspectives and global citizenship as part of its approach.
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
CIS Football Tournament is hosted, with CIS British and American High School teams achieving success in Ramadan football competitions. The campus facilities include soccer courts, two basketball courts, and two tennis courts for sports activities. A multipurpose hall and gymnasium support a wide range of athletic activities.
Social & hobbies
Student leadership includes Student Leadership, Student Council, and the RCS House System with House Captains. The school also offers field trips, annual camps, and activities outside the classroom coordinated by the school community (RPTA).
Community & service
Community & service
CIS Code Of Kindness Campaign promotes intentional acts of kindness within the school community.
Community & service
Leadership programs develop leadership skills through student councils, peer mentoring, and community service projects. The RPTA coordinates fundraising events and community involvement opportunities to support the school community.
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
Design my Class Workshop, led with Engineer Mona Hussein Design House, exposed senior students and alumni to real-world challenges. American MUN is part of student leadership and debate opportunities, alongside activities such as the American Talent Show and related competitions.
Leadership & professional
The Leadership Team includes Head of School Kevin O'Brien and a Board of Directors led by Chairman Dr. Sayed Eissa; other board members include Dr. Othman Abd El-bary and Dr. Emil Samarah, with Dr. Ken Imperato serving as Board Advisor/Quality Assurance Officer. The team emphasizes student-centered learning, curriculum innovation, and global citizenship.
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
The campus features a semi-Olympic, covered and heated swimming pool. There is a gymnasium on site. Outdoor athletic facilities include two basketball courts and two tennis courts, along with soccer courts for diverse sports and fitness activities.
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Facilities include GPS-enabled school buses for safe transport, a playground, and a healthy canteen offering fresh, nutritious meals. The campus prioritizes safe, nurturing learning and Positive Learning experiences. The New Cairo/New Administrative Capital location is the school's address.
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
English is the instructional and communication language in the British Programme. French and German are offered as second languages in the British School, and Arabic Language, Religious Studies, and Egyptian Social Studies are taught under the Egyptian Ministry of Education curriculum. The American Programme provides foreign languages—French, German and Spanish—starting in Grade 1. In the IB Diploma Programme, students study at least two languages and may take examinations in English, French or Spanish.
Language provision
Core subjects include English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies in KG & Elementary. Arabic Language is offered in Elementary as enrichment, and Arabic is a High School track. A Second Language is included in Elementary enrichment, and Foreign Languages are part of Middle School. French is taught by Arabic and French instructors.
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions Procedures: The Admissions Office is open Sunday through Thursday from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. School tours are scheduled at 11:00 a.m. on Mondays for the British School and 10:00 a.m. on Wednesdays for the American School. To schedule a tour, call the Front Desk at 01000093155 or 01000087742. Complete the Online Application to receive a confirmation email. Within one week of submitting the application, visit the Admission Office to schedule your child's assessment and the family interview. The final decision is communicated within five working days after the assessment. Required documents include: original birth certificate (Egyptian students); copy of student's passport and residence visa valid for at least six months (non-Egyptian students); two passport photos; copies of mother and father's IDs or passports; copies of academic reports for the last two academic years and this year's term report; letter of good conduct from the previous school for students in Year 1 and above; nursery report for KG I and FS I; for American high school, an official transcript of courses and credits (Grades 9–12). Assessments include: FS/KG – one-on-one and group observations; Years 1–3 – one-on-one; older years – English and Math assessment plus a family interview. British School: Mondays at 11:00 a.m.; American School: Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m. Address: Area 17 KH-El Narges district, New Cairo, Egypt. Phone: +2-260-565-66 / +2-260-565-68. Additional contacts: +20-100-009-3155 / +20-100-008-7742.
Admissions
1. Complete the Online Application. The Royal Canadian School online Application should be completed via the link labeled 'Click here'. The admissions team is available to guide applicants through every step of the application process. After submission, the school reviews the application and contacts applicants as needed. 2. Pay Registration Fees. Pay the registration fees. The registration fees may be remitted in person with cash or credit card at our campus. This step is part of the admissions process managed by the admissions team. 3. Schedule an Assessment. An assessment will be scheduled. The purpose of the assessment is to determine the student's readiness to attend Royal Canadian School and to determine a possible need for additional English Language support or additional Learning Support. The admissions team coordinates the scheduling and communicates details to families. 4. Assessment Day. On the assessment day, bring documents including: Copy of student's previous report card; Six passport size photos; Copy of the student's passport; Student's original birth certificate; Copy of father/mother's ID cards (both sides); Copy of father/mother's EG Visa and Passport (If not Egyptian); Copy of the student's immunization record. The assessment day is an opportunity to determine readiness and any support needs. 5. Final Registration. After a successful assessment result you will be invited to meet our Head of School and complete the registration process. This completes the admissions steps.