Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science vs Olive Tree International Academy
Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science and Olive Tree International Academy are both in Hangzhou, about 40 km apart. Both schools offer Cambridge A Levels and Chinese National programmes. Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science also offers British and Cambridge IGCSE, and Olive Tree International Academy also offers IB and Advanced Placement (AP). Published annual fees are RMB 138,000 - 228,000 at Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science and RMB 120,000 - 180,000 at Olive Tree International Academy, which puts Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science roughly 22% higher. Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science takes pupils from 2 to 18, and Olive Tree International Academy from 6 to 18.
British Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, Chinese National Curriculum
Curriculum
IB (PYP), IB (MYP), Advanced Placement (AP), Cambridge A Levels, Chinese National Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
25
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
—
Typical class size
—
Instruction language
Instruction language
English, Mandarin
Instruction language
English, Mandarin
Opened
Opened
2018
Opened
2017
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
The school is in Hangzhou's Future Sci‑Tech City (Yuhang District), at No.1 Guowen Road — a newer tech and residential area whose campus is set amid landscaped areas (tea fields and bamboo are referenced on the site). Future Sci‑Tech City is served by Hangzhou metro lines and major roads, so the area has public-transport links to the city; check local metro maps for the nearest station to the campus.
Location
Olive Tree International Academy is in Linping District, Hangzhou — address: No.136 Xincheng Road, Nanyuan Street. It is under 10 minutes' walk from Metro Line 9 (Nanyuan Station Exit D) and about one metro stop from Linping South high‑speed railway station; driving to Hangzhou East station takes roughly 25 minutes and many central districts are within a 30‑minute drive.
Stages
Stages
The school is organised into four main sections: a bilingual Kindergarten (ages about 3–6), Primary and Junior High (Grades 1–9, roughly ages 7–15) and Senior High (Grades 10–12, ages ~16–18); the site also describes an International School provision covering ages 3–18.
Stages
The school runs Primary, Middle and High School divisions and presents itself as an IB world school at primary/middle levels while offering senior pathways that include A‑level and AP directions. This covers roughly an age range of primary through Grade 12.
School type
School type
The school is co‑educational and operates a mixed Chinese/international provision (Chinese national curriculum elements integrated with international programmes). Boarding accommodation is available and boarding is a central part of school life from Grade 7 upward.
School type
The school is co‑educational and is listed by Round Square as a day and boarding school for ages about 6–18. The website describes full‑time primary, junior and senior high provision on the Hangzhou campus.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Pastoral care and a tutor/house system are highlighted as the main routes for supporting students' emotional, social and academic development; the school's pastoral leadership includes staff with experience supporting pupils with special needs. For specific additional‑learning‑needs (SEN) provision or assessments, the admissions team recommends direct contact so the school can describe individual arrangements.
Additional learning support
The school's primary‑level pages note relatively small classes (no more than ~25 students) with two class tutors, and they emphasise personalised and holistic education; however, the website does not publish a dedicated Special Educational Needs (SEN) policy or a named learning‑support department. For specifics about assessment, adjustments or formal SEN provision, contact the admissions team.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
The school was founded through a partnership between Dipont Education, China's RDFZ Group and King's College School, Wimbledon (UK), so it has both Chinese and British institutional links.
Country affiliation
The school is based in China (Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province) and does not present an affiliation to a foreign national education authority on its public pages; it operates international curricula alongside the national curriculum.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
The school does not present a religious affiliation on its website; its published materials describe a secular, bilingual/international educational programme.
Religious affiliation
The school's published mission and materials do not indicate any religious affiliation; its public pages present a secular, curriculum‑focused mission.
School day structure
School day structure
The daily timetable differs by section (kindergarten, primary/junior, senior) and teaching is organised around those sections with bilingual/co‑taught lessons described for early years and primary. The website does not publish a single, fixed start‑and‑finish time for all sections; parents should request the exact daily schedule for the relevant age group from admissions.
School day structure
The website describes curriculum, programmes and holistic activities but does not publish a clear daily timetable (start/end times, break and lunch schedules) on the public site. If you need specific daily‑schedule details for planning (work or relocation), ask Admissions when you enquire.
Bus service details
Bus service details
The school has operated dedicated school‑bus routes (a news post noted eight routes when they were introduced) and has previously described careful route and safety planning; however the website does not list current routes or the carrier. Parents should contact admissions for up‑to‑date route maps, pickup points, seat availability and any transport fees.
Bus service details
The public site lists nearby transport links (metro, highways and driving times) but does not state whether the school operates a dedicated school‑bus network or outsourced shuttle service. Parents relocating should confirm directly with Admissions for current bus routes, coverage and safety arrangements. Contact details are on the school site.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application fees - The school's published admissions material shows no separate non‑refundable application or registration fee for entry; registration/application fee is listed as "none" in the school's admissions summary.
Tuition fees by year group (detailed) - Bilingual /义务教育 (listed per semester): - Primary (elementary): RMB 78,000 per semester (RMB 156,000 per year). - Junior middle (初中): RMB 88,000 per semester (RMB 176,000 per year). - KCS / 肯思外籍人员子女学校 (listed per year): - Kindergarten: RMB 138,000 per year. - Primary (外籍小学): RMB 188,000 per year. - Junior middle (外籍初中): RMB 208,000 per year. - High school (外籍高中 / A‑Level): RMB 228,000 per year.
Billing schedule and payment terms - For the bilingual/义务教育 track the school publishes fees on a per‑semester basis (the posted figures are semester amounts). For the external/外籍人员子女 programme the school publishes annual tuition figures. The school's formal fee documents and admissions brochure present fees in those units.
Boarding fees (where applicable) - For the义务教育 boarding options: RMB 6,300 per semester for 5‑day boarding and RMB 9,450 per semester for 7‑day boarding (equivalent to RMB 12,600 or RMB 18,900 per year respectively). - For the外籍人员子女 school, published materials indicate boarding is available from Grade 7 up (example: four‑person room fees reported at about RMB 12,600 per year in school summaries).
Other costs and typical extras - Uniforms: full‑set uniform costs are published in school summaries in the range of about RMB 4,079–5,009. - Meals and daily catering: reported meal costs vary by age/choice; published ranges used in school summaries are approximately RMB 28–80 per meal/day depending on year and service. Additional items (textbooks, exam fees, specific international examination fees, co‑curricular activity fees, transport) are charged separately.
Refund information - The school's publicly posted admissions pages and the downloadable fee/招生 materials do not publish a detailed, line‑by‑line refund policy in the admissions summary; specific refund or cancellation terms are not listed in those public fee statements.
Fee payment options - The publicly posted admissions pages and fee brochure list fees and billing units but do not specify detailed payment channels (e.g., exact bank account, online payment, card acceptance) within the admissions summary; payment channels are handled via the school's admissions/payment portal and official fee documentation.
Fee details
Application / Assessment fees - Assessment fee reported for entrance testing: RMB 500 per candidate (普思考试 / PST fee).
Tuition fees (per term and per academic year) - Primary School (小学部): RMB 60,000 per term — equivalent to RMB 120,000 per academic year (two terms). - Middle School / Junior High (初中部): RMB 75,000 per term — equivalent to RMB 150,000 per academic year (two terms). - High School (高中部): RMB 90,000 per term — equivalent to RMB 180,000 per academic year (two terms). Some published summaries also present the high‑school fee expressed as RMB 180,000 per year (same total).
Billing schedule and payment terms - The school publishes tuition on a per‑term (semester) basis (amounts shown above are per term). Specific billing dates, payment deadlines, late‑payment penalties and detailed payment terms (for example whether a deposit or prepayment is required at registration, and exact due dates) are not published in the publicly available admissions materials.
Boarding / accommodation - The school operates on‑campus student accommodation (two student apartment buildings are provided and the school offers boarding from Year 1 onward). The fact of on‑campus dormitories and their configuration (4 students per room, independent bathroom, life supervisors, laundry facilities) is published. A separate boarding (宿舍/住宿) fee amount is not published in the materials reviewed.
Other costs and typical additional charges - Published summaries and third‑party information indicate additional fees that families commonly pay at comparable schools and which are also referenced in secondary sources for this school: registration/administration fees, uniforms, textbooks and learning materials, examination fees, meals (school catering), extracurricular / activity fees, and other miscellaneous charges. Exact amounts for these items for Olive Tree International Academy are not listed on the school's public admissions pages.
Refund information - A specific published refund or fee‑cancellation policy (for example for withdrawal before term start, pro‑rata refunds, or deposit returns) was not found in the publicly available admissions pages and brochures reviewed.
Fee payment options - The school's public admissions content does not list specific payment channels (for example bank transfer, online payment, credit card acceptance, or on‑site cashier procedures). For questions about payment methods and invoicing, the school provides admissions contact lines.
Summary of gaps / what was not published - The school publishes clear per‑term tuition amounts for primary, middle and high school but does not publish: (a) a stated application/registration fee amount (beyond the reported PST assessment fee), (b) a separate boarding fee amount, (c) detailed billing dates and payment deadlines, (d) an explicit refund policy, or (e) the accepted payment methods. These items were not available in the school's public admissions pages and common public summaries.
If you will place this on an external database, use the per‑term tuition figures above (RMB 60,000; RMB 75,000; RMB 90,000) and note in your database entry that boarding costs, registration/administration fees, and payment‑method details were not published in the materials reviewed.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Hangzhou Dipont School of Arts and Science operates a bilingual model: it delivers the Chinese National Curriculum integrated with international methodology for Grades 1–9 and a parallel International School that follows the English National Curriculum in primary and Key Stage 3. Kindergarten (ages 3–6) is an activities-based bilingual programme organised around seven curriculum strands (communication, physical, social-emotional, science, mathematics, cultural studies and creative arts) to prepare children for Grade 1. In the international secondary pathway, pupils choose Cambridge IGCSE subjects from Year/Grade 10 (compulsory English, Mandarin and mathematics plus sciences, humanities and an aesthetic) and then progress to Cambridge International AS and A‑level courses in the sixth form/Grades 11–12. Chinese‑stream students complete the compulsory Chinese curriculum through Grade 9 and may transfer into the International Curriculum Centre, where targeted English development supports access to CIE A‑levels. Across all stages the school uses mixed teams of Chinese and international teachers, increasing specialist subject teaching from upper elementary and using project‑based, co‑teaching and co‑curricular/pastoral programmes to support student development.
Curriculum details
At primary level Olive Tree teaches the Chinese national compulsory curriculum enriched with International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme (PYP) approaches, using Units of Inquiry (UOI) and six transdisciplinary themes. English is streamed in Years 2–5 and mathematics is streamed in Years 4–5, with personalized extension courses for high‑ability students. The middle school blends the national curriculum with IB MYP pedagogy across eight subject groups (language & literature, language acquisition, mathematics, individuals & societies, design, arts, sciences, physical & health) and offers about 50 elective/after‑school options (robotics, languages, competitive maths, etc.). In senior school students select external qualification pathways: US AP (wide AP subject offering, MSA/College Board authorization), UK A‑Level (Cambridge/Edexcel/OxfordAQA centres) and an Art & Design pathway, and the school has introduced the Hong Kong DSE as an option from 2025. Across all stages the programme is complemented by extensive co‑curriculars and specialist facilities—team sports, music and performing arts, robotics/STEM, a plant‑research centre and astronomy equipment—to support holistic learning.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. Check grade availability and eligibility. Before you apply, confirm which year groups are open to Chinese and international students — the school's admissions page lists accepted grades for 2024–2025 (for example: Chinese students — all kindergarten levels, Grade 1, Grades 4–6, Grade 7 and Grade 10; international students — all kindergarten levels, Grades 1–11). Note that some places (especially for compulsory education years) are subject to local district rules, so confirm your child's eligibility if you rely on household registration (hukou) or a residence permit.
2. Prepare supporting documents and residency proof. The school's 2023 admission brochure describes the types of residency documentation used for local admissions (house purchase/property certificate, Yuhang district household registration, or a valid Zhejiang residence permit) and specific birth-date windows for kindergarten/Grade 1 cohorts; parents should have originals and certified copies ready for verification. If your child is transferring from another school, be prepared to provide previous school reports and any records required by the Admissions Office. Because district rules and required documents can change from year to year, check current requirements with Admissions before you submit materials.
3. Submit the online application. Applications are submitted through the school's online application portal (the site links to the Dipont application system); complete the online form and upload the requested documents (the portal will indicate what is needed). Save the application reference number and keep copies of what you upload — the Admissions team will use the portal to arrange the next steps. If you have trouble with the portal, use the admissions contact details on the school website to request support.
4. Assessment and verification stage. After the school receives a completed application and supporting documents, the Admissions Department arranges assessments and any on-site verification (the website notes that assessments will be arranged upon receipt of required documents). For compulsory-education years there are scheduled online registration and verification windows (the 2023 brochure shows specific registration and verification dates as examples), so expect time-bound steps in that process and confirm the current year's timeline with the school. Assessments commonly include age-appropriate academic checks and an interview/meet-and-greet, but check with Admissions for the exact assessment format for your child's year group.
5. Notification of results and offer. The school states it will communicate admissions decisions to parents once evaluations are complete; follow the instructions in the offer letter for next steps. Offers typically include information about tuition, payment deadlines, and any deposits or acceptance confirmations required — if the offer does not specify these, contact Admissions immediately to clarify the payment schedule and required paperwork. Keep copies of the offer and all payment receipts for your records.
6. Fees, payment and enrollment formalities. The public admissions page lists annual tuition banding (examples shown on the site: Kindergarten RMB138,000; Primary RMB188,000; Middle School RMB208,000; High School RMB228,000), and the 2023 brochure gives per-semester figures for certain years (for example, primary RMB78,000/semester; junior high RMB88,000/semester). Because fee schedules and payment terms can change, treat the website figures as indicative and confirm the current year's fees, payment deadlines, and refund/cancellation policy with Admissions before making any transfer. Use the contact details provided by the school to request the formal fee schedule and a copy of the enrolment contract.
7. Final enrolment, portals and onboarding. Once you accept an offer, follow the school's instructions for completing enrolment (medical forms, student data, boarding allocation if applicable) and for accessing parent/student portals (the site lists portals such as ManageBac and the school Engage/administration portals). If you plan for boarding, ask specifically about rooming arrangements, boarding fees, and pastoral care routines; if you plan for day attendance, confirm bus routes or drop-off procedures. If any step or document is unclear, use the Admissions email and phone numbers listed on the site to request step-by-step guidance.
Admissions
1. Submit an application (预约/Submit the application). Parents start by scanning the school's WeChat QR code and completing the “OTIA School visit appointment” form; after submission an admissions officer will contact you to arrange next steps. Be ready to provide basic student details (name, current grade, school reports) and a preferred date for a visit; if you do not use WeChat, note the admissions page lists phone numbers you can call to request an appointment.
2. School visit and comprehensive assessment (访校评估/School visit assessment). The school asks families to attend a large open day or to schedule a one-to-one visit and to take part in a comprehensive assessment; different grades have different entry requirements that will be explained at the visit. Parents should bring recent school reports, identification (passport or resident ID), and any work samples the child has; if the child speaks limited Mandarin, discuss language-support needs with the admissions team in advance. The admissions page notes students must meet Zhejiang/Hangzhou/Linping Education Bureau registration requirements, so prepare any local registration documents the school may request.
3. Offer / admission notice (发放录取/Offer admission). If the student meets the school's criteria the school will issue an admission notice; the English site describes this as the third step after assessment. Parents should confirm the offer's conditions (grade placement, boarding vs. day, and any outstanding paperwork) and check deadlines for accepting the place. If you are applying for a scholarship (see below), note scholarship interview/result timelines are specified on the admissions FAQ.
4. Complete enrolment / registration (入学注册/School enrollment). After accepting an offer you must complete the school's registration process, which typically includes signing enrolment forms, submitting original documents and paying required fees for the term. The admissions FAQ lists the published tuition per term (小学 60,000 RMB/学期; 初中 75,000 RMB/学期; 高中 90,000 RMB/学期), so plan finances and ask admissions about payment deadlines, refund rules, and whether extra fees (meals, transport, uniforms, activity fees) apply. If you need boarding, the school provides on-site student apartments from Grade 1 and can explain boarding contracts at registration.
Scholarships
Scholarships
The school's public pages do not present a dedicated, published scholarship programme for incoming students at the Hangzhou campus. The site does report students receiving sizeable scholarships from external universities at graduation (news posts note aggregate university scholarship amounts received by graduates), but that is different from an internal school scholarship policy. Dipont group schools in other cities have explicit internal scholarship schemes (for example, the Wuxi Dipont admissions pages describe scholarships available for G3+ and other merit awards), which shows that scholarship practice can vary by campus — however, Hangzhou's site does not currently list specific internal scholarships or a formal application process. If you are interested in merit or financial-award opportunities at Hangzhou Dipont, ask Admissions directly (admissions@rkcshz.cn or the phone numbers on the website) for the most up-to-date information and for eligibility criteria, deadlines, and whether any need-based or performance-based awards are available in the forthcoming intake.
Scholarships
The school's admissions FAQ describes a high-school scholarship called the “水八仙” scholarship. It is aimed at high-school students who demonstrate academic achievement and good conduct; award levels listed include either a full tuition waiver or a half-tuition reduction. The application procedure is: submit supporting documents to the admissions officer for an initial review, complete a scholarship application form, participate in the high-school pre-entry assessment, and—if shortlisted—attend a scholarship interview; the page states scholarship applicants will be notified of the result within three working days after the interview. The website mentions this scholarship specifically for the high-school division and does not publish other scholarship programmes for lower grades, so if you are seeking fee assistance for primary or middle school ask admissions directly for any seasonal or need-based programmes.
Waitlist
Waitlist
The school's public admissions pages do not use the word “waitlist,” but the 2023 admissions brochure describes participation in the district's computer-based allocation and supplementary-enrolment procedures for private schools (for example: online registration for supplementary enrollment and computer-based allocation steps are shown for primary and junior-high entry). This indicates that for some year groups the school works within district allocation systems and may have a process for supplementary intake when initial places are full, rather than a separate open-ended waitlist. For international or independent places (outside the district allocation windows) the Admissions Office handles offers directly; the website does not publish a formal waitlist policy for those cases, so families who want to know whether the school will hold a place or run a wait pool should contact Admissions and ask how vacancies are handled for the cohort of interest.
Waitlist
The school's official admissions pages (Chinese and English) describe a four-step application process (appointment → visit/assessment → offer → registration) but do not state a formal waitlist or candidate pool system. That absence on the published admissions page means there is no public description of a waitlist; if a particular grade is full the school may instead offer guidance or keep interested families on a local pending list, but this is not documented online. For a definitive answer about availability or to ask to be added to any internal waiting list, contact the admissions office by the listed phone numbers or via the WeChat appointment form.