Indian Educational School – Bhavans vs Smart Indian School
Indian Educational School – Bhavans and Smart Indian School are both in Jleeb Al-shuyoukh, about 1 km apart. Both schools follow a CBSE curriculum. Published annual fees are KWD 715 - 1,320 at Indian Educational School – Bhavans and KWD 625 - 1,045 at Smart Indian School, which puts Indian Educational School – Bhavans roughly 22% higher. Indian Educational School – Bhavans takes pupils from 3 to 18, and Smart Indian School from 2 to 18.
Indian Educational School, Safat, Kuwait (address: Indian Educational School, Safat, Kuwait; 24079). The centrally air‑conditioned campus spans 8,000 square metres.
Location
Smart Indian School is located on School Street, Jleeb Al Shyoukh, Kuwait. It is in the Jleeb Al Shyoukh district, a residential area accessible by Kuwait's local road network. The school serves boys and girls aged 2–18 and is part of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Middle East.
co-educational, English-medium CBSE-affiliated school
School type
Co-educational CBSE-affiliated school
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Inclusive education provisions; adaptive provisions for diverse needs
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Affiliated with Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Mumbai (Bhavans Middle East)
Country affiliation
India
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
Buses hired on contract basis
Bus service details
—
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Tuition fees (per term and annual total)
- LKG / UKG: - First Term (April–June): KD 240. - Second Term (September–November): KD 240. - Third Term (December–March): KD 235. - Annual total: KD 715.
- Grades 1–5: - First Term (April–June): KD 295. - Second Term (September–November): KD 295. - Third Term (December–March): KD 290. - Annual total: KD 880.
- Grades 6–8: - First Term (April–June): KD 350. - Second Term (September–November): KD 350. - Third Term (December–March): KD 345. - Annual total: KD 1,045.
- Grades 9–12: - First Term (April–June): KD 440. - Second Term (September–November): KD 440. - Third Term (December–March): KD 440. - Annual total: KD 1,320.
Application and admission charges
- Application (first-time admission) fee: KD 15. - Refundable caution deposit: KD 25 (refundable). - First-term tuition for new admissions is payable at the time of admission. - Late admission charge for entrants from the second term onwards: KD 50.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition is payable in full prior to the start of the academic year, but parents may pay in three instalments: due prior to April 1, September 1 and December 1 of the academic year. - For first-time admissions, the application fee, refundable caution deposit and the first-term fee are charged at the time of admission.
Transport (bus) fees and optional services
- Transport is optional. Monthly and annual bus-fee rates by area are: - Jleeb Shyokh – Hassavi: KD 17 per month / KD 170 per year. - Khaitan – Farwaniya – Riggae: KD 19 per month / KD 190 per year. - Kuwait City – Salmiya – Hawalli – Jabriya: KD 21 per month / KD 210 per year. - Fintas – Fahaheel – Ahmadi: KD 23 per month / KD 230 per year. - Canteen services are optional. Private transport operators are not permitted for student drop/pick-up when using school transport.
Uniforms, books and other compulsory/extra costs
- Cost of school uniforms is payable as required; school uniforms must be purchased from the school store. - Cost of textbooks, stationery and any subject-specific materials is payable as required (charged separately when applicable). - Bhavans Service Scheme (optional co-curricular programme) carries a non-refundable annual contingency charge of KD 50 per member; BSS members receive two sets of BSS uniform and refreshments on activity days.
Boarding / hostel fees
- Hostels are not provided (no boarding). There are no boarding fees.
Refund information
- The KD 25 caution deposit is refundable under the school's deposit procedure. - Refunds for online payments are processed only through the original mode of payment.
Fee payment options and accepted methods
- Online payment by Visa and MasterCard credit/debit cards is accepted (payments processed in AED or another agreed currency). - Instalment payment schedule (three instalments due prior to April 1, September 1 and December 1) is available; full tuition remains payable according to the billing schedule.
Late or miscellaneous charges
- Late admission fee (for admissions starting in later terms): KD 50.
Note on optional services
- Transport and canteen are optional add-on services and are charged separately from tuition. Uniforms, books and certain programme fees (e.g., BSS contingency charge) are additional and payable when required.
Fee details
Application & admission fees
- Application fee: KD 15. - Refundable caution deposit: KD 25 (refundable). - On first-time admission: the first-term tuition and the ICT fee are payable at the time of admission (ICT fee amount not listed). - Late-admission charge (for admissions from the second term onwards): KD 50.
Tuition fees — per term and annual totals (by class)
- Pre-KG: First term KD 210; Second term KD 210; Third term KD 205; Annual total KD 625. - LKG / UKG: First term KD 240; Second term KD 240; Third term KD 235; Annual total KD 715. - Grades 1–5: First term KD 295; Second term KD 295; Third term KD 290; Annual total KD 880. - Grades 6–8: First term KD 350; Second term KD 350; Third term KD 345; Annual total KD 1,045.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition is payable in full prior to the commencement of the academic year. - The school allows payment in three instalments instead of a single payment: instalments are due prior to 1 April, 1 September and 1 December of the academic year.
Transport (bus) fees and terms
- Bus fees are shown by area and may be paid monthly or annually: Jleeb Shyokh–Hassawi: KD 16 per month (KD 160 per year); Khaitan–Farwaniya–Riggae: KD 18 per month (KD 180 per year); Kuwait City–Salmiya–Hawalli–Jabriya: KD 20 per month (KD 200 per year); Fintas–Fahaheel–Ahmadi: KD 22 per month (KD 220 per year). The bus service contract covers 10 months of the academic year. - Transport is optional; parents joining during the academic year pay for the full remaining months.
Boarding / hostel fees
- No boarding or hostel fees are published; the school operates as a day / day-boarding institution and lists transport and canteen as optional services rather than overnight boarding. Boarding fees are not applicable.
Other costs and routine charges
- Cost of books, stationery and school uniforms: payable as required and must be purchased from the school store; specific amounts are not listed in the published schedule. - ICT fee: payable at admission alongside first-term tuition for new students; the published schedule does not specify the ICT fee amount. - Canteen services are offered as an optional facility; separate canteen pricing is not published.
Refund information
- The caution deposit (KD 25) is refundable. No other explicit refund terms or a broader refund schedule for tuition, transport, canteen or uniforms are published in the published fee schedule.
Fee payment options
- The published fee schedule does not specify accepted payment methods (for example: cash, cheque, debit/credit card or bank transfer). Parents should use the school's accounts office or the school's parent portal for payment arrangements.
Notes on published coverage and missing items
- The published fee schedule lists fees for Pre-KG through Grade 8 but does not list per-term or annual tuition amounts for Grades 9–12 in the same fee table. The schedule also does not specify the ICT fee amount, uniform or book price lists, detailed canteen charges, or the accepted payment methods. These items are not shown in the published fee information.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Indian Educational School, Kuwait offers a CBSE curriculum aligned to NEP 2020. It provides a seamless pathway from early years to Grade 12 under the 5+3+3+4 framework for ages 3–18. Foundational Stage includes Pre-KG, LKG and UKG through Grade 2; Preparatory Stage covers Grades 3–5; Middle Stage covers Grades 6–8; Secondary Stage encompasses Grades 9–12. The curriculum emphasises enquiry-led, experiential learning supported by technology, with balanced coverage of languages, sciences, mathematics, arts, sport and leadership. Personalised mentoring and enrichment support the whole-child approach within a CBSE Senior Secondary framework.
Curriculum details
CBSE affiliated and English-medium; Nursery through Grade 12 is offered. Courses are organized as Nursery; Standard I–II; Standard III–V; Standard VI–VIII; Standard IX–X; XI–XII, with Science and Commerce streams at the senior levels. Languages: second language options vary by grade—Std I–II offer Hindi, French, Malayalam, Tamil, Urdu and Bangla; Arabic is taught as a third language from Grades 1–8; Sanskrit is offered as a second language from Grade 5; for Std III–V, second language options include Hindi, French, Malayalam, Tamil, Urdu, Bangla and Sanskrit (Grade 5); for Std VI–VIII, second language options are Hindi, French and Sanskrit with Arabic as the third language; for Std IX–X, second language options are Hindi or French. Assessments: Nursery to Std 2 have no exams; Std 3–4 have five cycle tests per year; Std 5–10 follow the CBSE assessment scheme (including half-yearly and yearly examinations); Std 11–12 have three assessments and three periodic tests. XI–XII Science stream includes English, Chemistry, Physics, Biology/Computer Science and Mathematics with options such as Psychology, Physical Education and Informatics Practices; Commerce stream includes English, Economics, Accountancy, Business Studies and options such as Applied Mathematics, Psychology, Physical Education and Informatics Practices.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
Affiliated to the CBSE board, New Delhi (Affiliation No. 5930015). Parent testimonials describe CBSE exam results as excellent. The site features an Academic Awards page highlighting student achievements.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
Career guidance programs help students prepare for higher education. These services form part of the school's student support offerings as described by testimonials on the site.
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
The school has online registration on its website. The school requires that you use Internet Explorer 7+ or Google Chrome when registering, and all fields marked with an asterisk are compulsory. The school requires that for two or more children the parent login and password from the first application be used to identify siblings; employees must log in with their employee ID; incomplete forms are rejected. The school requires that the name and date of birth match the passport and that the information be reviewed for accuracy. Step 2: After online registration, the school requires a hard copy of the completed online application to be submitted to the School office. The child will be called for an entry-level test to assess readiness. The school allows parents to track the online application using their login ID and password. Step 3: A non-refundable registration fee of AED 500 is collected on confirmation of admission. The parents submit the necessary documents for admission. The school provides the login details to track the online application.
Admissions
1. KG Admissions path. KG Admissions: Residents of Fintas, Mahboula, Abu Halifa, Fahaheel, Mangaf, Ahmadi and nearby areas apply to Jack and Jill, Mangaf. Jack and Jill, Mangaf: Choose Pre KG, KG1 M, or KG2 M for admissions. Pre KG available: Only at Jack and Jill, Mangaf, and SIS. This arrangement directs KG applicants to the campus that serves their area.
2. Admissions in Kuwait. JACK N JILL NURSERY; SIS CBSE; SIS IGCSE; IES Kuwait are admissions options in Kuwait. APPLY NOW for each program. Applicants should select the campus and program before submitting an application.
3. Age criteria. Age for entry into LKG is 3 years 6 months as of 31 March; Age for entry into Grade 1 is 5 years 6 months as of 31 March.
4. Fees and documents. For first-time admissions, the application fee is KD 15 and a refundable caution deposit is KD 25; the first term fee and ICT fee are payable at the time of admission. Late admission fee of KD 50 applies if admission is from the second term onward. Cost of books, stationery and school uniforms are payable as required and are to be purchased from the school store. Fees may be paid in three installments before April 1, September 1, and December 1 of the academic year.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
The school offers a Scholarship program for classes 8–11. Students who secure A1 in all periodic assessments, the half-yearly examination, and the annual examination in all subjects (English, second language, Mathematics, Science and Social Science) are entitled to a scholarship, with the cash award distributed at the next annual day function and only if the student continues studying at SIS.
The school also recognizes high achievers with the Scholar Badge for classes 5–7, awarded to students who achieve A1 in all periodic assessments and examinations.
The Scholar Blazer is awarded to students who have been a Scholar/Scholarship holder for three consecutive years.