K. International School Tokyo vs Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus
K. International School Tokyo and Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus are both in Tokyo, about 10 km apart. Both schools offer IB programmes, and K. International School Tokyo also offers Bespoke and Pearson Edexcel IGCSE. Published annual fees are close, at ¥2,802,000 - 3,020,000 for K. International School Tokyo and ¥2,575,000 - 2,900,000 for Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus. Both take pupils from 3 to 18. K. International School Tokyo is the larger school, with around 660 pupils to Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus's 450. Typical class sizes are 26 at K. International School Tokyo and 20 at Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus.
Location: 1-5-15 Shirakawa, Koto-ku, Tokyo 135-0021, Japan. The campus sits on the western edge of Koto-ku near the intersection of Kiyosubashi-dori and Kiyosumi-dori. It is a short walk from Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Station, which provides easy subway access to central Tokyo.
Location
Shinagawa International School has three campuses in Shinagawa Ward, Tokyo: Aoyoko Campus (Preschool–Kindergarten), Seaside Campus (Primary), and Samezu Campus (Secondary). The Aoyoko Campus is in Minamishinagawa; Seaside sits near Shinagawa Seaside Station, and Samezu is also located in Minamishinagawa. The campuses are accessible by multiple rail lines: Aoyoko is about 5 minutes from Aomono-Yokocho, 7 minutes from Oimachi, and 15 minutes from Shinagawa Seaside; Seaside is about 5 minutes from Shinagawa Seaside and Aomono-Yokocho, and 15 minutes from Oimachi; Samezu is about 7 minutes from Shinagawa Seaside, 3 minutes from Aomono-Yokocho, and 15 minutes from Oimachi.
Stages
Stages
School levels follow four program stages: Primary Years Programme (K1–G5), Lower Secondary Programme (G6–G8), Edexcel International GCSE (G9–G10), and the IB Diploma Programme (G11–G12). This structure supports a continuum from early years through to pre-university study.
Stages
The school offers an IB continuum: Early Learning Center (ELC) for ages 3–5 at the Aoyoko Campus; Primary Years Programme across Seaside (Grade 1–3) and Samezu (Grade 4–5); Middle Years Programme (MYP) for Grades 6–10; and Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11–12.
School type
School type
K. International School Tokyo is a private, co-educational, non-denominational day school serving students from pre-kindergarten to Grade 12.
School type
Co-educational day school with no boarding facilities.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
The school represents around 50 nationalities; the largest represented nationalities are the United States and Japan, with no single nationality dominating the student body. The exact local-to-international ratio is not publicly disclosed.
Pupil nationality mix
Students come from more than 40 countries. The most common nationalities are not publicly disclosed, and a detailed local-to-international ratio is not published.
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Additional learning needs (SEN) support is provided through the Learning Enhancement Academic Program (LEAP), which is designed to assist elementary students with English and Mathematics.
Additional learning support
Learning support includes English as an Additional Language (EAL) and other supports. EAL is delivered in small groups with push‑in and pull‑out sessions, with English proficiency assessed using WIDA standards. For formally assessed students, an Individual Educational Plan (IEP) may be created; for others, a Student Success Plan is used to support inclusion in mainstream classes.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
The school has no formal country affiliation; it operates as an international, non-denominational day school.
Country affiliation
No formal country affiliation is listed.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
There is no religious affiliation.
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is listed.
School day structure
School day structure
The school day typically starts at 8:45 a.m. and ends at 2:40 p.m. on Mondays, and at 3:20 p.m. from Tuesday to Friday; breaks and lunch times vary by grade level.
School day structure
Preschool–Kindergarten: instructional hours from 8:30 am to 2:30 pm; Grades 1–12: 8:30 am to 3:00 pm.
Bus service details
Bus service details
A school bus service is available for elementary students, operating on defined routes with limited seats and not guaranteed; secondary students are not eligible. Routes, stops, and fees are reviewed annually, and bus fees are invoiced three times per year.
Bus service details
A safe school bus service operates, primarily for preschool and primary students with limited availability for secondary students. Buses have seat belts, GPS tracking, and attendants. There are eight routes (School Bus 1–8) serving various areas; routes and times may adjust based on demand. Parents can register by contacting the school.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application fees
- Application Fee: JPY 30,000 (non-refundable). Payment of the application fee is required at the time of application and should be made by bank transfer; bank transfer charges are the responsibility of the sender.
One-time enrollment and capital fees (first-time enrollees)
- Enrollment Fee (one-time): JPY 300,000 (re‑enrollments within three years are charged a reduced rate of JPY 60,000). - Capital Fee (one-time): JPY 700,000 (re‑enrollments within three years are charged a reduced rate of JPY 140,000).
Tuition fees (annual) by year group
- K1–K3: JPY 3,020,000 per year. - Grades 1–9: JPY 2,850,000 per year. - Grades 10–12: JPY 2,970,000 per year.
- Payment may be made in three installments by bank transfer. For new enrollments the instalment schedule and amounts (tuition portion shown) are: - K1–K3: 1st instalment JPY 1,208,000; 2nd JPY 906,000; 3rd JPY 906,000. - Grades 1–9: 1st instalment JPY 1,140,000; 2nd JPY 855,000; 3rd JPY 855,000. - Grades 10–12: 1st instalment JPY 1,188,000; 2nd JPY 891,000; 3rd JPY 891,000. - With the instalment option, full payment of the other general fees (enrollment fee, capital fee, building maintenance fee and Community Association fee) is required with the first instalment.
- Standard instalment due dates for continuing families (second year of enrollment onward): 1st instalment due May 15; 2nd instalment due September 15; 3rd instalment due December 15. For certain new‑entry intake periods the school uses alternative due dates (for example specific March/September/December dates shown for new enrollments).
Building maintenance and family fees
- Building Maintenance Fee (annual, all grades): JPY 200,000. (This fee may be reduced for students first enrolling from April.) - Community Association (CA) Fee (per family, annual): JPY 2,000.
Other costs and optional fees
- Camp Fees: Students in Grades 5, 7, 9 and 11 attend camps; camp fees vary by destination and are invoiced with the first payment instalment. - Program Progression Fee (Grades 1, 6, 9 and 11): JPY 5,000 at the time of progression. - School bus service (optional, elementary only): JPY 110,000–JPY 440,000 per year; seats are limited and routes/stops are set by the school. - School uniform: A uniform (summer and winter formal sets plus PE uniform) is required for all grade levels; uniform costs are charged separately. Textbooks: some are included in tuition but certain textbooks must be purchased by families; school lunches and optional services are invoiced separately.
Handling of late payments
- Overdue invoice handling fee: JPY 3,000 per invoice. The handling fee is not charged if the Accounts Department has been informed in advance by e-mail of an expected delay.
Refund information
- The Application Fee and the Enrollment Fee are non‑refundable. - Tuition and other general fees paid at the time of initial enrollment (capital fee, building maintenance fee, CA fee) will be refunded in full if enrollment is cancelled by e‑mail prior to the first day of school (Japan Standard Time). Information on refunds for other school fees is provided to families after enrollment.
Boarding fees
- K. International School Tokyo is a day school for ages 3–18 and does not operate boarding facilities; therefore boarding fees are not applicable.
Billing schedule and payment terms (summary)
- The school year begins in mid‑August and is organized into two semesters (Aug–Dec and Jan–Jun). School fees may be paid as a lump sum (annual payment) or split into three instalments by bank transfer. For new enrollments the initial instalment is due as indicated in the offer of enrollment (initial instalment deadlines vary by intake); for continuing families instalments are due May 15, September 15 and December 15. Where applicable, all other general fees (enrollment, capital, building maintenance and CA fee) are payable with the first instalment.
Fee payment options and bank details (payment method)
- Payments of school fees (application and tuition) are by bank transfer. Bank transfer details for application fee payment (Mizuho Bank) and instruction that transfers must be in Japanese yen and include the applicant's name are provided in admissions documentation and invoices; bank transfer charges are the responsibility of the sender.
(For the most used fee line items above, the school's Admissions Handbook provides full line‑by‑line details, instalment tables, and additional items such as optional service fees and the conditions that apply to mid‑year enrollments, re‑enrollments and discounts.)
Fee details
Application and Admission Fees
- Application fee: JPY 40,000 (one‑time, non‑refundable; payable on submission of each student's application). - Enrollment fee (registration): JPY 1,000,000 (one‑time, non‑refundable; payable within one week of confirmation of admission).
Tuition — amounts and term schedule (three installments per school year)
Tuition is charged per academic year and payable in three installments (Term 1, Term 2, Term 3). The following shows each term amount and the annual total for the 2025–2026 school year:
- Preschool – Kindergarten: Term 1 JPY 875,000; Term 2 JPY 675,000; Term 3 JPY 675,000. Annual total JPY 2,225,000. - Grades 1–5: Term 1 JPY 850,000; Term 2 JPY 750,000; Term 3 JPY 750,000. Annual total JPY 2,350,000. - Secondary (Grades 6–10): Term 1 JPY 950,000; Term 2 JPY 750,000; Term 3 JPY 750,000. Annual total JPY 2,450,000. - Secondary (Grades 11–12): Term 1 JPY 950,000; Term 2 JPY 800,000; Term 3 JPY 800,000. Annual total JPY 2,550,000.
Additional recurring educational fees shown per term (where applicable):
- EAL fee (if required): Term 1 JPY 200,000; Term 2 JPY 150,000; Term 3 JPY 150,000. Annual total JPY 500,000. - Daycare service (charged at JPY 2,000/hour): Term 1 JPY 275,000; Term 2 JPY 200,000; Term 3 JPY 275,000. Annual total JPY 750,000 (dependent on hours used).
(The school states that tuition is charged per year and is payable in three installments.)
Maintenance, supply and support fees
- Maintenance fee: JPY 250,000 per student per year (annual, non‑refundable). - Supply fee: Charged to cover small field trips, Japanese textbooks, class novels and some stationery items; amount depends on grade/use and is charged separately. - Learning support fee (if required): JPY 500,000 per year, payable in three installments.
Additional and optional costs
- Lunches: not included in tuition; charged separately. - Uniforms: compulsory for all grades; cost varies by items ordered. - PTA annual fee: JPY 6,000. - School excursions / field trips and non‑curricular residential/day trips: charged as required (examples of single–event charges range from JPY 100 to JPY 1,500 depending on the activity). - Some exam fees, some sports events/tournaments, some extracurricular activities/ASPs, and swimming: may be charged separately.
Sibling discounts
- A 20% discount on the second child's tuition is available for families with children enrolled before the 2025–2026 school year. For parents enrolling after the 2025–2026 school year, a 10% discount is available on the tuition fees for the second and any additional siblings.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition schedule: the annual tuition is split into three instalments (Term 1, Term 2, Term 3) and billed accordingly. - Application fee: due on submission of the application. Enrollment fee: payable within one week from confirmation of admission. Maintenance and other annual fees are charged as stated. - Late enrolment: students joining after the start of the school year are charged by academic term; attendance for any portion of a term requires payment for the full term. - Late payment: a 2% fee is added to late tuition payments; accounts in arrears by more than one month may result in suspension of the student until the balance is cleared. - Withdrawal notice: parents must provide not less than one complete term's prior written notice; otherwise one complete term's fees are payable in lieu of notice.
Refund information
- All school fees are non‑refundable. One‑time payments and first‑term tuition are non‑refundable. If travel to Japan is prevented by unavoidable circumstances such as government visa restrictions or entry regulations, tuition payments may be carried forward once.
Fee payment options and contact for payment arrangements
- All fees are to be remitted in Japanese yen (JPY). - The school accepts bank transfers for donations and publishes bank details for remittance; the accounting contact is accounting@sistokyo.jp for payment enquiries and arrangements. Use of bank transfer for payments and invoicing is in practice for the school's financial transactions.
Notes
- Tuition and fees shown above are fixed for the August 2025 to June 2026 school year and are reviewed annually. Any changes for the next school year are announced by the end of May.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
K. International School Tokyo offers a K-12 program built on the International Baccalaureate framework, with the Primary Years Programme (PYP) for K1 to Grade 5, the Middle Years Programme (MYP) for Grades 6 to 10, and the Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11 and 12. In Grades 9–10, the Pearson Edexcel International GCSE pathway is available as an additional qualification option alongside the IB track. Instruction is provided in English and Japanese, with English used across the curriculum. The school holds CIS accreditation and was reaccredited in June 2024, confirming international standards. The learning approach is inquiry-based, emphasizing knowledge, concepts, skills, attitudes, and action across transdisciplinary units.
Curriculum details
The Samezu Campus serves students from Grade 4 through Grade 12, delivering the IB continuum: Primary Years Programme (PYP) in Grades 4–5, Middle Years Programme (MYP) in Grades 6–10, and the Diploma Programme (DP) in Grades 11–12. The Primary Years Programme (PYP) uses a transdisciplinary, inquiry-based approach organized around six themes: Who We Are, Where We Are In Place And Time, How We Express Ourselves, How The World Works, How We Organize Ourselves, and Sharing the Planet, with knowledge, concepts, skills, and dispositions developed through units of inquiry. In the Middle Years Programme (Grades 6–10), language and literature are taught in English and Japanese, language acquisition in Japanese, and the program covers Mathematics, Individuals and Societies, Sciences, PHE, Design, and Arts (Visual Arts and Music), with an emphasis on Approaches to Learning and the Personal Project. The Diploma Programme (Grades 11–12, commencing in 2024–25) offers Group 1 English A and Japanese A; Group 2 Japanese B and ab initio; Group 3 Business Management and Environmental Systems and Societies; Group 4 Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Computer Science, and Environmental Systems and Societies; Group 5 Mathematics (Applications and Interpretation SL or Analysis and Approaches HL) and includes the DP core—Theory of Knowledge (TOK), the Extended Essay (EE), and Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS)—with college counseling support. The school provides English-language instruction with EAL and Japanese language support, and campus groupings are Aoyoko Campus (Preschool–Kindergarten), Seaside Campus (Grade 1–3), and Samezu Campus (Grade 4–12).
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. Read the KIST Admissions Handbook. The handbook outlines admissions policies, application procedures and school fees, and all applicants are expected to read it thoroughly before applying. This is the foundational document for the process and context for every step that follows.
2. Confirm availability, especially if you are applying outside the main intake. For applications outside the main intake periods, contact the KIST Admissions Office by email to confirm whether there is space before submitting an application. When checking availability, provide your child's date of birth, the nationalities of both parents at birth, the child's current grade (if applicable), the grade you wish to apply for, and your child's general English level.
3. Pay the application fee (non-refundable) by bank transfer. Include your child's name in the transfer to ensure proper identification. Bank transfer fees are the sender's responsibility, and the fee may be quoted in yen or converted to yen for international transfers.
4. Prepare supporting documents. Gather documents required for your child's grade level and upload them with the application, plus arrange any documents that must come directly from your child's current school. Examples include birth certificates or passports, school reports, and any grade-specific references or statements.
5. Submit the online application form. Complete the Application for Admission through the online system; information must be entered by a parent or guardian. Ensure you select the correct school year and that you are entering data in English, as the forms are designed for English submission.
6. Application screening. The school screens completed applications and supporting documents to determine eligibility. This screening typically takes about one week, though it can take longer during peak intake periods (April/August main intake).
7. Notification of screening result. Screening results are sent to applicants by email. Unsuccessful applicants cannot proceed to the next stage, and the application fee is non-refundable in that case.
8. Admissions testing and interviews. Applicants who pass the screening will receive an email invitation specifying the date and time for admissions testing; a parent interview follows for those who pass the testing stage. Invitations are issued at least about one week in advance.
9. Notification of final result. After testing and interviews, the admissions panel makes a decision and typically sends the final result by email within about one week after the last testing/interview component, except during the main August/September intake periods.
10. Payment of school fees and securing a place. Successful applicants are required to pay the non-refundable enrollment fee and other applicable school fees by the due date to secure placement in the class. Fees include the enrollment fee, capital fee, tuition, and other charges as outlined in the admissions materials. The exact fee schedule is provided in the Admissions Handbook and associated documentation.
11. Additional details for timing and documents. The main intake is August, with occasional admissions from January or April if space allows. Applications outside main intake are processed on a rolling basis and scheduled for testing on Thursday mornings when possible; you will be added to the next available schedule. The online application and most supporting documents must be submitted in English.
12. Required documents and explicit submission rules. All applications must be submitted in English, with the required documents uploaded through the online system, and some documents sent directly to the Admissions Office as applicable. The process requires proof of identity, photos, and appropriate school references or statements for certain grades.
13. Contact and inquiries. If you have questions about admissions, you can reach the Admissions Office during posted hours (Mon–Fri) and the general inquiries line is posted in the contact details.
Admissions
1. Inquiry: Begin by reaching out with questions about Shinagawa International School (SIS) and its IB-aligned programmes. You can ask about facilities, the IB frameworks (PYP, MYP, DP), and the learning approach to determine fit for your child. The admissions team can provide guidance on requirements and next steps, and there is no obligation to proceed after an inquiry. 2. School Visit (highly recommended but not mandatory): Arrange a visit through the admissions page or the School Visit Reservation form to see classrooms, talk with staff, and observe the campus culture. A visit helps families understand daily routines, student life, and how SIS supports multilingual and international students. This step is not mandatory for applicants, but it is strongly encouraged for a comprehensive understanding of the environment. 3. Application Submission: Complete the application form and submit it along with the required application fee. Prepare any documents requested during the application process for a smooth review. This step is essential to move forward in the admissions process. 4. Interview – Assessment: After submitting the application, applicants undergo an interview and assessment. For students in Grade 1 and above, MAP Tests assess English, reading, and math levels as part of the evaluation. The admissions team will review the results after the interview and assessment. 5. Admission Decision and Acceptance: Admission decisions are communicated within a few weeks of the assessment. Accepted applicants receive an acceptance letter and enrollment instructions, including next steps for fee payments. 6. Enrolment: Parents complete the enrollment form and arrange the necessary school fee payments to finalize enrollment. Enrollment communications and invoices are issued to successful applicants when an acceptance is granted.
Scholarships
Scholarships
KIST publishes a scholarship option for academically gifted students who require 100% tuition coverage and housing arrangements if necessary. This program is noted in external summaries of KIST fees and scholarships, indicating that such a full-tuition scholarship plus housing may be available to qualifying students. Details about eligibility, application timing, and housing arrangements are not fully published in the accessible materials; interested families should inquire with Admissions for the current year's scholarship process and criteria. The school also notes that tuition and related fees are not funded by the Japanese government and that tuition is adjusted annually; the general policy and the existence of a scholarship option are described in the Admissions Handbook and related summaries.
Scholarships
Shinagawa International School does not advertise formal scholarships. There is a tuition sibling discount of 10% for the second and any additional siblings. A third-child discount of 30% is described as applicable to current students.
Waitlist
Waitlist
There is no publicly published waitlist policy for K. International School Tokyo on the official admissions pages that are currently accessible. The standard admissions process described above covers steps from handbook review through final fee payment, and for outside main intakes the school indicates rolling admissions with testing slots scheduled as spaces become available. Because waitlists are not explicitly described in the publicly accessible materials, prospective families should contact the Admissions Office to confirm whether a waitlist or wait pool is used for a given grade and intake period. For reference, outside main intake admissions are described as rolling, with testing offered on Thursday mornings and applicants added to the next available schedule.
Waitlist
There is no published waitlist or pool system described in SIS admissions materials. Applications are accepted year-round with no fixed deadline. Admission decisions follow the interview/assessment process, and decisions are communicated within a few weeks; acceptance letters and enrollment instructions are sent to successful applicants.