Kohana International School - Kawasaki Campus vs Tokyo Bay International School
Kohana International School - Kawasaki Campus and Tokyo Bay International School are both in Tokyo, about 21 km apart. Both schools offer British programmes. Kohana International School - Kawasaki Campus also offers Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary) and Cambridge IGCSE, and Tokyo Bay International School also offers Montessori. Published annual fees are close, at ¥660,000 - 1,210,000 for Kohana International School - Kawasaki Campus and ¥804,000 - 1,084,000 for Tokyo Bay International School. Both take pupils from 3 to 18.
British Curriculum, Cambridge (Primary), Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE
Curriculum
British Curriculum, Montessori Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
—
Pupils
250
Typical class size
Typical class size
—
Typical class size
15
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
—
Opened
2019
Bus service
Bus service
Yes
Bus service
Yes
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Kohana International School operates across two campuses in Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan: Kawasaki campus at Reimei Kawasaki Building, 5-5 Enokicho, Kawasaki-ku, Kawasaki-shi, Kanagawa 210-0002; and Tsurumi campus at 1 Chome-33-6 Higashiterao, Tsurumi Ward, Yokohama, Kanagawa 230-0077. The Kawasaki campus is in an urban/suburban area with access to rail and local bus networks, while the Tsurumi campus sits in Yokohama's Tsurumi Ward within commuting distance to central Tokyo. The two campuses serve different year groups, with preschool to early primary on one campus and older students on the other.
Location
1-18-9 Kameido, Koto-ku, Tokyo 136-0071, Japan. The TBIS campus sits in the Kameido district in eastern Tokyo, a residential area with easy access to central Tokyo via JR lines. The nearest rail stop is Kameido Station, about a five-minute walk from the school. The surrounding area provides urban amenities and good public transport connections to other parts of Tokyo.
Stages
Stages
The school follows a Cambridge-based curriculum: Cambridge Primary and Cambridge Secondary (Key Stage) programs, followed by IGCSE and A-Levels (Sixth Form). The campuses provide education from preschool through Grade 12.
Stages
TBIS serves students from early years through high school, covering roughly ages 3 to 18 (Kindergarten/Pre-K to Grade 12). The school follows a Cambridge International Curriculum pathway, with Cambridge Primary material used for younger learners.
School type
School type
Co-educational international school. The school operates on two campuses; there is no published information indicating boarding facilities.
School type
TBIS is a co-educational day school. Boarding facilities are not indicated for any year group.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
There is no published data on pupil nationality mix. The school states it is open to students of all nationalities and maintains a multicultural faculty.
Pupil nationality mix
Public information does not disclose a breakdown of pupil nationalities.
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Public materials do not publish details of Additional Learning Needs (SEN) provisions. The school emphasizes a multicultural environment and project-based learning as part of its approach.
Additional learning support
Public information does not specify a dedicated SEN program or facilities at TBIS. The school emphasizes its Cambridge curriculum and technology-focused learning.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Affiliated with IPC (USA) and Cambridge International Education (UK); also associated with TAIP (Tokyo Association of International Preschools) in Japan.
Country affiliation
TBIS does not list a formal country affiliation; the curriculum is Cambridge International, a globally used framework.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is stated in public materials.
Religious affiliation
TBIS has no explicit religious affiliation publicly documented.
School day structure
School day structure
Public materials do not list daily start and end times.
School day structure
The school day generally runs from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., with breaks and lunch incorporated into the schedule.
Bus service details
Bus service details
An optional bus service is offered with multiple stops in the Tokyo–Yokohama area. Stops include Meguro, Kikuna Station, Musashi Nakahara, and other routes; monthly bus fees apply.
Bus service details
Yes, a school bus service is available. Public-facing materials note that buses are available, with details on routes not publicly published.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Admission & One‑time Fees
- Admission fee (one‑time): JPY 55,000 for Grade 1 to Grade 8; JPY 55,000 for Grade 9 to Grade 12. Prep 1 to Prep 2: N.A. (not applicable).
Tuition Fees (monthly; per term and per academic year shown below are calculated from the published monthly amounts)
- Published tuition (monthly): - Nursery to UK: JPY 60,000 per month. - Grade 1 to 5: JPY 65,000 per month. - Grade 6 to 8: JPY 75,000 per month. - Grade 9 & 10: JPY 85,000 per month. - Grade 11 & 12: JPY 110,000 per month.
- Per term and per academic year (calculations based on the published monthly rate): - Per term (example calculation using 4 months per term): - Nursery to UK: JPY 60,000 × 4 = JPY 240,000 per term (example). - Grade 1–5: JPY 65,000 × 4 = JPY 260,000 per term (example). - Grade 6–8: JPY 75,000 × 4 = JPY 300,000 per term (example). - Grade 9–10: JPY 85,000 × 4 = JPY 340,000 per term (example). - Grade 11–12: JPY 110,000 × 4 = JPY 440,000 per term (example). - Per academic year (monthly × 12): - Nursery to UK: JPY 60,000 × 12 = JPY 720,000 per year. - Grade 1–5: JPY 65,000 × 12 = JPY 780,000 per year. - Grade 6–8: JPY 75,000 × 12 = JPY 900,000 per year. - Grade 9–10: JPY 85,000 × 12 = JPY 1,020,000 per year. - Grade 11–12: JPY 110,000 × 12 = JPY 1,320,000 per year.
Other Mandatory and Recurring Fees
- Building Fund: either JPY 100,000 yearly or JPY 10,000 monthly.
- Software Fee: either JPY 20,000 yearly or JPY 2,000 monthly.
- After School Program (students outside Kohana, 1 day/week/month): JPY 5,500.
- Field trips, internships, industrial visits, and other educational tour expenses: charged on actual cost. Competitive or external examination fees (MAP, SAT, Olympiads, IGCSE, AS/A‑Level fees, etc.) are payable by parents at actual cost. Books and other teaching materials are charged at actual cost.
Uniforms, Materials and Stationery
- Uniforms: price charged on actuals. Stationery: one‑time amounts are listed above and charged at enrolment. Books and teaching materials will be charged based on actual costs.
Refunds, Discounts and Late Payments
- Refunds: Fees, once paid, are non‑refundable under any circumstances.
- Sibling discount: a 15% discount on tuition fee is applicable for siblings.
- Late payment penalty: a late payment fee of JPY 100 per day will be charged if tuition fees are paid after the deadline. Default in payment may result in appropriate action by school management.
Billing Schedule and Payment Terms
- The tuition and recurring fees are published as monthly amounts. Building and software fees are shown as yearly or monthly. Fees must be paid via bank transfer; parents are required to bear remittance charges. A late payment charge of JPY 100 per day applies after the payment deadline.
Boarding
- No boarding fees are listed and boarding is not indicated as an offered service for the Kawasaki and Tsurumi campuses. Day‑school operations and campus addresses are published for Kawasaki and Tsurumi.
Fee details
Application & one-time (first-year) fees - Application fee (one-time): JPY 20,000. - Enrolment/registration fee (one-time): JPY 60,000. - Building / Development (one-off or first-year) contribution: JPY 84,000. - Total additional one-off/first-year charges (example for a K1 entry): JPY 164,000 (sum of the three items above).
Published tuition fees by year group (annual) and example per-term split - Kindergarten (K1–K3): Annual tuition JPY 804,000. If divided into three equal term payments, each term would be JPY 268,000 (804,000 ÷ 3). - Primary (Grades 1–5): Annual tuition JPY 864,000. If divided into three equal term payments, each term would be JPY 288,000 (864,000 ÷ 3). - Lower Secondary / Middle (Grades 6–8): Annual tuition JPY 894,000. If divided into three equal term payments, each term would be JPY 298,000 (894,000 ÷ 3). - Secondary (Grades 9–10): Annual tuition JPY 948,000. If divided into three equal term payments, each term would be JPY 316,000 (948,000 ÷ 3). - Upper Secondary (Grades 11–12): Annual tuition JPY 1,084,000. If divided into three equal term payments, each term would be approximately JPY 361,333 (1,084,000 ÷ 3).
Note: the figures above are the school's published annual tuition amounts by grade group; per-term amounts shown are the arithmetic one-third of the annual tuition for convenience where a three-term payment plan is used. The published sources list annual fees by grade group.
Billing schedule and payment terms - The publicly available fee listings for the current academic year present tuition as annual amounts by grade. No detailed public billing calendar with exact term due-dates or mandatory installment deadlines was found in the material reviewed. The per-term numbers above are shown as an illustrative equal split for three-term payment arrangements (where families choose instalments).
Boarding / accommodation fees - There is no published boarding provision or boarding fees for Tokyo Bay International School; the school is presented as a day school (ages 3–18) in the available listings. No boarding fees were located.
Other costs and typical additional charges - Uniform: a uniform requirement is indicated for the school; a specific published uniform price was not located. Parents should expect a separate cost for required uniform items. - School-provided lunches: school-provided lunches are listed as available; the per-term or per-year lunch charges are not published in the sources reviewed. - Transport / bus service: one public listing indicates that a bus service is available; explicit per-student transport fees were not published in the reviewed sources. - Other possible charges commonly not included in published tuition: textbooks, specialised exam fees, individual instrument lessons, residential trip costs, extracurricular activity fees and IT device purchases may apply; no comprehensive itemised list of these additional costs with prices was published in the sources reviewed.
Sibling discounts - A sibling discount structure is published in third‑party listings: 20% off the second child's tuition and 30% off the third child's tuition (applies to tuition only as published by the source).
Refund information - No formal, detailed public refund policy specific to Tokyo Bay International School was located in the sources reviewed. Parent reports and third‑party listings include accounts that certain fees (for example registration/enrolment fees) are treated as non‑refundable and that maintenance or other fees may be partially refundable in some circumstances; these appear in user reviews rather than in a published school refund policy. A lack of a clear published refund schedule was found during the review.
Fee payment options - The reviewed public listings for the current academic year did not publish a definitive set of accepted payment methods (for example specific mention of bank transfer, credit card, or international payment providers was not found). No explicit, published payment-method table was located in the material reviewed.
Summary (key figures) - One-time/first-year additional charges (example for entry year): JPY 164,000 (Application JPY 20,000 + Enrolment JPY 60,000 + Building/Development JPY 84,000). - Annual tuition by group: K: JPY 804,000; Grades 1–5: JPY 864,000; Grades 6–8: JPY 894,000; Grades 9–10: JPY 948,000; Grades 11–12: JPY 1,084,000. - Per-term examples (equal three-way split): K: JPY 268,000 / term; Grades 1–5: JPY 288,000 / term; Grades 6–8: JPY 298,000 / term; Grades 9–10: JPY 316,000 / term; Grades 11–12: approx. JPY 361,333 / term. (These per-term numbers are the arithmetic division of the annual tuition into three equal instalments for convenience; an official term schedule and official instalment amounts/due dates were not located in the public listings.)
(Information above is based on the school fee figures and public listings for the current academic year as published in the sources cited.)
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The Kohana International School offers a Cambridge-based curriculum with Cambridge Primary and Secondary Key Stage, IGCSE and A-Levels (Sixth Form), integrated with the International Preschool Curriculum (IPC) and affiliated with IPC (USA), Cambridge International Education (CIE) and TAIP.
Curriculum details
Tokyo Bay International School teaches in English and uses a two-track curriculum that combines Montessori methods for the early years with the Cambridge International Curriculum for older students. The school serves ages 3–18 and is organized into Preschool, Kindergarten, Elementary, Middle School, and High School. Preschool and Kindergarten follow Montessori approaches, while Elementary through High School align with the Cambridge International framework. The Cambridge pathway culminates in Cambridge IGCSE examinations and Cambridge A-Levels for the upper years. Independent profiles describe TBIS as combining Montessori for early years with the Cambridge International Curriculum.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. Registration and initial inquiry. Parents should initiate contact to register their child and to understand the documents that will be requested later in the process. The school provides explicit age criteria to guide placement, with age as of 1 April used to determine suitable grades (e.g., Nursery 2 years 6 months; JR.KG 3 years 6 months; SR.KG 4 years 6 months; Grade 1 5 years 6 months). This step sets the foundation for eligibility and next steps in the admissions timeline.
2. Submission of the application and required documents. After registration, you will receive a call to submit the application form along with the documents listed by the admissions team. Key documents include photocopies of academic records from lower kindergarten and above, four recent passport photos, photocopies of health insurance card and passport/birth certificate, vaccination chart, residence card, and the Family Information Form and Health Research Form. A complete health checkup record must be completed within two weeks of joining. A note states that the admission fee paid is non-refundable.
3. Admission assessment and personal interview. The applicant undergoes an admission assessment and a personal interview as part of the evaluation process. These steps help determine suitability for the program and placement. The admissions team will communicate outcomes and next steps to the family after the assessment and interview.
4. Offer, acceptance, and fee payment. If admission is offered and accepted, the admission fee must be paid to complete the admission process. For Grades 1–12, the one-time Admission Fee is 55,000 yen. The fee is payable by bank transfer, and remittance charges are borne by the parents. The Tuition and other fees are described separately, and the policy notes that fees paid are non-refundable once submitted.
5. Orientation and parent briefings. A date for an orientation of parents will be conveyed by mail as part of the onboarding process. This step provides an opportunity for parents to become familiar with school routines and expectations before the child starts. The age criteria and approved placement will guide the orientation focus.
6. Withdrawal policy and final administrative steps. If you withdraw, the withdrawal should be requested at least two months before the intended date of departure. If the withdrawal request is late, the next two months' tuition may be payable, and a transfer certificate will not be issued until the necessary payments are settled. This policy appears in the age/withdrawal guidance published on the admissions page.
Admissions
Step 0 — Fees (context for admission): First-year fees comprise a combination of one-time charges and annual costs. The application fee is 20,000 JPY, the enrolment fee is 60,000 JPY, and a Building Fund of 84,000 JPY is charged in the first year. The total of these first-year charges is 884,000 JPY. Ongoing annual fees vary by grade, typically ranging from 804,000 JPY to 1,084,000 JPY depending on the level, with a 20% discount for the second child and a 30% discount for the third child when applicable. Prices are illustrative for the 2025–2026 cycle and subject to change.
Step 1 — Submit Online Application: The admissions process begins with submitting the online application. A non-refundable processing fee is charged for each application and the fee is valid for one academic year. This step starts the review process and indicates the family's intent to pursue admission. Follow-up steps will be communicated after the fee is received.
Step 2 — Submit Supporting Documents: After submitting the online application, families are asked to provide the required supporting documents as instructed by the Admissions Team. The documents are requested to support the application and confirm eligibility and fit for the school's cohort. Timelines for document submission are provided by the Admissions Team and alignment with the review schedule is important.
Step 3 — Admissions Team Review: Fully completed applications are reviewed by the Admissions Team to assess suitability, space availability, and alignment with the current cohort's language and learning makeup. The review determines whether an offer can be extended and may consider individual circumstances. Decisions at this stage reflect both academic considerations and the school's capacity.
Step 4 — Admissions Decision: The school issues an admissions decision to the family once the review is complete. The decision is communicated to the family and may be contingent on space availability and other factors identified during the review. If admission is offered, next steps for enrollment and fee payment are provided.
Step 5 — Enrollment, Orientation and Start Date: If admitted, families proceed with enrollment and payment of applicable fees. The school holds an Admission Ceremony in the first week of April for new entrants, and there is historically a strong pattern of admissions occurring in April; mid-year entries may be possible if vacancies exist. Final start dates and orientation details are provided as part of the admissions decision communications.
Scholarships
Scholarships
Scholarships: Kohana International School does not publish any scholarship program on its admissions or fee pages. The available information covers admission steps, required fees, and payment policies, but there is no mention of scholarships or financial aid programs on the school's site. Families seeking financial assistance options should contact the admissions office for current offerings, if any.
Scholarships
—
Waitlist
Waitlist
Waitlist/Pool: There is no published waitlist or pool policy on Kohana International School's admissions pages. The admissions procedure describes enrollment steps but does not include any waitlist or pooling mechanism. Parents should plan for an admissions sequence based on registration, assessment, and payment rather than a waitlist process.
Waitlist
Waitlist / Pool: Tokyo Bay International School operates a waitlist (wait pool) system. A waiting list exists as a channel to fill seats when vacancies arise. For the new academic year, a March 5 deadline is noted for registration, and students can join the waitlist after a fully completed application is in place; waitlisted offers are typically valid for one academic year. If a vacancy opens, those on the waitlist may be offered admission.