Light International School and The Nairobi Academy are both in Nairobi, about 1 km apart. Both schools offer Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge A Levels programmes. Light International School also offers Cambridge International AS Levels, IPC and IEYC, and The Nairobi Academy also offers British, Cambridge (Secondary), BTEC Qualification and IB. Published annual fees are KES 752,000 - 2,623,000 at Light International School and KES 428,500 - 1,494,500 at The Nairobi Academy, which puts Light International School roughly 76% higher. Light International School takes pupils from 3 to 18, and The Nairobi Academy from 2 to 18. Typical class sizes are 20 at Light International School and 15 at The Nairobi Academy.
Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels, IPC (International Primary Curriculum), IEYC (International Early Years Curriculum)
Curriculum
British Curriculum, Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, BTEC Qualification, IB (DP)
Pupils
Pupils
572
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
20
Typical class size
15
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
—
Opened
1976
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Light International School Nairobi is located in Karen, Nairobi, Kenya. The postal address is P.O. Box 1799-00502 Karen, Nairobi, Kenya. The school can be reached by telephone at +254 703 200 002 or +254 717 998 888 and by email at info@lis.sc.ke. The Karen campus serves students from diverse geographical and cultural backgrounds.
Location
Langata Road, Next to Mamba Village, Nairobi. P.O. Box 24817-00502 Karen, Nairobi Kenya. The Nairobi Academy Kindergarten (Kenwood Nairobi Academy) is on General Mathenge Drive, Westlands.
Stages
Stages
Kindergarten (Aged 3-5) through A-level (Year 13) as part of the Cambridge International Curriculum.
Stages
Early Years (Kenwood Nairobi Academy Kindergarten; Nairobi Academy Pre-preparatory School), Preparatory, Secondary.
School type
School type
The school is a co-educational day and boarding school.
School type
Private day and boarding school.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
15 nationalities represented
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
Pastoral care and wellbeing, including guidance and counselling, PSHE, Careers Education and Guidance, co-curricular engagements, talent and competencies development, leadership and student voice. Safeguarding is a core commitment.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
—
Country affiliation
Kenya
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
We have a fleet of buses and vans to transport students from home to school and back. Transport is not compulsory. Routes include Karen – Hardy; Rongai; Ngong; South B – NHC – Bomas; Dam – Phenom – Game Park; South B – Mombasa Road; Adams – Kilimani – Ngumo – Madaraka; SSD – Lavington; Lang'ata; Kileleshwa; UNEP – Highridge – Ngara; Rongai – Twala; South C.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Scope and academic year The fees below apply to the 2025/2026 academic year and cover one-time registration amounts, termly tuition and ancillary term charges, boarding charges where applicable, payment terms, and common additional costs.
Application / one‑time registration fees - Interview / assessment fee (Primary, Secondary, AS & A‑Level): KES 5,000 (one‑time). - Interview / assessment fee (Kindergarten): KES 2,000 (one‑time). - Admission fee: KES 30,000 (one‑time). - Caution / security deposit: KES 50,000 (refundable subject to school conditions). - Boarding caution deposit (where applicable): KES 30,000 (one‑time).
Tuition and term charges (per term) — day students and per‑term ancillary items - Kindergarten (KG 1–3): Tuition KES 188,000 per term; Lunch KES 35,000 per term; Stationery KES 5,000 per term; Club fee KES 11,000 per term; Online subscriptions KES 5,000 per term. Annual tuition (three terms) = KES 564,000 (tuition only). - Years 1–2: Tuition KES 244,000 per term; Lunch (Years 1–6) KES 47,000 per term; Stationery KES 5,000 per term (Term I & II 5,000; Term III sometimes shown as KES 4,000); Club fee KES 11,000 per term; Online subscriptions KES 5,000 per term. - Years 3–4: Tuition KES 297,000 per term; ancillary charges same structure as Years 1–2 (Lunch, stationery, clubs, subscriptions). - Years 5–6: Tuition KES 385,000 per term; Lunch KES 47,000 per term; Stationery and other term charges as above. - Years 7–8: Tuition KES 417,000 per term; Lunch KES 59,000 per term (Years 7–10); Stationery KES 6,000 per term; Club fee KES 11,000 per term; Online subscriptions KES 5,000 per term. - Years 9–10: Tuition KES 442,000 per term; Boarding (where applicable) KES 338,000 per term; Lunch KES 59,000 per term; Stationery KES 6,000 per term; Club fee and subscriptions as above. - Year 11 (IGCSE first year/candidate year): Tuition KES 663,000 per term (fees for Year 11 are charged over two terms only — Term 1 and Term 2); Stationery KES 9,000 per term; Lunch and club charges applicable (see Year 11 items). Annual tuition (two‑term basis) = KES 1,326,000. - Years 12–13 (AS & A Level): Tuition KES 758,000 per term (charged over two terms only — Term 1 and Term 2); Boarding for Years 11–13 KES 445,000 per term (two‑term billing where applicable); Stationery and other term charges specified for senior years. Annual tuition (two‑term basis) = KES 1,516,000.
Annual totals (examples / consolidated view) - Typical annual totals (tuition + routine term charges) are published by year group; examples include KES 585,500 for Nursery/Kindergarten levels and higher totals for primary and secondary year groups as shown in the school's published fee breakdown. Use the per‑term numbers above to compute the exact annual amount for each year group (three‑term or two‑term billing as applicable).
Boarding fees and rules - Boarding charges by year group (per term): Years 9–10 boarding KES 338,000 per term; Years 11–13 boarding KES 445,000 per term (Years 11–13 billed over two terms only where applicable). Boarding caution deposit: KES 30,000 (one‑time). No reimbursement, refund, or credit note is made if a student drops boarding unless otherwise determined by the school's formal drop/notice procedure.
Other one‑time and recurring costs - Textbook / curriculum materials (annual, by year): KG KES 20,000; Years 1–6 KES 35,000; Years 7–10 & 12 KES 40,000; some candidate year groups (IGCSE / A‑level) have examination‑linked or subject fees additionally. - Graduation fees for certain year groups: KG3 KES 7,000; Year 6 KES 8,500; some senior graduation/certification charges (example: Year 11/13 graduation items) shown separately. - Exam and exam‑related fees (Cambridge IGCSE / AS / A‑Level / BTEC): Candidate exam fees and subject entry fees are charged in addition to tuition; Cambridge examination fees for candidate classes must be paid by the stated school deadline (for example, by 30 January for candidate year groups). Practical/art facilitation and subject‑based exam fees are charged where applicable. - Routine charges that appear termly: student ID KES 1,000 (annual), emergency health services KES 2,000 (annual), yearbook KES 3,000 (annual), career testing/counselling and other optional services where applicable. - School and PE uniform are not included in the fees; uniform costs are billed separately. Lunch is compulsory for day students.
Billing schedule, payment terms and penalties - Term billing: For KG–Year 10 and most year groups, termly fees are chargeable and payable over three terms (Term 1, Term 2, Term 3). For Years 11–13 (senior candidate years) fee types are chargeable and payable over two terms (Term 1 and Term 2) as specified. All fee types must be paid in full at least fifteen working days before the start of each term. - Late payment penalty: A surcharge of 5% is levied per month on any outstanding fee balance. - Notice and withdrawal: A full term's written notice to, and acknowledgement by, the Principal is required for withdrawal; otherwise a full term's fees is payable in lieu of notice. In specific year groups with limited vacancies, a non‑refundable advance/commitment payment (50% of tuition) may be required as part of first term fees.
Refunds and refundable items - The standard caution deposit (KES 50,000) is refundable subject to the school's refund conditions and account settlement. Certain advance/commitment payments and some other deposits are explicitly non‑refundable in case a placement is forfeited. No reimbursement or credit note is made if a student drops boarding unless the formal drop process and any school conditions provide otherwise. A cleared fees balance is required for exam registration and issuance of official documents.
Fee payment methods and instructions - Accepted methods: Bank transfer and bank cash deposit to the school's Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) account using the student's Virtual Bank Account number as the payment reference; parents/guardians are asked to forward payment confirmation to the school's specified WhatsApp numbers or email address for reconciliation. Cheques and direct cash payments to the school are not accepted. International/telegraphic transfers may require the KCB SWIFT code and correct account reference. Use the student's virtual account number on the payment reference to ensure correct posting.
Discounts and special billing rules - Sibling discount (applies to tuition only for registered Light Group siblings): 2nd child 5% tuition discount; 3rd child 10%; 4th and subsequent siblings 15% (first born not entitled to discount). When a sibling graduates or transfers the discount allocation is recalculated. In certain year groups a 50% non‑refundable advance may be requested to secure a place.
Notes for calculation and use - Use the per‑term figures above together with the billing rules (three‑term or two‑term billing) to compute annual totals for each year group. Boarding, examination, subject‑specific, and one‑time registration charges are additional to term tuition and must be added when estimating total annual cost for admission and enrollment.
Fee details
Application & Registration Fees - Registration fee (one-off, non‑refundable): KES 15,000. - Testing/assessment fee (applicants): KES 5,000.
Pre‑Preparatory (PP1 – PP4 / Reception / Year 1) — Tuition (termly) - PP1 (age 2–3) Playgroup: KES 115,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP1. - PP2 (age 3–4) Nursery: KES 145,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP2. - PP3 (age 4–5) Reception: KES 160,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive. - PP4 / Year 1 (age 5–6): KES 195,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive.
Miscellaneous charges for Pre‑Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Afternoon school: KES 12,000. - Lunch (where charged): KES 16,000 (pre‑prep). Occasional lunches per meal: KES 500. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Preparatory School (Year 2 – Year 7) — Tuition (termly) - Year 2 (age 6–7): KES 225,000 (termly). - Year 3 (age 7–8): KES 270,000 (termly). - Year 4 (age 8–9): KES 285,000 (termly). - Year 5 (age 9–10): KES 340,000 (termly). - Year 6 (age 10–11): KES 350,000 (termly). - Year 7 (age 11–12): KES 370,000 (termly).
Miscellaneous charges for Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Lunch (compulsory for Years 2–7): KES 38,500 (per term). - Internet charges (compulsory Years 2–7): KES 4,500 (per term). - Bus transport: charged according to the school's zonal plan (amount varies by zone). - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 40,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Secondary School (Year 8 – Year 13, plus BTEC/IB) - Year 8 (age 12–13): KES 375,000 (termly). - Year 9 (age 13–14): KES 392,000 (termly). - Year 10 (age 14–15): KES 410,000 (termly). - Year 11 (age 15–16): KES 1,230,000 (per annum). - Year 12 (age 16–17): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - Year 13 (age 17–18): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - BTEC programme (per annum): KES 1,085,400. - IB Diploma programme (per annum): KES 1,354,500.
Secondary miscellaneous and extras: - Internet charges (compulsory Years 8–13): KES 6,000 (per academic year or as charged). - Lunch (compulsory for Years 8–13): KES 42,500 (per term). - Student lockers: KES 1,000 (per term). - Annual assessment fee for BTEC students: KES 87,000. - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 50,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000. - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000.
Boarding fees and boarder charges - Full boarding fee (termly): KES 203,500. - Medical cover for full boarders (per annum): KES 52,000. - Weekly boarding (Monday–Friday): KES 25,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Weekend boarding (two days): KES 10,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for boarders/local students: KES 27,000. - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for foreign students: KES 100,000. - Entertainment imprest for boarders (accountable): KES 6,500.
Discounts and inclusions - Tuition fees are stated as inclusive of books and stationery where specified. - Family discount on tuition fees only: 5% on the second child; 15% on the third and subsequent siblings.
Refunds & non‑refundable items - Registration fee: one‑off, non‑refundable. - Testing fee: charged on application (KES 5,000). The document lists this fee without refund. - Caution fees / caution money: shown as refundable on leaving (amounts vary by section and by local/foreign status as above).
Billing schedule & payment terms (as stated in the fee schedule) - Many tuition figures are presented on a termly basis; certain senior years and programme fees (Years 11–13, BTEC, IB) are shown as per annum. Early‑payment discounts may be applied and are determined on a termly basis. Transport is charged according to the school's zonal plan. Family discounts apply to tuition only.
Other costs commonly noted - Bus transport: charged according to four zones (amount varies by route/zone). - Lockers, magazines, occasional lunches and afternoon school charges as itemized above. - Uniform costs are not itemized in the published fee schedule.
Fee payment options - The published 2025/26 fee schedule lists fees, termly/per‑annum presentation and a statement that early‑payment discounts and family discounts apply, but it does not specify detailed payment methods (credit card, bank transfer, M‑Pesa, paybill, etc.) or explicit billing dates in the fee document itself. Contact the school's admissions or finance office for the accepted payment channels and exact due dates.
Summary of coverage in this fee schedule: the document provides complete termly tuition figures for Pre‑Preparatory and Preparatory years, termly amounts for Years 8–10 and per‑annum figures for Years 11–13 and for the BTEC/IB programmes, plus boarding tariffs, listed miscellaneous charges, family discount rules, and which items are refundable or non‑refundable. Specific payment channels and a full billing calendar are not specified in the published fee schedule.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The Cambridge International Curriculum is used at Light International School Nairobi. The curriculum is based on Cambridge Assessment International Education programs, starting with Cambridge Primary and moving through to IGCSE and Cambridge AS & A Levels. The school is accredited as a Cambridge International School for Primary, Key Stage 3, IGCSE and A Level Programs. Light International School provides a full Cambridge curriculum for ages 3 to 18. The program emphasizes cross-curricular learning and the use of technology to enhance learning, and prepares students for admission to universities worldwide.
Curriculum details
Curriculum at a glance: Nairobi Academy offers a multi-path secondary curriculum. KS3 IGCSE (ages 12-13) forms the basis of learning, with Year 9 students choosing IGCSE options. KS4 IGCSE (ages 14-16) provides a broad range of subjects with five compulsory subjects: English, Mathematics, two or three Sciences, and History or Geography, plus four or five other subjects including a modern language and a humanities subject. A Level (ages 16-18) comprises the GCE A Level programme and Pearson BTEC, with three A Level subjects chosen from seven options, and enrichment including guidance on university applications. The Nairobi Academy is authorized for the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (DP) and is pursuing authorization for the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP) and Career-related Programme (CP). Extra-curricular activities include a variety of clubs and societies to complement academic learning.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
1:67.
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
SAT results (2018-2019): Participation 19%; Average Score 1310.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
College and University Acceptances in the past five years include University of Oxford, University of Cambridge, University College London, Simon Fraser University, University of Manitoba, University of Houston, Strathmore University, South China University, University of Texas, Queensland University of Business, Coventry University, Nairobi University, Deakin College, Trent University, Mount Kenya University, and Loughborough University.
Higher education progression
Higher Education and Careers: The Careers Counselling Department uses a framework that focuses students on recognizing and creating opportunities to make informed career choices by defining their career goals in an annual Career Action Plan. The Careers' Action Plan is based on the Key Stages, with the Careers' Head working closely with Year Group Coordinators and Form Tutors to provide support. Key Stage 3 (Year 8 and 9) introduces career activities and resources to help students choose IGCSE options in Year 9. Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and 11) centers on refining the career action plan with experiences such as Work Experience. Key Stage 5 (Year 12 and 13) offers exposure to Career and University Fairs, training on Personal Statements, Personal Branding, and other competencies to prepare for tertiary education and the world of work.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. The school currently accepts admissions for KG1 through Year 13, with some slots limited. The curriculum is based on the British education system (IGCSE). Admission requirements should be reviewed before applying. 2. Prepare the required documents. The list includes: copy of birth certificate; two passport-sized photographs; copies of both parents' IDs; copies of both parents' KRA PIN; transfer letter from former school (if transfer) or latest report form; copy of student's passport; copy of a parent/sponsor's passport (if not Kenyan); fully signed last page of the Parents/Students Handbook; signed Drugs Policy; signed Digital Access to Success (DAS) Program Policy; duly filled subject selection form (Year 10 and 12); copy of a valid health insurance card (if applicable); copy of a pupil's pass (for foreign students); and copies of payment slips showing total amounts paid for registration, annual school fees, and term fees. Non-Kenyan citizens must apply for a pupil's pass after completion of registration. 3. Fill the application form. An application form is available via a Google Form linked for LIS Nairobi admissions. The page notes to view admission requirements before filling the form. 4. Fee terms and conditions. All fee types must be paid fully fifteen working days before the beginning of each term. School fees are payable in Kenya Shillings only. For Kindergarten to Year 10, fees are charged per term (Three Terms); for Years 11 to 13, fees are charged per term (Two Terms). Cambridge examination fees for candidate classes (Year 11, 12 & 13) must be paid by 30 January of the respective year, and Cambridge exam registrations cannot be done until the balance is cleared. The school reserves the right of admission. In Year Groups where vacancies are limited, a 50% advance payment of the tuition fee may be required as part of the First Term's fees, and this advance is nonrefundable if the place is forfeited. Sibling discounts apply: 2nd born child 5%; 3rd born child 10%; 4th born child and any other siblings 15% (the 1st born child is not entitled to a discount). When a sibling graduates or transfers, the discounts are recalculated. A full term's notice in writing and the Principal's acknowledgement in writing is required for withdrawals; otherwise a full term's fees are payable. Payment methods include bank transfer or bank deposit to the LIS bank account; cheques and cash payments are not accepted. 5. Age requirements. The school strictly follows the age groups: Nursery 3; Kindergarten 1 4; Kindergarten 2 5; Year 1 6; Year 2 7; Year 3 8; Year 4 9; Year 5 10; Year 6 11; Year 7 12; Year 8 13; Year 9 14; Year 10 15; Year 11 16; Year 12 17; Year 13 18. 6. Waiting list. If vacancies are not available immediately, students are put on a waiting list.
Admissions
1. All admissions to the School are processed through a senior member of staff. When seeking admission, prospective students are requested to provide: 1. Two copies of the birth certificate. 2. Two copies of the passport, 3. Two copies of passport photos, 4. Two subsequent previous school reports / academic transcripts, 5. School Leaving Certificate. Prospective students will also be interviewed and asked to sit an entrance placement examination.
2. Enrolment Process: A student who is interested in joining Nairobi Academy should fill the application form and make an appointment with the school for a formal interview. Prospective students not resident in Kenya should contact the school via telephone or email for further advice.
3. After passing the interview, the student will be offered an application form.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
Our school offers a few Scholarship awards at the start of each Key Stage for well deserving and highly achieving students both within and outside the school community. These Scholarships are given based on the child's academic as well as co-curricular achievement and potential.
Waitlist
Waitlist
Waiting list is used when vacancies are not immediately available.