Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus vs Yoyogi International School - Jinnan Campus
Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus and Yoyogi International School - Jinnan Campus are both in Tokyo, about 8 km apart. Both schools offer IB programmes, and Yoyogi International School - Jinnan Campus also offers American and British. Published annual fees are close, at ¥2,575,000 - 2,900,000 for Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus and ¥2,568,000 - 2,685,000 for Yoyogi International School - Jinnan Campus. Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus takes pupils from 3 to 18, and Yoyogi International School - Jinnan Campus from 7 to 14. Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus is the larger school, with around 450 pupils to Yoyogi International School - Jinnan Campus's 120. Typical class sizes are 20 at Shinagawa International School - Samezu Campus and 15 at Yoyogi International School - Jinnan Campus.
IB (PYP), IB (MYP), IB (DP), American Curriculum, British Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
450
Pupils
120
Typical class size
Typical class size
20
Typical class size
15
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
2007
Opened
1999
Bus service
Bus service
Yes
Bus service
Yes
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Shinagawa International School has three campuses in Shinagawa Ward, Tokyo: Aoyoko Campus (Preschool–Kindergarten), Seaside Campus (Primary), and Samezu Campus (Secondary). The Aoyoko Campus is in Minamishinagawa; Seaside sits near Shinagawa Seaside Station, and Samezu is also located in Minamishinagawa. The campuses are accessible by multiple rail lines: Aoyoko is about 5 minutes from Aomono-Yokocho, 7 minutes from Oimachi, and 15 minutes from Shinagawa Seaside; Seaside is about 5 minutes from Shinagawa Seaside and Aomono-Yokocho, and 15 minutes from Oimachi; Samezu is about 7 minutes from Shinagawa Seaside, 3 minutes from Aomono-Yokocho, and 15 minutes from Oimachi.
Location
Yoyogi International School operates two campuses in Shibuya, Tokyo. The Yoyogi Campus (Kindergarten–Grade 1) is near the West Gate of Yoyogi Park and is within a short walk from Yoyogi-koen Station (Chiyoda Line) and Yoyogi-Hachiman Station (Odakyu Line). The Jinnan Campus (Grade 2–8) is located about 700 meters south of Yoyogi Park, in the Shibuya area, and about a 10-minute walk from Shibuya Station and Yoyogi-koen Station. The campuses are centrally located, with access to nearby parks, cultural venues, and city amenities.
Stages
Stages
The school offers an IB continuum: Early Learning Center (ELC) for ages 3–5 at the Aoyoko Campus; Primary Years Programme across Seaside (Grade 1–3) and Samezu (Grade 4–5); Middle Years Programme (MYP) for Grades 6–10; and Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11–12.
Stages
The Yoyogi Campus houses Kindergarten through Grade 1, while the Jinnan Campus serves Grades 2–8. This structure supports a progression from early years to middle elementary on separate sites.
School type
School type
Co-educational day school with no boarding facilities.
School type
The school operates as a co-educational day school. There is no indication of boarding facilities.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
Students come from more than 40 countries. The most common nationalities are not publicly disclosed, and a detailed local-to-international ratio is not published.
Pupil nationality mix
Families come from more than 30 countries, and about 70% of the student body are foreign nationals. Nationalities are capped at a maximum of one third of a class to maintain diversity.
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Learning support includes English as an Additional Language (EAL) and other supports. EAL is delivered in small groups with push‑in and pull‑out sessions, with English proficiency assessed using WIDA standards. For formally assessed students, an Individual Educational Plan (IEP) may be created; for others, a Student Success Plan is used to support inclusion in mainstream classes.
Additional learning support
English as an Additional Language (EAL) support is offered, with an EAL fee published in tuition information. The admissions process also provides for learning support considerations and behavioural concerns disclosures. Class sizes are small, with a maximum of 16 students per class in Kindergarten.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
No formal country affiliation is listed.
Country affiliation
No formal country affiliation is stated; the school is located in Japan. The host country is Japan.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is listed.
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is indicated; the school follows an international IB framework and secular program components.
School day structure
School day structure
Preschool–Kindergarten: instructional hours from 8:30 am to 2:30 pm; Grades 1–12: 8:30 am to 3:00 pm.
School day structure
Kindergarten classes run from 8:30 to 15:30. After-school activities run from 15:45 to 16:45. Details about daily schedules for other grades are not publicly published, but after-school programs are available at both campuses.
Bus service details
Bus service details
A safe school bus service operates, primarily for preschool and primary students with limited availability for secondary students. Buses have seat belts, GPS tracking, and attendants. There are eight routes (School Bus 1–8) serving various areas; routes and times may adjust based on demand. Parents can register by contacting the school.
Bus service details
A morning and afternoon bus service is offered with fees separate from tuition. Three dedicated buses operate routes serving areas such as Roppongi, Aoyama, Shirokane, Shinjuku, Ichigaya, and Meguro; routes for 2025–2026 are published by the school. For specific route details, contact admissions.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application and Admission Fees
- Application fee: JPY 40,000 (one‑time, non‑refundable; payable on submission of each student's application). - Enrollment fee (registration): JPY 1,000,000 (one‑time, non‑refundable; payable within one week of confirmation of admission).
Tuition — amounts and term schedule (three installments per school year)
Tuition is charged per academic year and payable in three installments (Term 1, Term 2, Term 3). The following shows each term amount and the annual total for the 2025–2026 school year:
- Preschool – Kindergarten: Term 1 JPY 875,000; Term 2 JPY 675,000; Term 3 JPY 675,000. Annual total JPY 2,225,000. - Grades 1–5: Term 1 JPY 850,000; Term 2 JPY 750,000; Term 3 JPY 750,000. Annual total JPY 2,350,000. - Secondary (Grades 6–10): Term 1 JPY 950,000; Term 2 JPY 750,000; Term 3 JPY 750,000. Annual total JPY 2,450,000. - Secondary (Grades 11–12): Term 1 JPY 950,000; Term 2 JPY 800,000; Term 3 JPY 800,000. Annual total JPY 2,550,000.
Additional recurring educational fees shown per term (where applicable):
- EAL fee (if required): Term 1 JPY 200,000; Term 2 JPY 150,000; Term 3 JPY 150,000. Annual total JPY 500,000. - Daycare service (charged at JPY 2,000/hour): Term 1 JPY 275,000; Term 2 JPY 200,000; Term 3 JPY 275,000. Annual total JPY 750,000 (dependent on hours used).
(The school states that tuition is charged per year and is payable in three installments.)
Maintenance, supply and support fees
- Maintenance fee: JPY 250,000 per student per year (annual, non‑refundable). - Supply fee: Charged to cover small field trips, Japanese textbooks, class novels and some stationery items; amount depends on grade/use and is charged separately. - Learning support fee (if required): JPY 500,000 per year, payable in three installments.
Additional and optional costs
- Lunches: not included in tuition; charged separately. - Uniforms: compulsory for all grades; cost varies by items ordered. - PTA annual fee: JPY 6,000. - School excursions / field trips and non‑curricular residential/day trips: charged as required (examples of single–event charges range from JPY 100 to JPY 1,500 depending on the activity). - Some exam fees, some sports events/tournaments, some extracurricular activities/ASPs, and swimming: may be charged separately.
Sibling discounts
- A 20% discount on the second child's tuition is available for families with children enrolled before the 2025–2026 school year. For parents enrolling after the 2025–2026 school year, a 10% discount is available on the tuition fees for the second and any additional siblings.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition schedule: the annual tuition is split into three instalments (Term 1, Term 2, Term 3) and billed accordingly. - Application fee: due on submission of the application. Enrollment fee: payable within one week from confirmation of admission. Maintenance and other annual fees are charged as stated. - Late enrolment: students joining after the start of the school year are charged by academic term; attendance for any portion of a term requires payment for the full term. - Late payment: a 2% fee is added to late tuition payments; accounts in arrears by more than one month may result in suspension of the student until the balance is cleared. - Withdrawal notice: parents must provide not less than one complete term's prior written notice; otherwise one complete term's fees are payable in lieu of notice.
Refund information
- All school fees are non‑refundable. One‑time payments and first‑term tuition are non‑refundable. If travel to Japan is prevented by unavoidable circumstances such as government visa restrictions or entry regulations, tuition payments may be carried forward once.
Fee payment options and contact for payment arrangements
- All fees are to be remitted in Japanese yen (JPY). - The school accepts bank transfers for donations and publishes bank details for remittance; the accounting contact is accounting@sistokyo.jp for payment enquiries and arrangements. Use of bank transfer for payments and invoicing is in practice for the school's financial transactions.
Notes
- Tuition and fees shown above are fixed for the August 2025 to June 2026 school year and are reviewed annually. Any changes for the next school year are announced by the end of May.
Fee details
Application & enrolment fees - Application Fee: JPY 33,000 (non-refundable). Applicants may pay the application fee by bank transfer or by credit card. - Registration Fee: JPY 330,000 (listed as an enrolment fee, non-refundable for new students). - Campus Development and Maintenance Fee: JPY 440,000 (listed as an enrolment fee, non-refundable for new students).
Annual tuition and term breakdown (tuition payable by term) - Primary Years Programme (Kindergarten – Grade 5) - Educational Development Fee: JPY 150,000. - Annual tuition: JPY 2,568,000, payable in three term payments of JPY 856,000 each. - Middle School Programme (Grades 6–8) - Educational Development Fee: JPY 188,000. - Term payments shown as JPY 895,000 per term (three terms), which corresponds to total term payments of JPY 2,685,000. The published term amounts and the single-line annual figure differ in the original listing; the term-by-term values are JPY 895,000 / JPY 895,000 / JPY 895,000. - EAL (English as an Additional Language) fee - JPY 110,000 per term; annual total JPY 330,000 when taken for the full year.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Tuition is charged by term and is payable per term. Payment instructions are issued on the school invoice. Ten percent tax is included in all tuition and fees. - For students enrolling after the school year has started, tuition and bus fees are prorated by the week. No sibling discount is available. - Payment should be made by bank transfer under the child's name, using the account code shown on the invoice. The school accepts bank transfers; the application fee can also be paid by credit card. International bank transfers may carry a JPY 2,500 bank charge notation and parents are asked to ensure any bank charges are covered so the full amount is received.
Boarding fees - Boarding is not offered at these campuses; there are no boarding fees listed. The school operates day campuses with classes assigned to the Yoyogi and Jinnan locations.
Other costs and optional charges - Uniforms: Wearing a uniform is required. School-sold tops (light blue polo shirts, PE shirts, hoodies with logo) are purchased via the school's uniform order form; plain dark blue bottoms may be purchased by parents or via the school order form. Uniform payments are processed by bank transfer per the invoice. Specific item prices are set through the uniform order form rather than in the tuition listing. - Bus service: A morning and afternoon bus service is available; the bus fee is charged separately from tuition. Routes and detailed information are provided for the school year; bus fees and route-specific pricing are supplied by the school on request. Bus fees are also prorated for mid-term enrolment. - Additional program fees: Summer school and activity programs have separate pricing and payment rules (example: week/session pricing and refund rules for summer programs). These are charged in addition to regular tuition when applicable.
Refund information - Enrolment fees listed as “non-refundable” (application fee, registration fee and campus development/maintenance fee are charged per new student and identified as non-refundable). The application fee is explicitly non-refundable in all cases. - For optional programs such as summer camps, if the program is cancelled by the school the full funds will be refunded or redirected; some program pages specify no refunds or cancellations after the payment due date.
Fee payment options and bank details - Accepted methods: bank transfer is the primary payment method for tuition and most school invoices; the application fee may also be paid by credit card through the school's payment form. Bank transfer instructions (bank name, branch, account number, SWIFT code and international-transfer notes) are provided on the school payment pages and must be used exactly as instructed (payer name should match the child's name). Parents are requested to ensure international transfer charges are covered so the full invoiced amount is received.
Notes and practical points - All amounts above are shown in Japanese yen (JPY) and include tax where specified. - Enrollment is confirmed upon payment of the tuition fee (corporate/embassy sponsorship procedures differ and can require a payment agreement and registration fee). The application process requires payment of the non-refundable application fee before an application is considered complete.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The Samezu Campus serves students from Grade 4 through Grade 12, delivering the IB continuum: Primary Years Programme (PYP) in Grades 4–5, Middle Years Programme (MYP) in Grades 6–10, and the Diploma Programme (DP) in Grades 11–12. The Primary Years Programme (PYP) uses a transdisciplinary, inquiry-based approach organized around six themes: Who We Are, Where We Are In Place And Time, How We Express Ourselves, How The World Works, How We Organize Ourselves, and Sharing the Planet, with knowledge, concepts, skills, and dispositions developed through units of inquiry. In the Middle Years Programme (Grades 6–10), language and literature are taught in English and Japanese, language acquisition in Japanese, and the program covers Mathematics, Individuals and Societies, Sciences, PHE, Design, and Arts (Visual Arts and Music), with an emphasis on Approaches to Learning and the Personal Project. The Diploma Programme (Grades 11–12, commencing in 2024–25) offers Group 1 English A and Japanese A; Group 2 Japanese B and ab initio; Group 3 Business Management and Environmental Systems and Societies; Group 4 Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Computer Science, and Environmental Systems and Societies; Group 5 Mathematics (Applications and Interpretation SL or Analysis and Approaches HL) and includes the DP core—Theory of Knowledge (TOK), the Extended Essay (EE), and Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS)—with college counseling support. The school provides English-language instruction with EAL and Japanese language support, and campus groupings are Aoyoko Campus (Preschool–Kindergarten), Seaside Campus (Grade 1–3), and Samezu Campus (Grade 4–12).
Curriculum details
The school is an IB World School offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP). The curriculum is drawn from the US Common Core and the UK National Curriculum and is delivered through inquiry-based learning for international and global-minded students. English is the language of instruction, with Japanese taught as an additional language. Yoyogi Campus serves Kindergarten through Grade 1, while Jinnan Campus serves Grades 2 through 8. Class hours are 8:30 to 3:30 with a student–teacher ratio of 16:1 in Kindergarten, 18:1 in Grades 1–5, and 20:1 in Grades 6–8.
High School (MYP) Grade 9 will start in August 2026. The expansion includes pursuing authorization for the Diploma Programme (DP) for Grades 11–12.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. Inquiry: Begin by reaching out with questions about Shinagawa International School (SIS) and its IB-aligned programmes. You can ask about facilities, the IB frameworks (PYP, MYP, DP), and the learning approach to determine fit for your child. The admissions team can provide guidance on requirements and next steps, and there is no obligation to proceed after an inquiry. 2. School Visit (highly recommended but not mandatory): Arrange a visit through the admissions page or the School Visit Reservation form to see classrooms, talk with staff, and observe the campus culture. A visit helps families understand daily routines, student life, and how SIS supports multilingual and international students. This step is not mandatory for applicants, but it is strongly encouraged for a comprehensive understanding of the environment. 3. Application Submission: Complete the application form and submit it along with the required application fee. Prepare any documents requested during the application process for a smooth review. This step is essential to move forward in the admissions process. 4. Interview – Assessment: After submitting the application, applicants undergo an interview and assessment. For students in Grade 1 and above, MAP Tests assess English, reading, and math levels as part of the evaluation. The admissions team will review the results after the interview and assessment. 5. Admission Decision and Acceptance: Admission decisions are communicated within a few weeks of the assessment. Accepted applicants receive an acceptance letter and enrollment instructions, including next steps for fee payments. 6. Enrolment: Parents complete the enrollment form and arrange the necessary school fee payments to finalize enrollment. Enrollment communications and invoices are issued to successful applicants when an acceptance is granted.
Admissions
Step 1: Check eligibility. The birthday cut‑off date is 31 August, and child age must meet the requirements for the appropriate section for the 2025–2026 or 2026–2027 academic years. The Jinnan Campus serves Grades 2–8 and is located at 7-1, Udagawacho, Shibuya‑ku, Tokyo 150-0042. Step 2: Complete the online Application Form on the Apply page. You will provide basic information about your child and family and select your preferred payment method. Step 3: Pay the non‑refundable application fee of JPY 33,000. The application will not be considered complete until the payment is received. Step 4: Submit the required documents: school reports (most recent academic year), identification documents (passport/ID photographs), and the Confidential Recommendation Form completed by the current or previous school. If a school report is in a language other than English, an English translation is preferred. Step 5: The Admissions Office reviews the application and will communicate the status. Step 6: If reports and references are satisfactory and there is space in the relevant year group, the student may be invited for a screening to determine how best the School can support their learning; assessment sessions are scheduled at the School's discretion. Step 7: Admissions decisions consider factors such as space availability, English language ability, social maturity, and previous school records; applicants may be placed in a wait pool if a year group is at capacity. English is the language of instruction; EAL support is available after discussion with the Admissions Team. Conditional enrollment may be offered for English learners; the School notes it cannot enroll students whose learning needs exceed current resources. Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis for the 2025–2026 year and continue to be reviewed as spaces become available. For reference, Grade placement is guided by the School's Grade Placement process and is part of the admitted decision workflow.
Scholarships
Scholarships
Shinagawa International School does not advertise formal scholarships. There is a tuition sibling discount of 10% for the second and any additional siblings. A third-child discount of 30% is described as applicable to current students.
Scholarships
—
Waitlist
Waitlist
There is no published waitlist or pool system described in SIS admissions materials. Applications are accepted year-round with no fixed deadline. Admission decisions follow the interview/assessment process, and decisions are communicated within a few weeks; acceptance letters and enrollment instructions are sent to successful applicants.
Waitlist
Wait pool: When a year group is at capacity, applicants are placed in the wait pool. Applications are accepted throughout the year and reviewed on a rolling basis, subject to space availability. The Admissions Office informs families about enrollment trends and when seats become available. The number of applicants in the wait pool is not disclosed.