St. Austin's Academy and The Nairobi Academy are both in Nairobi, about 7 km apart. Both schools offer Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge A Levels programmes. St. Austin's Academy also offers Cambridge International AS Levels, and The Nairobi Academy also offers British, Cambridge (Secondary), BTEC Qualification and IB. Published annual fees are KES 15,000 - 1,378,000 at St. Austin's Academy and KES 428,500 - 1,494,500 at The Nairobi Academy, which puts The Nairobi Academy roughly 38% higher. Both take pupils from 2 to 18. Typical class sizes are 21 at St. Austin's Academy and 15 at The Nairobi Academy.
Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels
Curriculum
British Curriculum, Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, BTEC Qualification, IB (DP)
Pupils
Pupils
300
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
21
Typical class size
15
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
1971
Opened
1976
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
St. Austin's Academy is located on James Gichuru Road, Nairobi, Kenya. The postal address is P.O. Box 25138, Nairobi. Contact numbers are 020-2165653 and 0713-860206, and the email is info@staustins.ac.ke.
Location
Langata Road, Next to Mamba Village, Nairobi. P.O. Box 24817-00502 Karen, Nairobi Kenya. The Nairobi Academy Kindergarten (Kenwood Nairobi Academy) is on General Mathenge Drive, Westlands.
Stages
Stages
Kindergarten; Primary Curriculum; Junior School Curriculum; Senior School (Lower Secondary Curriculum); Senior School (Upper Secondary Curriculum); A Level
Stages
Early Years (Kenwood Nairobi Academy Kindergarten; Nairobi Academy Pre-preparatory School), Preparatory, Secondary.
School type
School type
Private school
School type
Private day and boarding school.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
More than 30 nationalities are represented in the student body.
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Special Education support is available for students who need it, and English Language Learner support is provided. The program includes advisory services to support individual students and promote development.
Additional learning support
Pastoral care and wellbeing, including guidance and counselling, PSHE, Careers Education and Guidance, co-curricular engagements, talent and competencies development, leadership and student voice. Safeguarding is a core commitment.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Kenya
Country affiliation
Kenya
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
Zone-based bus service with per-term transport fees: Zone A (2-Way) 45,500; Zone A (1-Way) 35,000; Zone B (2-Way) 42,000; Zone B (1-Way) 42,000; Zone C (2-Way) 59,500; Zone C (1-Way) 45,500; Zone D (2-Way) 63,000; Zone D (1-Way) 47,500; Zone E (2-Way) 68,000; Zone E (1-Way) 51,000; Zone F (2-Way) 70,000; Zone F (1-Way) 53,000.
Bus service details
We have a fleet of buses and vans to transport students from home to school and back. Transport is not compulsory. Routes include Karen – Hardy; Rongai; Ngong; South B – NHC – Bomas; Dam – Phenom – Game Park; South B – Mombasa Road; Adams – Kilimani – Ngumo – Madaraka; SSD – Lavington; Lang'ata; Kileleshwa; UNEP – Highridge – Ngara; Rongai – Twala; South C.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application / Registration Fee
- Registration fee: KES 15,000 (Nursery – Year 13).
Tuition fees (per term) — day students
- Nursery: KES 130,000 per term. - K1: KES 170,000 per term. - Reception: KES 190,000 per term. - Year 1: KES 270,000 per term. - Year 2: KES 315,000 per term. - Year 3: KES 315,000 per term. - Year 4: KES 335,000 per term. - Year 5: KES 335,000 per term. - Year 6: KES 335,000 per term. - Year 7: KES 390,000 per term. - Year 8: KES 410,000 per term. - Year 9: KES 410,000 per term. - Year 10: KES 448,000 per term. - Year 11: KES 689,000 per instalment (see billing schedule). - Years 12–13: KES 689,000 per instalment (see billing schedule).
Annual tuition (standard calculation)
- For year groups billed per term, annual tuition equals three times the term rate (term rate × 3). For example, Nursery annual tuition = KES 130,000 × 3 = KES 390,000; Year 1 annual tuition = KES 270,000 × 3 = KES 810,000, etc. (annual totals calculated from the per-term figures above). - For Years 11–13 the published figure KES 689,000 represents a 50% instalment; two instalments of KES 689,000 give an annual total of KES 1,378,000 for those year groups. The three-term tuition for Years 11–13 is collected in two instalments as described under billing schedule.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition is billed on a term basis (three terms per academic year) for most year groups; payment of tuition secures a confirmed enrollment place. - For Years 11, 12 and 13 the three terms' tuition fees are collected in two instalments (the published instalment amount is described as 50% of annual fees). - Payment of the Registration Fee places the child's name on the waiting list; on acceptance, payment of tuition guarantees enrollment in the allocated year group.
Caution / security deposit (refunds)
- Caution (refundable) deposits by year group: - Nursery – Reception: KES 5,000 (refundable). - Years 1 – 6: KES 10,000 (refundable). - Years 7 – 9: KES 20,000 (refundable). - Years 10 – 11: KES 25,000 (refundable). - Years 12 – 13: KES 30,000 (refundable).
Mandatory and recurring additional fees
- Emergency Medical Services: KES 2,000 per term. - Parents Association Levy: KES 2,000 annual subscription per family. - Year group lunch fees (termly): - Nursery – Year 2: KES 25,000 per term. - Year 3 – Year 6: KES 29,000 per term. - Year 7 – Year 13: KES 34,000 per term.
Transport (zone) fees — termly
- Zone A (2-way): KES 45,500. Zone A (1-way): KES 35,000. - Zone B (2-way): KES 42,000. Zone B (1-way): KES 42,000. - Zone C (2-way): KES 59,500. Zone C (1-way): KES 45,500. - Zone D (2-way): KES 63,000. Zone D (1-way): KES 47,500. - Zone E (2-way): KES 68,000. Zone E (1-way): KES 51,000. - Zone F (2-way): KES 70,000. Zone F (1-way): KES 53,000.
Boarding fees
- No boarding fees are published within the school's tuition and parents information; the school operates with day-student tuition and zone transport options as part of its fee structure.
Uniforms and other one‑off costs
- A school uniform is required; uniforms are supplied via the school's uniform provider(s) / outfitters. Specific uniform pricing is not listed in the public fee schedule.
Refund information (applicable items)
- Caution deposits listed above are refundable.
Fee payment options and practical steps
- Registration and tuition payments are administered through the Admissions Centre and the school's parent portal; parents are directed to the Admissions Centre for enrolment, payment of the registration fee to join the waiting list, and to complete enrolment by paying tuition. Contact the Admissions Centre or the school's parent portal to confirm accepted payment methods (bank transfer, card, mobile payment, or other).
Notes on timing and instalments
- Standard year groups follow a three-term billing cycle; Years 11–13 follow the two-instalment arrangement described above (KES 689,000 per instalment representing 50% of annual fees). Payment of tuition at the time of acceptance secures enrollment.
Fee details
Application & Registration Fees - Registration fee (one-off, non‑refundable): KES 15,000. - Testing/assessment fee (applicants): KES 5,000.
Pre‑Preparatory (PP1 – PP4 / Reception / Year 1) — Tuition (termly) - PP1 (age 2–3) Playgroup: KES 115,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP1. - PP2 (age 3–4) Nursery: KES 145,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP2. - PP3 (age 4–5) Reception: KES 160,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive. - PP4 / Year 1 (age 5–6): KES 195,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive.
Miscellaneous charges for Pre‑Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Afternoon school: KES 12,000. - Lunch (where charged): KES 16,000 (pre‑prep). Occasional lunches per meal: KES 500. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Preparatory School (Year 2 – Year 7) — Tuition (termly) - Year 2 (age 6–7): KES 225,000 (termly). - Year 3 (age 7–8): KES 270,000 (termly). - Year 4 (age 8–9): KES 285,000 (termly). - Year 5 (age 9–10): KES 340,000 (termly). - Year 6 (age 10–11): KES 350,000 (termly). - Year 7 (age 11–12): KES 370,000 (termly).
Miscellaneous charges for Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Lunch (compulsory for Years 2–7): KES 38,500 (per term). - Internet charges (compulsory Years 2–7): KES 4,500 (per term). - Bus transport: charged according to the school's zonal plan (amount varies by zone). - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 40,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Secondary School (Year 8 – Year 13, plus BTEC/IB) - Year 8 (age 12–13): KES 375,000 (termly). - Year 9 (age 13–14): KES 392,000 (termly). - Year 10 (age 14–15): KES 410,000 (termly). - Year 11 (age 15–16): KES 1,230,000 (per annum). - Year 12 (age 16–17): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - Year 13 (age 17–18): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - BTEC programme (per annum): KES 1,085,400. - IB Diploma programme (per annum): KES 1,354,500.
Secondary miscellaneous and extras: - Internet charges (compulsory Years 8–13): KES 6,000 (per academic year or as charged). - Lunch (compulsory for Years 8–13): KES 42,500 (per term). - Student lockers: KES 1,000 (per term). - Annual assessment fee for BTEC students: KES 87,000. - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 50,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000. - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000.
Boarding fees and boarder charges - Full boarding fee (termly): KES 203,500. - Medical cover for full boarders (per annum): KES 52,000. - Weekly boarding (Monday–Friday): KES 25,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Weekend boarding (two days): KES 10,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for boarders/local students: KES 27,000. - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for foreign students: KES 100,000. - Entertainment imprest for boarders (accountable): KES 6,500.
Discounts and inclusions - Tuition fees are stated as inclusive of books and stationery where specified. - Family discount on tuition fees only: 5% on the second child; 15% on the third and subsequent siblings.
Refunds & non‑refundable items - Registration fee: one‑off, non‑refundable. - Testing fee: charged on application (KES 5,000). The document lists this fee without refund. - Caution fees / caution money: shown as refundable on leaving (amounts vary by section and by local/foreign status as above).
Billing schedule & payment terms (as stated in the fee schedule) - Many tuition figures are presented on a termly basis; certain senior years and programme fees (Years 11–13, BTEC, IB) are shown as per annum. Early‑payment discounts may be applied and are determined on a termly basis. Transport is charged according to the school's zonal plan. Family discounts apply to tuition only.
Other costs commonly noted - Bus transport: charged according to four zones (amount varies by route/zone). - Lockers, magazines, occasional lunches and afternoon school charges as itemized above. - Uniform costs are not itemized in the published fee schedule.
Fee payment options - The published 2025/26 fee schedule lists fees, termly/per‑annum presentation and a statement that early‑payment discounts and family discounts apply, but it does not specify detailed payment methods (credit card, bank transfer, M‑Pesa, paybill, etc.) or explicit billing dates in the fee document itself. Contact the school's admissions or finance office for the accepted payment channels and exact due dates.
Summary of coverage in this fee schedule: the document provides complete termly tuition figures for Pre‑Preparatory and Preparatory years, termly amounts for Years 8–10 and per‑annum figures for Years 11–13 and for the BTEC/IB programmes, plus boarding tariffs, listed miscellaneous charges, family discount rules, and which items are refundable or non‑refundable. Specific payment channels and a full billing calendar are not specified in the published fee schedule.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Spans from Kindergarten through A Level. Kindergarten serves ages 2 to the end of Reception; Playgroup (2–3), Kindergarten 1 (3–4) and Reception (4–5) form the Early Years, with a play‑based approach and an outdoor learning area; activities include Drama & Music, P.E., Swimming, Cookery and Gardening, and there is emphasis on social, emotional and physical development as well as early reading and writing; Kiswahili is taught from Year 1 and French begins with speaking/listening before reading/writing. The Junior School extends from Pre‑Primary (ages 2+) with a focus on English and Mathematics and development of language, numeracy and social skills through structured play. The Lower Secondary curriculum is based on the British National Curriculum (Key Stage 3) with Year 7–Year 9 external assessments in English, Mathematics, Science and ICT, preparing students for entry into the IGCSE programme. The Upper Secondary curriculum offers Cambridge IGCSE, AS‑Level and A‑Level qualifications, with a strong co‑curricular/PSHE component including opportunities like the President's Award Scheme and East African Model United Nations. The A Level programme comprises Year 12 (general) and Year 13 (specialist) study, with students typically selecting four to five subjects in Year 12 and three in Year 13.
Curriculum details
Curriculum at a glance: Nairobi Academy offers a multi-path secondary curriculum. KS3 IGCSE (ages 12-13) forms the basis of learning, with Year 9 students choosing IGCSE options. KS4 IGCSE (ages 14-16) provides a broad range of subjects with five compulsory subjects: English, Mathematics, two or three Sciences, and History or Geography, plus four or five other subjects including a modern language and a humanities subject. A Level (ages 16-18) comprises the GCE A Level programme and Pearson BTEC, with three A Level subjects chosen from seven options, and enrichment including guidance on university applications. The Nairobi Academy is authorized for the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (DP) and is pursuing authorization for the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP) and Career-related Programme (CP). Extra-curricular activities include a variety of clubs and societies to complement academic learning.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
IGCSE results show 80.2% of IGCSE students (2024) scored A* to C; the class of 2023/24 transitioned to universities across the globe. These indicators reflect outcomes reported on the school pages for the IGCSE cohort and university destinations.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
The class of 2023/24 transitioned to various universities across the globe to pursue diverse degree programmes.
Higher education progression
Higher Education and Careers: The Careers Counselling Department uses a framework that focuses students on recognizing and creating opportunities to make informed career choices by defining their career goals in an annual Career Action Plan. The Careers' Action Plan is based on the Key Stages, with the Careers' Head working closely with Year Group Coordinators and Form Tutors to provide support. Key Stage 3 (Year 8 and 9) introduces career activities and resources to help students choose IGCSE options in Year 9. Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and 11) centers on refining the career action plan with experiences such as Work Experience. Key Stage 5 (Year 12 and 13) offers exposure to Career and University Fairs, training on Personal Statements, Personal Branding, and other competencies to prepare for tertiary education and the world of work.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Step 1 - Interview: The Principal and/or relevant staff interview the child and assess his/her level. For younger children, a day or half-day with the probable year group is often advised to determine appropriate placement. If proceeding, complete the 'Acceptance Form' and pay the Registration Fee. Step 2 - Waiting List: Payment of the Registration Fee places the child on the Waiting List for the year group. When a vacancy arises, the family is contacted in order of seniority on the list and offered the place, subject to a time constraint. Step 3 - Enrollment: If the offer is accepted, payment of the tuition fees guarantees enrollment in the year group. The child is formally accepted as a student at St. Austin's Academy.
Admissions
1. All admissions to the School are processed through a senior member of staff. When seeking admission, prospective students are requested to provide: 1. Two copies of the birth certificate. 2. Two copies of the passport, 3. Two copies of passport photos, 4. Two subsequent previous school reports / academic transcripts, 5. School Leaving Certificate. Prospective students will also be interviewed and asked to sit an entrance placement examination.
2. Enrolment Process: A student who is interested in joining Nairobi Academy should fill the application form and make an appointment with the school for a formal interview. Prospective students not resident in Kenya should contact the school via telephone or email for further advice.
3. After passing the interview, the student will be offered an application form.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
Our school offers a few Scholarship awards at the start of each Key Stage for well deserving and highly achieving students both within and outside the school community. These Scholarships are given based on the child's academic as well as co-curricular achievement and potential.
Waitlist
Waitlist
Waiting List: Payment of the Registration Fee places your child on the Waiting List for the year group. When a vacancy arises, you will be contacted in order of seniority on the list and offered the place, subject to a time constraint.