American School of Bilbao vs Montessori Gran Bilbao International School
American School of Bilbao and Montessori Gran Bilbao International School are both in Bilbao, about 10 km apart. Both schools offer American programmes. American School of Bilbao also offers IB, and Montessori Gran Bilbao International School also offers Montessori and Bespoke. Published annual fees are €6,820 - 14,520 at American School of Bilbao and €6,930 - 8,281 at Montessori Gran Bilbao International School, which puts American School of Bilbao roughly 40% higher. American School of Bilbao takes pupils from 2 to 18, and Montessori Gran Bilbao International School from 3 to 12.
Montessori Curriculum, American Curriculum, Bespoke Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
356
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
—
Typical class size
—
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
1967
Opened
—
Bus service
Bus service
Yes
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Address: Soparda Bidea 10, 48640 Berango, Bizkaia, Spain.
Location
The school is located on Artxandamendi Road 1 (Monte Artxanda), 48150 Sondika, Bizkaia. It is next to the Funicular and 3 minutes from the centre of Bilbao. The surroundings include parks, a skating rink and a sports centre with a swimming pool. The location provides quick access to Bilbao by funicular.
Stages
Stages
PK-12; Early Years (Preschool from age 2), Primary Years Programme (3-11), Middle Years Programme (11-16), Diploma Programme (16-18).
Stages
Children from 3 to 12 years old.
School type
School type
Private, non-profit international school.
School type
The school is an American foreign educational center with an international Montessori curriculum. It operates in a multilingual environment.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
The majority of students come from the local area; 29 nationalities are represented on campus; about 20% of students are international.
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Affiliated with the United States through the Office of Overseas Schools of the U.S. State Department.
Country affiliation
United States
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
ASB offers a school bus service covering the key areas of Bilbao and surrounding areas.
Bus service details
—
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Pre‑registration fee
- EUR 300 pre‑registration fee for all new admission applications. If the student is admitted, this amount is deducted from the Registration (Entrance) Fee. If the student is admitted but the applicant rejects the enrolment, the pre‑registration fee becomes nonrefundable. If the student is not admitted, the pre‑registration fee is refunded (in February or upon completion of enrolment).
Registration / Entrance Fee (Social Fund Contribution)
- New families pay a one‑off, nonrefundable Entrance Fee as a Social Fund contribution, split into two nonrefundable payments: an initial EUR 1,500 due in April and the balance due in May (the pre‑registration fee is deducted if applicable).
- Entrance Fee amounts by entry grade: - Entry to Preschool – Grade 5 (PYP 5): EUR 3,350 per student. - Entry to Grade 6 (MYP 1) – Grade 10 (MYP 5): EUR 4,500 per student. - Entry to Grade 11 – Grade 12 (IBDP 1 & 2): EUR 6,000 per student.
- Entrance Fee sibling discounts (applied to the Entrance Fee): 15% discount for the 3rd simultaneous child, 20% for the 4th, and 25% for the 5th and successive children (when the children belong to the same family unit).
Annual tuition fees by year group (published amounts)
- Preschool: EUR 6,820 per year. - Nursery: EUR 7,546 per year. - Pre‑Kinder: EUR 7,546 per year. - Kindergarten: EUR 7,546 per year. - Grade 1: EUR 8,352 per year. - Grade 2: EUR 8,794 per year. - Grades 3–7: EUR 9,510 per year. - Grade 8: EUR 9,849 per year. - Grades 9–10: EUR 10,402 per year. - Grades 11–12 (continuing ASB students): EUR 11,409 per year. - Grades 11–12 (new students entering the programme): EUR 14,520 per year.
Tuition discounts
- Tuition sibling discounts: when three children from the same family are enrolled simultaneously, the third child receives a 20% discount on tuition; when four or more children are enrolled simultaneously, the fourth and successive children receive a 25% discount on tuition.
Supplies and incidental charges
- Supplies (books and materials) charge: EUR 267 billed in September. - Additional early‑years replacement charge: Preschool extra EUR 32; other Early Years (rest of Kinder) EUR 11 at start of school year to cover water clothing and sleeping bag replacement.
Optional services and other fees
- Bus service (annual rates by route): - Getxo: EUR 1,424 per year. - Castro: EUR 1,595 per year. - Laukiz: EUR 1,595 per year. - Bilbao: EUR 1,575 per year. - Lunch service: EUR 1,215 per year (optional). - Student support services (additional language or support classes): - Support Fees (Type 3): 1 weekly period EUR 78 per month; 2 weekly periods EUR 156 per month; 3 weekly periods EUR 234 per month. - Extra language fee (students requiring additional language support, 2 weekly periods): EUR 1,958 per year.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition, bus and lunch services are annual fees. The school issues these amounts in ten monthly instalments, billed from September through June inclusive (grade 12 included).
- Single annual payment option: the annual tuition may be paid in one single payment; a 1.25% discount on the annual tuition is applied for families who choose this option, provided the school is notified before July 15th and the single payment is billed in the last week of August.
- Enrollment reservation charge for currently enrolled students: a EUR 500 reservation fee is charged between February and March as a prepayment for the following academic year; this amount is deducted from the September invoice as a pre‑payment. This reservation fee is subject to the Policy Manual provisions referenced in the published schedule.
Boarding fees
- No boarding programme is listed in the published fee schedule; boarding is not applicable.
Refund information (published items)
- Pre‑registration fee: refundable if the student is not admitted (refund issued in February or upon completion of enrolment). If the student is admitted but the applicant rejects the place, the pre‑registration fee becomes nonrefundable.
- Entrance Fee payments are stated as nonrefundable (the Entrance Fee is described as a nonrefundable contribution made in two payments).
- The published fee schedule does not provide further detail on refunds for tuition, optional services or reservation fees beyond the points above; specific refund procedures and any additional conditions are governed by the school's Policy Manual.
Payment methods and options (what is published)
- The published schedule specifies the billing frequency (ten monthly instalments or one annual payment with a 1.25% discount) and the timing/deadlines for choosing the single‑payment option. The published fee schedule does not list the specific accepted payment instruments (for example, bank transfer, direct debit or credit card) or the school's bank details. For contact and administrative queries the school publishes an email address and telephone number for the administration.
Calculated instalment equivalents (inference based on published annual amounts)
- The school publishes annual tuition amounts and the billing frequency (10 monthly instalments). The following per‑installment and illustrative per‑term equivalents are calculated from the published annual tuition (these equivalents are arithmetic conversions, not separately published fees): - Monthly instalment (10 payments) = Annual tuition ÷ 10. - Example (illustrative only): Grade 9–10 annual tuition EUR 10,402 → EUR 1,040.20 per monthly instalment (10 instalments). EUR 10,402 ÷ 10 = EUR 1,040.20.
Summary note about published coverage
- The published 2025–2026 fee schedule provides detailed amounts for pre‑registration, Entrance Fees, annual tuition by grade, supplies, bus and lunch services, student support fees, sibling discounts, billing frequency (10 instalments) and the single‑payment discount. The published schedule does not list specific payment instruments (bank account details, accepted card payments or direct debit arrangements) nor extended refund procedures beyond the items noted above.
Fee details
Registration / Application Fees - Enrollment (ages 3–6): EUR 330. - Enrollment (ages 6–12): EUR 660. - Annual place reservation: EUR 330. The reservation fee is paid in January and is deducted from the October fee for the following academic year.
Tuition fees by year group (academic year running July 2025 to June 2026) - Children's House (ages 3–6): - Annual payment: EUR 5,460.30 per year. - 11-installment option: EUR 496.40 per month. - 10-installment option: EUR 546.00 per month. - Lunch (annual): EUR 1,139.60 (EUR 113.90/month). - Notes: Prices above apply for payments during September; fees for July and August are EUR 248.20 for regular hours and EUR 260.05 for part‑time hours. Lunch and extended hours are charged from September through June.
- Primary (ages 6–12): - Annual payment: EUR 6,811.20 per year. - 11-installment option: EUR 619.20 per month. - 10-installment option: EUR 681.12 per month. - Lunch (annual): EUR 1,139.60 (EUR 113.90/month). - Additional expenses may arise during the school year for extra activities (swimming pool, sports center use, field trips, transportation) and membership of the student family association (AFA) may carry a specific fee.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Available payment modes listed: annual payment, 11 monthly installments, or 10 monthly installments (payment months vary by option as indicated above). - Reservation fee is paid in January and deducted from the October fee for the following academic year. - Discounts for early annual payment: 10% discount if annual payment is made before February 25 of the previous academic year (limited to a maximum of 5 families per year). A 5% discount applies for annual payments made before June 23 for the following academic year. A 3% discount applies to annual course payments (timing and conditions as stated by the school). Accumulated discounts (early payment plus sibling discount) cannot exceed 15% in total.
Refunds and withdrawals - Annual payments will only be refunded if the right of cancellation is exercised within the days following payment (refunds for annual payments are subject to that cancellation period). For other withdrawal and refund conditions, refer to the school's financial regulations.
Sibling discount - A 10% discount applies to the tuition fees of the second sibling or older when siblings are enrolled simultaneously. This sibling discount applies to tuition only and does not apply to dining services, extended hours, or extras. Accumulated discounts are capped at 15%.
Boarding fees - No boarding program or boarding fees are listed for this school; boarding is not applicable.
Other costs and optional fees - Lunch: EUR 1,139.60 per year (EUR 113.90/month) for both Children's House and Primary. - Extra activities and services (examples): fees may apply for swimming pool use, sports center use, field trips, transportation, and AFA membership. - Fees for July and August (summer attendance): EUR 248.20 for regular hours and EUR 260.05 for part‑time hours. - Uniforms and other specific material or supply costs are not itemized in the published fee schedule; extra curricular or activity-specific costs may be billed separately.
Fee payment options - Annual payments are required to be made by bank transfer. - Other payment methods for non-annual payments are not specified in the published fee schedule; consult the school's financial regulations for accepted payment methods for installment and other charges.
Effective period - These fees apply for the school year from July 2025 through June 2026.
Brief note on missing or unspecified items in the published schedule - A per‑term (e.g., per-semester) breakdown is not separately listed; fees are presented as annual totals and monthly installment options. Boarding is not offered (no boarding fees listed). Payment methods beyond bank transfer for annual payments are not specified. The published refund policy gives a cancellation-window condition for annual payments but does not specify the exact number of days in that window in the fee text.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
PK-12 private, non-profit international school in Bilbao. The curriculum is taught in English and has an international focus, leading to the American High School diploma and the IB Diploma. The Primary Years Programme (PYP) and Diploma Programme (DP) are offered; the school is preparing for Middle Years Programme (MYP) verification to complete the IB continuum. The Diploma Programme is a two-year program for ages 16–18, requiring six subjects and core components (Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay, Creativity, Activity and Service), with a pathway to university and employment. Upon graduation, students obtain a bilingual IB Diploma, and the IB Diploma is homologated by the Spanish Ministry of Education, so students do not need to sit for Spanish PAU/Selectividad. The course of study, marking and reporting procedures facilitate transfer to other international or English-language schools and prepare students for higher education in both host-country and English-language settings.
Curriculum details
The school follows the International Montessori Curriculum and American educational standards, and incorporates Basque Country Curriculum subjects including Spanish Language and Literature and Basque Language and Literature. Education is provided for Casa de Niños (3-6) and Elementary (6-12), using Montessori materials across sensorial, mathematical, linguistic and cultural learning. Language learning uses the One Person One Language (OPOL) approach: English is the main language of teaching and is delivered through total immersion, while Spanish and Basque are integrated daily and taught through everyday activities. Additional language support is provided for students who arrive with limited proficiency.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
IB Diploma Programme Results 2024: 100% Pass Rate. The Class of 2024 met the rigorous requirements to be awarded the IB Diploma in May 2024, with an average score of 34 points. 17% of students scored above 40 points; the maximum score achieved was 44 out of 45; the school has achieved above the world average for nine consecutive years; 50% of the subjects achieved averages at least 25% above the world average.
Exam results
Learning is monitored continuously and assessed without exams. Methods include self-observation, work portfolios, project presentations, and meetings with families, with progress tracked in Transparent Classroom and supported by a mentoring system.
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
ASB graduates pursue higher education at universities worldwide, including the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Spain. Recent current acceptances include Georgetown University, George Washington University, Georgia Tech, UCLA, University of Toronto, Cambridge University, King's College London, University of Manchester, Universidad de Navarra, and Esade, among others.
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
ASB offers the International Baccalaureate Continuum from Early Years to Grade 12 and is the only IB Continuum school in Northern Spain. The pathway includes Early Years (from age 2), Primary Years Programme, Middle Years Programme, and Diploma Programme, with English as the main language of instruction and language support in Middle School through differentiated pathways. Admissions are evaluated holistically, considering academic background, English proficiency, and readiness for an international curriculum. The order of preference for limited placement prioritizes siblings of current ASB students or exceptional students with an average of at least 85% in the previous two years, returning ASB students, children of ex-alumni, native English speakers, students' academic level, students who have attended accredited schools, and parents with work transfers, followed by the date of application. For pre-school admissions, priority goes to siblings of current ASB students, ex-ASB families, and the application date; staff children have priority according to policy. The Admissions process consists of two tracks: applicants with children at ASB and applicants without children at ASB. The steps include submitting required documents, an admissions assessment and interview, possible ESL/SSL or psychological assessments, and a final recommendation by the Principal and Admissions Committee. Admission is confirmed on or before February 1, with provisional admission letters issued along with placement details and fees; final confirmation occurs within 15 working days after signing documentation and paying the initial fee. If places are not available, qualified candidates remain on a waiting list and are considered if a place opens, following the established admission criteria and preferences. Fees for 2025-2026 are downloadable, and 2026-2027 fees will be updated."
Admissions
Admission process at Montessori Gran Bilbao consists of five steps: 1. Explore information about the school, its Montessori approach, and its educational model; 2) complete the online application on the Transparent Classroom platform (applications are free); 3) request an in-person appointment to tour the facilities and have questions answered by the team; 4) undergo an evaluation and, if needed, an additional interview or rehearsal session; 5) pay the registration fee to secure the place once admission is approved. Limited seating means seats are allocated on a first-come, first-served basis due to the small-group focus; if no spots are available, joining the waiting list is possible. Course-long admission is available as applications are accepted throughout the year if there is availability. In addition, fees related to enrollment are published: €330 for enrollment of children aged 3–6, €660 for enrollment of children aged 6–12, and a €330 annual place reservation. There are also ongoing tuition structures and discounts, including a 10% sibling discount for a second child enrolled simultaneously and various early-payment discounts on annual tuition.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
—
Waitlist
Waitlist
Waitlisted applicants: The school may wait-list an admission application for the February or May process if a place becomes available. In grades with a waiting list, parents will be informed and any pending documents and required fees must be provided prior to consideration of the wait-listed application. If placement becomes available, the same criteria will be followed as in the order of preference for admissions among the wait-listed pool."
Waitlist
Waiting list is available if there are no available spots; course-long admission is possible as applications are accepted throughout the year if space exists.