Brighton International School vs KCE International School
Brighton International School and KCE International School are both in Phnom Penh, about 5 km apart. Both schools offer Bespoke programmes, and Brighton International School also offers British. Published annual fees are close, at KHR 13,293,356 - 14,171,596 for Brighton International School and KHR 11,600,000 - 18,000,000 for KCE International School. Brighton International School takes pupils from 2 to 12, and KCE International School from 2 to 18.
Brighton International School is located at #33, Street 26BT, Boeung Tumpun 2, in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The school site gives this street address and contact phone numbers; Boeung Tumpun is in the Meanchey/Chroy Changvar area of the city and is accessible by local roads and taxis — you should check local maps for exact transit options.
Location
KCE's main campus is in Toul Kork (Phsar Depo II), Phnom Penh — address listed as Building 21AB, Street 146, Sangkat Phsar Depo II, Khan Toul Kork. The site is in a mixed residential/commercial area and is reachable by car, taxi or motorbike from other parts of the city; the school lists local contact details on its website.
Stages
Stages
The school says it follows the UK curriculum arranged in key stages (early years through secondary) and runs an Early Years programme for children aged about 2–5. The site also notes a Khmer curriculum that spans grades 1–6 (pupils aged about 6–12). For exact grade names and upper-secondary provision, contact the school.
Stages
KCE accepts children from Kindergarten (age 3) through Grade 12; its published fee pages show fee bands for Kindergarten, Grades 1–2, 3–4, 5–6, 7–9 and 10–12. The school's High School section specifically refers to Grades 10–12.
School type
School type
Brighton International School is presented on its website as an independent, not-for-profit international school registered in Cambodia (founded 2015). The website does not explicitly state a single-gender or boarding status; there is no mention of boarding facilities.
School type
KCE is a private, co-educational day school offering a combined national and international programme; the school describes a trilingual approach (Khmer, English and Chinese). The school's public information does not mention boarding facilities.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
The school's website describes individualised learning and support within its curriculum (for example tailored teaching and phonics support), but it does not publish a detailed Special Educational Needs (SEN)/Additional Learning Needs policy or specific facilities on the public site. If your child has identified SEN, contact the school to ask for their current SEN provision, assessment processes and any available resources.
Additional learning support
KCE's public web pages and listings do not publish a detailed Special Educational Needs (SEN) or additional-learning-support policy. If your child may need learning support, contact the school admissions office directly to ask about assessments, in-class support, or external specialist arrangements.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
The school is located and registered in Cambodia; it uses the UK curriculum alongside the Cambodian (Khmer) curriculum for some year groups but the school itself is not presented as formally affiliated to another country's government.
Country affiliation
KCE is a Cambodian private international school (operating in Phnom Penh) and is presented as a local private institution offering international programmes rather than being affiliated to another country's school system.
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
The school website does not state any religious affiliation. It presents itself as a secular international school.
Religious affiliation
The school's public information does not indicate any religious affiliation.
School day structure
School day structure
The school website does not publish a regular daily start/end time for the standard term. The principal's page gives office hours (Monday–Friday, 9:00 am–3:00 pm), and a school-run summer programme listing shows days running roughly 8:30 am–3:00 pm; third-party school listings give a common reported schedule of about 7:30–15:30. For the exact term-time day structure (start, finish, breaks and supervised care), ask the school directly.
School day structure
The site lists general opening hours around 07:30–17:00; the High School page shows a typical school day of about 08:00–16:00 (Monday–Friday). Published school-day summaries in directories also list an 8:00–16:00 school day.
Bus service details
Bus service details
The school's official website does not describe a regular school bus service or transport routes. Because third-party listings offer mixed information, the most reliable next step is to contact the school's admissions or reception (the site lists email info@brightoninternationalschool.org and phone numbers) to confirm whether they operate a bus service, routes, costs and registration procedures.
Bus service details
KCE offers a school bus service; its tuition/fees page notes a bus fee that is charged based on the student's location. External school listings also record that a bus service is available. For route details, stops and exact pricing subscribe to or enquire with the school — these are normally arranged per family/location.
First‑year one‑off and materials charges (example breakdown for first year) - Tuition (example entry-level figure shown): KHR 12,350,800 (annual). - Administration fee (annual): KHR 401,000. - Learning materials (annual): KHR 601,500. - Total for a first year (tuition + admin + learning materials + registration one‑time): KHR 13,754,300 (this matches the published first‑year total).
Tuition fees by year group (published annual totals and per‑term figures) Notes: the school's published fee schedule presents annual totals by year group. Per‑term figures below are calculated by dividing the published annual total by three (per‑term amounts shown as “per term — calculated”). - Nursery 2 (annual): KHR 13,353,300 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,451,100. - Kindergarten 1 (annual): KHR 13,353,300 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,451,100. - Kindergarten 2 (annual): KHR 13,353,300 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,451,100. - Kindergarten 3 (annual): KHR 14,235,500 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,745,167. - Grade 1 (annual): KHR 14,235,500 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,745,167. - Grade 2 (annual): KHR 14,235,500 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,745,167. - Grade 3 (annual): KHR 14,235,500 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,745,167. - Grade 4 (annual): KHR 14,235,500 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,745,167. - Grade 5 (annual): KHR 14,235,500 — per term (calculated): KHR 4,745,167.
Sibling discount - Sibling discounts published: 10% for the second child attending at the same time; 15% for the third and subsequent children (applied to the youngest attending child(ren)).
Billing schedule and payment terms - The publicly available fee listings are presented as annual amounts by year group; the school's public fees page does not publish a detailed multi‑term billing calendar or explicit payment deadlines. Per‑term amounts in this overview are calculated from the published annual totals (annual ÷ 3).
Boarding fees - Boarding is not applicable. The school serves early years and primary age ranges (day school provision for ages up to around 11).
Other costs and recurring charges - Administration fee (annual): KHR 401,000 (shown separately from tuition in the first‑year breakdown). - Learning materials (annual): KHR 601,500. - School uniform, canteen/meals, extracurricular activity fees and similar incidental costs are not included in the published annual tuition totals and should be expected as additional costs. These items are referenced in external listings as separate chargeable elements.
Refund information - The school's public fees page does not publish a detailed refund or withdrawal policy for tuition, registration, or deposits. No independent, official refund schedule is published on the school's public fees page. For specific withdrawal, refund or deposit conditions, the school's admissions or finance office should be consulted directly.
Fee payment options - The school's public pages and the published fee listings do not set out specific accepted payment methods (for example: bank transfer, credit card or cash). Publicly available fee summaries do not list payment channels. Contact the school's admissions/finance team to confirm the accepted payment methods and any transaction fees.
Summary points for a parent entering data into a database - One‑time registration: KHR 401,000. - First‑year component example (registration + tuition + admin + learning materials): KHR 13,754,300 (first‑year total example). - Published annual tuition totals by year group (see list above); per‑term figures in the list are calculated by dividing annual totals by three. - Boarding: not applicable. - Sibling discount: 10% (second child), 15% (third+).
If you require these fee figures presented in a different currency or formatted for import, the numbers above are taken from the publicly available fee listings and the per‑term values are calculated from the published annual totals.
Fee details
Application and one-time admission fees
- Application fee: USD 100 (charged annually / at application). - Administrator fee: USD 100 (charged annually). - Material fee: USD 250 (annual; described as covering notebook, course books, study materials and two sets of uniforms).
Tuition fees by year group (published billing options shown as semesterly or yearly)
- Kindergarten (ages 3–5) - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,525. - Annual (single payment): USD 2,900.
- Grade 1–2 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,575. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,000.
- Grade 3–4 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,625. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,100.
- Grade 5–6 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,680. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,200.
- Grade 7–9 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 1,890. - Annual (single payment): USD 3,600.
- Grade 10–12 - Per semester (2 payments per year): USD 2,363. - Annual (single payment): USD 4,500.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition is published with two billing options: semesterly (two payments per academic year) or a single annual payment at the published annual rate. One‑time or annual fees (application, administration, material) are charged at admission/annually as indicated. Specific due dates or late‑payment penalties are not published on the fee page.
Boarding fees
- No boarding fees are listed; the school's published fees and fee page do not include boarding charges, indicating that boarding is not offered or not charged.
Other costs and recurring charges
- Student / sports uniform: USD 25 per set (optional / itemized). - Lunch: USD 60 per month (published as a monthly charge). - School bus / transportation: charged based on location (amount varies; published as location‑based). - Material fee (annual, see above) described as covering stationery, course books, study materials and two sets of uniforms. - Any additional optional activities, exam fees or extracurricular charges are not itemized on the published fee page.
Refund information
- A specific refund or cancellation policy for fees is not published on the school's tuition/fees page. No public fee‑refund terms are listed in the same published fee materials.
Fee payment options
- The school's published fee page lists amounts and billing frequencies but does not specify accepted payment methods (for example, credit card, cheque or bank transfer) on that page. Payment method details are not itemized with the fee schedule.
Notes on currency and presentation
- Fees on the published fee page are shown in USD. A separate independent school listing provides converted values in Cambodian Riels for overview purposes.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Brighton International School delivers the UK national curriculum from Early Years through the secondary key stages, adapted with local context to build international awareness and consistent achievement standards. The school follows the UK key‑stage structure (Early Years/Foundation through Key Stages 1–4) and teaches the full range of core and foundation subjects (English, mathematics, science, arts and humanities, computing, physical education and modern languages), with formal assessments at the end of each key stage as in the UK framework. As a government‑registered institution Brighton also delivers the Cambodian (Khmer) national curriculum for Grades 1–6 and provides Khmer language classes in its Early Years programme. In practice this means pupils follow UK programmes and end‑of‑key‑stage assessments while Khmer curriculum content and language tuition are provided for primary grades to meet MoEYS requirements. For precise, year‑by‑year subject lists or information about which national exams (MoEYS assessments) pupils may sit, please refer to Brighton's curriculum page or contact the school directly.
Curriculum details
KCE International School runs a trilingual programme (Khmer, English and Chinese) and states it delivers both national and international pathways from Early Years through Grade 12. Its Kindergarten accepts children aged about 2–5, operates roughly 30 hours per week, and focuses on play‑based early skills (pre‑writing, pre‑maths, storytelling, singing), English exposure, arts, PE and swimming. Primary and lower‑secondary are organised in grade bands (Grade 1–2, 3–4, 5–6, 7–9) and cover core subjects—mathematics, science, ICT and social studies—alongside Khmer and English language, arts and extracurricular activities. The High School programme (Grades 10–12) is described as a 40‑hour week offering English, Khmer literature, maths, social sciences, laboratory work, ICT, home economics, arts and regular sports (including swimming). The school website outlines national and international tracks but does not list specific external examination awards (e.g., Cambridge or IB) for particular year groups, so contact the school directly to confirm formal qualifications or leaving certificates.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
—
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. Complete the registration form and gather required documents. Brighton provides registration forms in Khmer and English that parents should fill out and submit to the school office; links to both forms are on the Admissions page. You must bring your child's birth certificate or passport, two passport-size photos, parent(s)/guardian(s) ID or passport, and (if available) Health Records/Health Card and Family Book. Note that Health Cards and Family Books are typically held by Cambodian nationals, and the school asks you to declare your child's medical history on the registration form.
2. Attend the interview and, where applicable, the English language test. For children older than four, the school arranges an in-person interview with a faculty member to assess readiness and fit. The school also administers an English language test so it can confirm that your child will be able to access and benefit from Brighton's curriculum and activities. Parents should be prepared to schedule the interview and bring any supporting documents or recent school reports if available.
3. Application review and decision. After submission and assessment, a member of the Admissions team reviews the full application package and communicates whether the child is accepted or deemed non-qualifying. The site states the school will inform families “in a timely manner,” so expect the school to contact you by the email/phone details you provided; if you need a specific timeline ask Admissions directly. If the application is not successful, ask the admissions officer whether any further steps (appeal, re-application window, or alternative year-group entry) are possible.
4. Parent handbook, fee payment and start arrangements. Successful applicants receive (or can download) the parent handbook, which outlines school policies, terms and conditions; Brighton provides both Khmer and English versions on its site. The school's admissions page states that full payment of fees must be settled prior to commencing school and that payment indicates agreement with the handbook policies—so confirm the exact fee amount, payment methods, and any deadlines with Admissions before paying. If you need receipts, installment options, or confirmation of start dates, request written confirmation from the school when you complete payment.
Admissions
1. Initial enquiry and information gathering. Contact the school to request the current application form, published fees and the academic calendar; KCE publishes tuition and fee amounts on its website but some pages are blocked for direct viewing, so confirm the latest figures with the admissions office. (Source: KCE website contact and fees summary).
2. Complete the application and pay the application fee. KCE's fee page lists an application fee (USD 100) and an administration fee (USD 100); parents should confirm whether these are payable at submission or only after an offer is made, and whether these fees are refundable if a place is not offered. Provide accurate identity documents (birth certificate/passport), previous school reports (if applicable) and the completed application form — the school may require originals at enrolment so bring certified copies and originals for verification. Ask in advance what proof of residence, visa or health records (vaccination) the school needs for international students.
3. Assessment and/or interview. For nursery/preschool the school typically uses informal interactions; for primary and secondary grades prospective students are often assessed academically and may have an interview with admissions or the Head of School to determine placement. Parents should prepare recent school reports and, for older children, samples of school work and any results from external examinations; confirm whether the assessment is in English or another language so you can prepare the child. Be clear about the timing of assessments — ask whether there are placement tests for English, maths or other subjects and whether remote/online assessment is possible.
4. Offer, contract and payment of fees. If the child is offered a place the school will issue an offer/acceptance form and a fee schedule; KCE's published schedule shows options to pay tuition yearly or by semester and lists tuition by grade (examples: Kindergarten yearly USD 2,900; Grade 1–2 yearly USD 3,000; Grade 10–12 yearly USD 4,500). Parents should read the contract for refund and withdrawal terms, note payment deadlines (annual vs semester billing), and confirm which one-time fees are due on acceptance (application fee, administration fee, material/uniform fees). Keep receipts for all payments and ask for a written statement of what is included in tuition (books, tests, activities) and what is optional (lunch, bus).
5. Materials, uniforms, transport and meal arrangements. KCE's published fees list a material fee (the school page lists USD 250 for materials such as notebooks, course books and two uniform sets, and the page also shows a $300 figure in the same section — parents should confirm the exact amount and what it covers). The site lists optional items such as monthly lunch (USD 60) and bus fees charged by route; parents should confirm bus availability for their address, exact route cost, and whether lunch menus meet any dietary requirements. Before the child's start date, complete any medical forms and sign permission forms for activities; confirm start-of-term orientation dates and drop-off/pick-up procedures.
6. First day, orientation and ongoing communication. Attend the school's orientation (if provided) so you understand daily schedules, communication channels (who to contact for academic, pastoral or billing questions), and school policies (attendance, behaviour, homework). Keep the admissions and accounts office contact details and request the parent handbook or school policies in writing so you can refer to procedures for absence, illness, or fee disputes. If anything in the published information seems inconsistent (for example fee-line items), request written confirmation from admissions before making major payments.
Scholarships
Scholarships
There is no mention of scholarships, bursaries, or fee concessions on the school's public Admissions or Fees pages; the Fees page simply states “Please see below for our full fees for this academic year” and invites parents to contact the school with questions. The website also does not list sibling discounts or other published financial-assistance programs. Because the school's site does not publish scholarship information, families who require fee assistance or who want to ask about sibling discounts should contact the admissions office directly (contact details are on the site) to request a written statement of any available concessions or application procedures.
Scholarships
There is no information on KCE's public pages or on the third‑party listings reviewed that describes school-wide scholarships or regular financial-aid programmes. Major published items on the school site cover tuition, application and material fees but do not list merit or need-based scholarship schemes. If a family requires fee assistance or if the school occasionally offers bursaries, those details are typically provided directly by the admissions office, so request written confirmation from KCE about any scholarship opportunities, eligibility criteria, deadlines and required documentation. For transparency and to avoid misunderstandings, ask the school whether any fee reductions are offered, whether they are renewable, and whether there are any application dates or assessment requirements.
Waitlist
Waitlist
Brighton's Admissions page explicitly notes that the school accepts applications year-round but that “for some of our year groups there may be a waiting list.” The website does not publish further detail on how the waiting list is managed (for example, whether places are allocated by application date, assessment outcome, or priority rules). Because the school gives only this brief statement online, I recommend contacting Admissions (email/info and phone listed on the site) to ask about: current availability for the specific year group, whether the school holds places on deposit, how waiting-list positions are communicated, and any expected wait times.
Waitlist
KCE's publicly available pages and third‑party school listings that summarise the school's admissions (site content and fee page) do not mention a formal waiting-list or pool system. Because the school's website and listings do not describe a waitlist, the safest assumption is that any oversubscription or informal hold on places would be managed case-by-case by the admissions office. If you need certainty about whether a waiting list exists, how long it typically is, or how places are allocated from it, contact KCE's admissions office directly (phone/email shown on the school page) and ask for their current policy in writing; this is the most reliable way to confirm local practice.