Brookhurst International School vs The Nairobi Academy
Brookhurst International School and The Nairobi Academy are both in Nairobi. Both schools offer British, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, IB and BTEC Qualification programmes. Brookhurst International School also offers Cambridge International AS Levels, and The Nairobi Academy also offers Cambridge (Secondary). Published annual fees are KES 140,000 - 1,485,500 at Brookhurst International School and KES 428,500 - 1,494,500 at The Nairobi Academy, which puts The Nairobi Academy roughly 18% higher. Brookhurst International School takes pupils from 3 to 18, and The Nairobi Academy from 2 to 18. Typical class sizes are 12 at Brookhurst International School and 15 at The Nairobi Academy.
British Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels, IB (DP), BTEC Qualification
Curriculum
British Curriculum, Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, BTEC Qualification, IB (DP)
Pupils
Pupils
700
Pupils
—
Typical class size
Typical class size
12
Typical class size
15
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
—
Opened
1976
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Two campuses in Kenya: Lavington, Nairobi County, and Kiserian, Kajiado County.
Location
Langata Road, Next to Mamba Village, Nairobi. P.O. Box 24817-00502 Karen, Nairobi Kenya. The Nairobi Academy Kindergarten (Kenwood Nairobi Academy) is on General Mathenge Drive, Westlands.
Stages
Stages
Early Years Foundation Stage; Preparatory School; High School; Sixth Form; IB World. The school follows the British national curriculum, accredited by Cambridge and Pearson Edexcel, for students from Year 1 to A level.
Stages
Early Years (Kenwood Nairobi Academy Kindergarten; Nairobi Academy Pre-preparatory School), Preparatory, Secondary.
School type
School type
Coeducational day and boarding school.
School type
Private day and boarding school.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
—
Additional learning support
Pastoral care and wellbeing, including guidance and counselling, PSHE, Careers Education and Guidance, co-curricular engagements, talent and competencies development, leadership and student voice. Safeguarding is a core commitment.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Kenya
Country affiliation
Kenya
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
Non-denominational; welcomes all faiths.
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
We have a fleet of buses and vans to transport students from home to school and back. Transport is not compulsory. Routes include Karen – Hardy; Rongai; Ngong; South B – NHC – Bomas; Dam – Phenom – Game Park; South B – Mombasa Road; Adams – Kilimani – Ngumo – Madaraka; SSD – Lavington; Lang'ata; Kileleshwa; UNEP – Highridge – Ngara; Rongai – Twala; South C.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application / Admission fees
- Interview and psychometric test: KES 5,000 per applicant. - Admission (one‑off): KES 15,000. - Caution money (refundable subject to school rules): KES 20,000. - Beddings for boarders (one‑off, without bed sheets): KES 10,000.
Tuition fees — Kiserian Campus (day and boarding figures shown where applicable)
- Preparatory / Early Years (per term): Tuition KES 107,395; Meals/refreshments add KES 30,000 (day) for a per‑term total shown as KES 137,395 for day students. Boarding option adds boarding component so combined amount is shown as KES 220,230. - Year 1 (per term): Tuition KES 107,395; Meals KES 30,000 (day). Boarding combined amount shown as KES 220,230. - Year 2 (per term): Tuition KES 134,590; Meals KES 30,000 (day); Boarding combined amount shown as KES 259,660. - Years 3–6 (per term): Tuition KES 157,700; Meals KES 35,000 (day); Boarding combined amount shown as KES 282,770. - Years 7–9 (per term): Tuition KES 206,640; Meals KES 35,000 (day); Boarding combined amount shown as KES 380,640. - Year 10 (per term): Tuition KES 231,110; Meals KES 35,000 (day); Boarding combined amount shown as KES 405,110. - Year 11 (senior junior cycle) — annual amount and instalment option: Day students — annual KES 966,740, payable in two instalments (Term 1: KES 450,790; Term 2: KES 483,370). Boarding students — annual KES 1,344,470, payable in two equal instalments (Term 1: KES 672,235; Term 2: KES 672,235). - Year 12 (A‑level / sixth form) — annual amount and instalment option: Day students — annual KES 1,068,680, payable in two instalments (Term 1: KES 490,930; Term 2: KES 534,340). Boarding students — annual KES 1,424,750, payable in two equal instalments (Term 1: KES 712,375; Term 2: KES 712,375). - Year 13 (A‑level / sixth form) — annual amount and instalment option: Day students — annual KES 1,117,640, payable in two instalments (Term 1: KES 521,305; Term 2: KES 558,820). Boarding students — annual KES 1,485,500, payable in two instalments (Term 1: KES 742,750; Term 2: KES 672,235). - BTEC courses (per term): Tuition KES 285,870; Meals KES 35,000 (day). Boarding combined amount shown as KES 459,870.
Tuition fees — Lavington Campus (day only; boarding is offered at Kiserian only)
- Early Years: KES 150,000 (full day) or KES 140,000 (half day). - Years 1–2: KES 207,200 (per term). - Years 3–4: KES 226,600 (per term). - Years 5–6: KES 245,990 (per term). - Years 7–8: KES 271,900 (per term). - Year 9: KES 297,800 (per term). - Year 10: KES 323,700 (per term). - Year 11 — annual and instalment detail: Annual KES 1,182,950, payable in two instalments: Term 1 KES 591,475 and Term 2 KES 591,475 (due in September and January). - Year 12 — annual and instalment detail: Annual KES 1,222,400, payable in two instalments: Term 1 KES 611,200 and Term 2 KES 611,200. - Year 13 — annual and instalment detail: Annual KES 1,237,400, payable in two instalments: Term 1 KES 618,700 and Term 2 KES 618,700. - Aviation program: Fees for the aviation pathway are provided at admission and are paid separately.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Standard school billing is termly; school fees are payable in full before the start of every term. A two‑instalment option is available where stated (commonly used for Years 11–13). Parents who wish to pay termly for Years 11 and 13 must inform the school in advance. - For Year 11 and Year 13 the annual fee is split into two equal instalments due in September and January unless alternate termly arrangements are agreed in advance. - Late payment surcharge: 2% per month applied on overdue balances. - Withdrawal and notice: One full term's written notice is required to withdraw a student. Failure to give one term's notice incurs a charge equal to one term's fee.
Boarding fees and boarding‑related charges (Kiserian campus only)
- Boarding component (per term) is shown alongside tuition for each year group in the Kiserian campus fee listing; combined totals are provided for boarding students (examples: Early Years combined KES 220,230 per term; Years 3–6 combined KES 282,770 per term; Years 7–9 combined KES 380,640 per term). Weekly boarding (optional) KES 20,000 per term. - Beddings (one‑off) KES 10,000.
Other recurring and one‑off charges
- Transport (per term) — Kiserian day routes example: KES 66,000 per term (two‑way, selected routes); Lavington transport zones have tiered two‑way per‑term rates (examples: Zone A KES 49,800 per term; Zone B KES 55,400; Zone C KES 60,800; Zone D KES 66,200; Zone E KES 80,400; Zone F KES 85,800). One‑way charge is normally 50% of the two‑way rate. - Clinical/medical fee (termly): Day scholars KES 5,000 per term; boarders KES 10,000 per term (Kiserian). Lavington shows a medical fee KES 7,000 (paid termly). - Sports and Talent Development activities (termly): Day scholars KES 10,000 (Kiserian) / KES 15,000 (Lavington); Boarders KES 20,000 (Kiserian). - Textbooks, exercise books and subscriptions: KES 35,000 per year. - Meals / Lunches / Refreshments: KES 30,000–35,000 per term depending on year group and campus (examples given per year group in campus fee listings). - Graduation fees: Preparatory KES 10,000; Seniors (Years 11 and 13) KES 15,000.
Refunds and credits
- School fees are not refundable once paid; the school requires payment in full before the start of each term and states that fees paid are non‑refundable. Failure to give the required one‑term withdrawal notice results in a charge equal to one term's fee.
Fee payment options and instructions
- Cash payments are not accepted on campus. Payments are accepted via bank deposit / bank transfer and via the school Paybill numbers; parents must email or WhatsApp the deposit slip with the student's name and year to the campus accounts contact provided. USD payments are accepted but converted using the prevailing market exchange rate. - Primary bank accounts and Paybill numbers provided for fee payments (use student name on deposit): - Equity Bank (KES): Account 0010260550844, Branch: Four Ways; Paybill: 247247. Equity USD account: 0010260550853. - Standard Chartered (KES): Account 0102023806400, Branch: Chiromo; Paybill: 329329. Standard Chartered (USD) account: 8752523806400. - Family Bank (KES): Account 068000010111 (Family Bank Towers); Paybill: 222111 (Account: 160072 Student Name). Family Bank (USD): 068000030947. - Email for deposit slips and payment queries: accounts@brookhurstschool.or.ke (Kiserian) and BISLavington@brookhurstschool.or.ke (Lavington). WhatsApp payment tracing numbers are published for each campus—use the campus contact number when sending confirmations.
Other notes about fees and discounts
- Family discounts apply to tuition only: 2nd child 10%; 3rd child 20%; 4th child 30%; 5th and subsequent children 40%. Transport family discount up to 50% for the second and subsequent child on the same route.
Fee details
Application & Registration Fees - Registration fee (one-off, non‑refundable): KES 15,000. - Testing/assessment fee (applicants): KES 5,000.
Pre‑Preparatory (PP1 – PP4 / Reception / Year 1) — Tuition (termly) - PP1 (age 2–3) Playgroup: KES 115,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP1. - PP2 (age 3–4) Nursery: KES 145,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP2. - PP3 (age 4–5) Reception: KES 160,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive. - PP4 / Year 1 (age 5–6): KES 195,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive.
Miscellaneous charges for Pre‑Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Afternoon school: KES 12,000. - Lunch (where charged): KES 16,000 (pre‑prep). Occasional lunches per meal: KES 500. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Preparatory School (Year 2 – Year 7) — Tuition (termly) - Year 2 (age 6–7): KES 225,000 (termly). - Year 3 (age 7–8): KES 270,000 (termly). - Year 4 (age 8–9): KES 285,000 (termly). - Year 5 (age 9–10): KES 340,000 (termly). - Year 6 (age 10–11): KES 350,000 (termly). - Year 7 (age 11–12): KES 370,000 (termly).
Miscellaneous charges for Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Lunch (compulsory for Years 2–7): KES 38,500 (per term). - Internet charges (compulsory Years 2–7): KES 4,500 (per term). - Bus transport: charged according to the school's zonal plan (amount varies by zone). - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 40,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Secondary School (Year 8 – Year 13, plus BTEC/IB) - Year 8 (age 12–13): KES 375,000 (termly). - Year 9 (age 13–14): KES 392,000 (termly). - Year 10 (age 14–15): KES 410,000 (termly). - Year 11 (age 15–16): KES 1,230,000 (per annum). - Year 12 (age 16–17): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - Year 13 (age 17–18): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - BTEC programme (per annum): KES 1,085,400. - IB Diploma programme (per annum): KES 1,354,500.
Secondary miscellaneous and extras: - Internet charges (compulsory Years 8–13): KES 6,000 (per academic year or as charged). - Lunch (compulsory for Years 8–13): KES 42,500 (per term). - Student lockers: KES 1,000 (per term). - Annual assessment fee for BTEC students: KES 87,000. - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 50,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000. - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000.
Boarding fees and boarder charges - Full boarding fee (termly): KES 203,500. - Medical cover for full boarders (per annum): KES 52,000. - Weekly boarding (Monday–Friday): KES 25,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Weekend boarding (two days): KES 10,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for boarders/local students: KES 27,000. - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for foreign students: KES 100,000. - Entertainment imprest for boarders (accountable): KES 6,500.
Discounts and inclusions - Tuition fees are stated as inclusive of books and stationery where specified. - Family discount on tuition fees only: 5% on the second child; 15% on the third and subsequent siblings.
Refunds & non‑refundable items - Registration fee: one‑off, non‑refundable. - Testing fee: charged on application (KES 5,000). The document lists this fee without refund. - Caution fees / caution money: shown as refundable on leaving (amounts vary by section and by local/foreign status as above).
Billing schedule & payment terms (as stated in the fee schedule) - Many tuition figures are presented on a termly basis; certain senior years and programme fees (Years 11–13, BTEC, IB) are shown as per annum. Early‑payment discounts may be applied and are determined on a termly basis. Transport is charged according to the school's zonal plan. Family discounts apply to tuition only.
Other costs commonly noted - Bus transport: charged according to four zones (amount varies by route/zone). - Lockers, magazines, occasional lunches and afternoon school charges as itemized above. - Uniform costs are not itemized in the published fee schedule.
Fee payment options - The published 2025/26 fee schedule lists fees, termly/per‑annum presentation and a statement that early‑payment discounts and family discounts apply, but it does not specify detailed payment methods (credit card, bank transfer, M‑Pesa, paybill, etc.) or explicit billing dates in the fee document itself. Contact the school's admissions or finance office for the accepted payment channels and exact due dates.
Summary of coverage in this fee schedule: the document provides complete termly tuition figures for Pre‑Preparatory and Preparatory years, termly amounts for Years 8–10 and per‑annum figures for Years 11–13 and for the BTEC/IB programmes, plus boarding tariffs, listed miscellaneous charges, family discount rules, and which items are refundable or non‑refundable. Specific payment channels and a full billing calendar are not specified in the published fee schedule.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The British National Curriculum (BNC) is taught across Early Years, Preparatory School, High School and Sixth Form. The curriculum emphasizes holistic development, with small class sizes and a progression where each stage builds on the previous one; core subjects include English, Kiswahili and Mathematics, the sciences and humanities, and a modern foreign language (French, German or Mandarin) offered as a core subject.
Curriculum details
Curriculum at a glance: Nairobi Academy offers a multi-path secondary curriculum. KS3 IGCSE (ages 12-13) forms the basis of learning, with Year 9 students choosing IGCSE options. KS4 IGCSE (ages 14-16) provides a broad range of subjects with five compulsory subjects: English, Mathematics, two or three Sciences, and History or Geography, plus four or five other subjects including a modern language and a humanities subject. A Level (ages 16-18) comprises the GCE A Level programme and Pearson BTEC, with three A Level subjects chosen from seven options, and enrichment including guidance on university applications. The Nairobi Academy is authorized for the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (DP) and is pursuing authorization for the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP) and Career-related Programme (CP). Extra-curricular activities include a variety of clubs and societies to complement academic learning.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
Small class sizes and low teacher-to-student ratios.
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
BIS publishes annual academic results, with BIS Academic Results pages for 2020 through 2025 available.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
Higher Education and Careers: The Careers Counselling Department uses a framework that focuses students on recognizing and creating opportunities to make informed career choices by defining their career goals in an annual Career Action Plan. The Careers' Action Plan is based on the Key Stages, with the Careers' Head working closely with Year Group Coordinators and Form Tutors to provide support. Key Stage 3 (Year 8 and 9) introduces career activities and resources to help students choose IGCSE options in Year 9. Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and 11) centers on refining the career action plan with experiences such as Work Experience. Key Stage 5 (Year 12 and 13) offers exposure to Career and University Fairs, training on Personal Statements, Personal Branding, and other competencies to prepare for tertiary education and the world of work.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Step 01 Contact us: Send an enquiry or book a personalized campus tour; a member of the admissions team will contact you as soon as possible. Step 02 Registration: To begin the application, click Apply Now to apply online or download the necessary forms and deliver them at your campus of choice. After the online application is received, a member of the admissions team will contact you. Step 03 Admission Interview: After registration, the child will be invited to take an assessment and interview conducted by the school principal or a senior leadership team member. There are no assessments for students under age 6. Admission requirements: IGCSE entry is from Year 1 (5+ years old) to Year 10 (15+ years old). A Level entry requires English language grade C, Mathematics grade C, and a minimum grade C in subjects the student intends to study.
Admissions
1. All admissions to the School are processed through a senior member of staff. When seeking admission, prospective students are requested to provide: 1. Two copies of the birth certificate. 2. Two copies of the passport, 3. Two copies of passport photos, 4. Two subsequent previous school reports / academic transcripts, 5. School Leaving Certificate. Prospective students will also be interviewed and asked to sit an entrance placement examination.
2. Enrolment Process: A student who is interested in joining Nairobi Academy should fill the application form and make an appointment with the school for a formal interview. Prospective students not resident in Kenya should contact the school via telephone or email for further advice.
3. After passing the interview, the student will be offered an application form.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
Our school offers a few Scholarship awards at the start of each Key Stage for well deserving and highly achieving students both within and outside the school community. These Scholarships are given based on the child's academic as well as co-curricular achievement and potential.