El Limonar International School Villamartin vs The A Level College of Altea
El Limonar International School Villamartin and The A Level College of Altea are both in Alicante. Both schools offer British and Cambridge A Levels programmes, and El Limonar International School Villamartin also offers Cambridge IGCSE and EYFS. Published annual fees are €7,100 - 9,800 at El Limonar International School Villamartin and €9,440 - 12,065 at The A Level College of Altea, which puts The A Level College of Altea roughly 27% higher. El Limonar International School Villamartin takes pupils from 3 to 18, and The A Level College of Altea from 16 to 18. El Limonar International School Villamartin is the larger school, with around 650 pupils to The A Level College of Altea's 24. Typical class sizes are 17 at El Limonar International School Villamartin and 7 at The A Level College of Altea.
British Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, EYFS (Early years foundation stage)
Curriculum
British Curriculum, Cambridge A Levels
Pupils
Pupils
650
Pupils
24
Typical class size
Typical class size
17
Typical class size
7
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
1990
Opened
—
Bus service
Bus service
Yes
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Located in Villamartín, San Miguel de Salinas, Alicante, Spain. The school is in the Vega Baja del Segura region of the province of Alicante.
Location
The school is located in Altea. The address is Carrer Benidorm 3, Altea, 03590.
Stages
Stages
Early Years; Primary; Secondary; Sixth Form (KS1–KS5). The curriculum is based on the National Curriculum for England and Wales, with IGCSEs and A Levels, or Spanish Bachillerato options.
Stages
A-level courses for 16-18 year olds taught in English.
School type
School type
Private day school.
School type
A-level college.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Learning Support department; SENCO; inclusive education.
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
United Kingdom (British curriculum aligned with England and Wales).
Tuition fees by year group (published as monthly fees; billed over 10 months per academic year)
Note: the school publishes fees as a monthly figure with a 10-month billing year. Annual = monthly × 10. Per-term = annual ÷ 3 (the school operates a three-term academic year). The per-term figures below are rounded to the nearest euro.
- Early Years - Nursery (3–4) part-time (Infant 3): EUR 533 per month — Annual EUR 5,330 — Per term EUR 1,777. - Nursery (3–4) full-time (Infant 3): EUR 710 per month — Annual EUR 7,100 — Per term EUR 2,367. - Reception (4–5, Infant 4): EUR 710 per month — Annual EUR 7,100 — Per term EUR 2,367.
- Primary - Year 1 (5–6, Infant 5): EUR 765 per month — Annual EUR 7,650 — Per term EUR 2,550. - Year 2 (6–7, Primary 1): EUR 765 per month — Annual EUR 7,650 — Per term EUR 2,550. - Year 3 (7–8, Primary 2): EUR 850 per month — Annual EUR 8,500 — Per term EUR 2,833. - Year 4 (8–9, Primary 3): EUR 850 per month — Annual EUR 8,500 — Per term EUR 2,833. - Year 5 (9–10, Primary 4): EUR 850 per month — Annual EUR 8,500 — Per term EUR 2,833. - Year 6 (10–11, Primary 5): EUR 850 per month — Annual EUR 8,500 — Per term EUR 2,833. - Year 7 (11–12, Primary 6): EUR 960 per month — Annual EUR 9,600 — Per term EUR 3,200.
- Secondary (Years 8–11) - Year 8 (12–13, Secondary 1): EUR 960 per month — Annual EUR 9,600 — Per term EUR 3,200. - Year 9 (13–14, Secondary 2): EUR 960 per month — Annual EUR 9,600 — Per term EUR 3,200. - Year 10 (14–15, Secondary 3): EUR 960 per month — Annual EUR 9,600 — Per term EUR 3,200. - Year 11 (15–16, Secondary 4): EUR 960 per month — Annual EUR 9,600 — Per term EUR 3,200.
- Sixth Form (Years 12–13) - Year 12 (16–17, Baccalaureate 1): EUR 980 per month — Annual EUR 9,800 — Per term EUR 3,267. - Year 13 (17–18, Baccalaureate 2): EUR 980 per month — Annual EUR 9,800 — Per term EUR 3,267.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition is published as a monthly fee based on a 10-month billing year; this implies billing over 10 monthly instalments during the academic year. Annual totals are the monthly fee × 10. Per-term amounts are the annual total divided across three academic terms. - There is an early-payment discount: if both tuition and lunch are paid annually in or before September, a 2% discount on tuition is applied. Sibling discounts on tuition are applied as follows: 10% for the second child, 20% for the third child, and 40% for the fourth child and subsequent children. There is no sibling discount for half-day Nursery enrolment. - Examination-related payments: the school offers an “Exams Fees in Advance” option where payments made between October and March are accumulated for subsequent A-Level and IGCSE exam fees. Examination fees (language exams, IGCSE, AS/A-Level) and certain course-related trips are additional to tuition. Textbook digital subscriptions are billed directly by the school.
Boarding fees
- ELIS Villamartín is an independent day school (ages 3–18). Boarding is not part of the school's provision; therefore no boarding fees apply.
Other costs and compulsory extras
- Dining (lunch) fee: EUR 1,750 per year (equivalent to EUR 175 per month). Dining is compulsory for all students up to and including Year 11. Annual dining divided per term = EUR 583 (rounded). - Transport: route-dependent; published range EUR 130–170 per month. Annual transport = EUR 1,300–1,700; per term ≈ EUR 433–567 (rounded). - Examination fees: charged in addition to tuition for ESOL, German, French, IGCSE (Year 11), AS and A-Level (Years 11–13). Some optional courses require study trips that incur additional charges. - Textbooks and learning materials: textbook lists published during the third term; all texts (digital subscriptions or physical) are reserved via the school office. Digital subscriptions are billed by the school. - School uniform: compulsory up to the end of Year 11; uniform is not sold by the school and is available at El Corte Inglés. Costs will therefore depend on purchases made there.
Refund information
- The registration fee (EUR 1,500) is expressly stated as non‑refundable. No other specific refund policy for tuition, lunches or other fees is published in the school's publicly available fee information.
Fee payment options / methods
- The published fee pages and policies present the billing structure, instalment/annual payment options and the early-payment window but do not list specific accepted payment methods (for example: credit card, bank transfer, direct debit) in the public fee summary. Payment method details are not specified in the published fee summary.
Discounts and concessions
- Sibling discounts applicable to tuition only: 10% (second child), 20% (third child), 40% (fourth child and beyond). Early payment discount of 2% on tuition if both tuition and lunch are paid annually in or before September. No sibling discounts apply to half-day Nursery.
Summary of immediate, guaranteed figures
- Registration (one-off): EUR 1,500 (non‑refundable). - Tuition (examples): Primary years range from EUR 765–960 per month (EUR 7,650–9,600 per year; EUR 2,550–3,200 per term). Sixth Form: EUR 980 per month (EUR 9,800 per year; EUR 3,267 per term). Early Years: EUR 533–710 per month.
(Fees and terms above are the published figures for the 2025–2026 academic year as presented in the school's fee information.)
Fee details
Application / Registration Fee
- Registration fee: €500.
Tuition Fees (by year group and per term)
- Year groups covered: A-level students aged 16–18 (both first and second year of A-level study are charged under the college fee structure). - Annual tuition (base fee, includes three A-level subjects, selected extra-curricular activities, and university application mentoring): €9,440 per academic year. - Per-month instalment option (charged over 10 months, September to June): €944 per month. - Per-term (standard three-term academic year): €9,440 ÷ 3 = €3,146.67 per term (calculated from the published annual fee).
Optional / Additional Annual Charges
- PCE / Selectividad preparation: +€1,050 per year. - Each extra A-level subject beyond the included three: +€1,050 per year. - Extra English or Spanish lessons: +€525 per year. - Fees are exclusive of coursebooks and official exam entry fees; families should budget separately for textbooks, examination entries and similar consumables.
Billing Schedule and Payment Terms
- Billing options: pay the full annual tuition in a single payment, or spread the annual tuition over 10 monthly instalments from September through June at €944 per month. - The registration fee is charged in addition to the annual tuition.
Boarding Fees
- Boarding is not offered under the college fee schedule; there are no published boarding fees.
Other Costs and Typical Additional Expenses
- Coursebooks and official examination entry fees are excluded from the published fees and must be paid separately. - Uniform costs are not listed in the published fee schedule; families should allow for potential costs for clothing, study materials, transport and extracurricular activities.
Refunds and Cancellations
- There is no publicly published refund policy or detailed refunds/cancellation terms in the published fee information; specific refund conditions for registration or tuition payments are not specified.
Fee Payment Options
- The published fee information specifies payment in full or by 10 monthly instalments (September–June), but specific accepted payment methods (for example: bank transfer, direct debit, or credit/debit card) are not specified in the published fee material.
Summary of Key Figures (one-line reference)
- Registration fee: €500. Annual tuition (base): €9,440. Monthly (10 months): €944. Per standard term (3-term division): €3,146.67. Optional extras: PCE/Selectividad +€1,050; extra A-level +€1,050; extra language lessons +€525. Coursebooks and exam entries excluded.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The school offers an international British curriculum with a foundation in the Spanish Curriculum and provides an immersive multilingual education. By graduation, students attain certified proficiency in three languages.
Curriculum details
ALCA offers internationally recognised A-level qualifications for students over 16. The A-levels are taught in English to 16–18 year-olds. The school offers Mathematics, History, Travel & Tourism, Business Studies, Physics, Spanish, Media Studies, Psychology, Art & Design, and Sport & PE (AS only). Optional extras include Extra Spanish/Extra English, Selectividad Preparation, and GCSE resits. If a subject is not offered, Kings Interhigh Online School can provide additional options. Class sizes are limited to 10 students, and students receive more timetabled time with teachers than at most local schools, with qualified native-English-speaking teachers and a personalised approach that prepares them for university applications.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
University & Careers Guidance helps students access the world's best universities in Spain and beyond.
Higher education progression
The A-level courses prepare students for university applications and provide access to universities in the UK, Spain and around the world.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. Enquiries, visits and information. All enquiries and applications are directed to the Admissions Officer who provides the information needed to families. Applicants are recorded as Prospective Pupils in the school database and receive a prospectus pack with the school brochure and relevant age-appropriate information. The Admissions Officer ensures clarity on the process and next steps so families can plan ahead.
2. Visits and open days. Prospective parents are encouraged to visit to see the school in action and to meet the Admissions Officer or Headteacher. There is a monthly open day for informal tours and private appointments can be arranged. Details about scheduled open days are published on the school website.
3. Registration and offer. Following a visit, meeting or interview and the corresponding entrance tests, a place is offered to the family. Parents should complete the Admissions Registration Form, sign the Parent Contract and return the documentation with the non-refundable Registration Fee. The school confirms that the child's name has been placed on the admission list for the relevant term and year; if the year group is fully subscribed, the child is placed on a waiting list.
4. Waiting list and allocation. If no place is available, parents may place their child on the waiting list. The school cannot guarantee when a place may become available. A place is confirmed when a formal offer is made and the Registration Fee and documentation are received.
5. Taster Days and Nursery entry. Taster Days are offered to provide a typical school day experience and an assessment of suitability. Admission to Nursery starts at age 3, with no formal assessment, though parents are asked about development and any identified needs. Places are not automatic, and progression to Reception is automatic unless exceptional circumstances apply.
6. Admission to other year groups. For children joining other year groups, appointments for interview and entrance tests are arranged by the Admissions Officer. A copy of the pupil's most recent school report is requested, and test results are communicated to the family within a short timeframe. A place may be offered, and a language proficiency assessment may be required before final confirmation.
7. Language of instruction and EAL. The school requires an appropriate working knowledge of the language of instruction. English as an Additional Language (EAL) tuition can be arranged at the parent's expense. Applicants may be required to undertake a language proficiency assessment, which may include a written test and possibly an interview.
8. Allocation of places, offers and waiting lists. A place is available only after a formal offer has been made and the registration payment received. When registrations exceed places, priority is given according to set criteria (e.g., siblings, ex-pupils, length of time registered, exam results, alumni references). Parents are informed within two weeks of application whether a place is available. There is no right to appeal a decision not to admit, and the Headteacher's decision is final. The Parent Contract and admissions documentation outline the terms of education, and the school maintains an Admissions Register in accordance with policy and data protection rules.
Admissions
1. The school provides a personalised approach to education. A meeting with parents and students is arranged to create a personalised curriculum that best suits their needs. This process ensures the programme is tailored to the student's goals and learning style. 2. Academic requirements: The school is primarily an A-level college, so enrollees should have the capacity, work ethic, and attitude required for the courses. The school can consider students over 16 who may need to resit GCSE exams or require help with the university application process. A meeting is arranged to discuss further. 3. Enrolment for September 2026/2027. The base fee includes three A-level subjects, some extra-curricular activities, and university application mentoring and guidance. Registration is €500 and annual fees are €9,440, payable in full or over 10 months (€944 per month). Additional charges cover PCE/Selectividad preparation (€1,050 annually), extra A-level subject (€1,050 annually), and extra English/Spanish lessons (€525 annually). Fees exclude coursebooks and exam entries. 4. Contact for more information or to arrange a visit. Phone: +34 629 617 417. Address: Carrer Benidorm 3, Altea, 03590.
Scholarships
Scholarships
—
Scholarships
—
Waitlist
Waitlist
The school maintains a waiting list when a year group is full. A place on the waiting list does not guarantee eventual admission, and the school cannot predict when a place might become available.