Institució La Farga and International Rural School are both in Barcelona, about 34 km apart. Both schools offer British programmes, and International Rural School also offers EYFS. Published annual fees are close, at €4,000 - 12,900 for Institució La Farga and €7,980 - 8,580 for International Rural School. Both take pupils from 3 to 18. Institució La Farga is the larger school, with around 1,530 pupils to International Rural School's 51. Typical class sizes are 20 at Institució La Farga and 12 at International Rural School.
British Curriculum, EYFS (Early years foundation stage)
Pupils
Pupils
1,530
Pupils
51
Typical class size
Typical class size
20
Typical class size
12
Instruction language
Instruction language
English, Spanish
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
—
Opened
—
Bus service
Bus service
Yes
Bus service
Yes
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Sant Cugat del Vallès, Barcelona, Spain. It is situated on Camí de Sant Cugat al Papiol, 36-46. The school is part of the Institució Familiar d'Educació network.
Location
The school is located in Llinars del Vallès, Catalonia, Spain, at Disseminat 133 Can Ribó, 08450. It is in a rural, forested setting near the village center, accessible by local roads.
Stages
Stages
Early Childhood Education; Primary Education; Secondary Education; Baccalaureate.
Stages
Early Years Foundation Stage, Primary, Secondary, and post-16 (A-Levels).
School type
School type
Private school.
School type
Private British co-educational day school; BSO-accredited (British School Overseas).
Tuition (regular school fees) — by year group - Guardería (nursery/early years): EUR 350 per month; equivalent annual figure given as EUR 3,875. Per-term equivalent (three-term academic division) = EUR 1,292 (annual ÷ 3). Per 10-month billing equivalent = EUR 387.50 per month. - Infantil (pre-primary) / Primaria (primary) / ESO (lower secondary): EUR 220 per month; equivalent annual figure given as EUR 2,200. Per-term equivalent (three-term academic division) = EUR 733.33. Per 10-month billing equivalent = EUR 220 per month. - Bachillerato (upper secondary): EUR 650 per month; equivalent annual figure given as EUR 6,910. Per-term equivalent (three-term academic division) = EUR 2,303.33. Per 10-month billing equivalent = EUR 691.00 per month (annual ÷ 10).
Billing schedule and payment terms - The school's standard practice for spreading the annual charge is to prorate costs into 10 monthly payments across the academic year (commonly used format for academic billing). Use of the 10-month proration is how monthly equivalents above are presented. Late-payment terms, specific instalment due dates, and any applicable administrative late fees are handled under the school's payment policy.
Boarding / Residence - Boarding is not offered; the school operates as a day school (no boarding fees apply).
Other costs and recurring extras - School lunch (comedor): typical range indicated between EUR 120 and EUR 172 per month depending on options selected; an institutional cost line for La Farga shows EUR 172 per month for lunch in one comparative study. - Material escolar (school materials): an annual cost of approximately EUR 220 is shown as a typical annual materials expense. - Transport (school bus): a typical monthly transport charge is shown around EUR 150 per month. - iPad / new-technology kit (when applicable): an annual technology fee/item is shown in the comparative breakdown at EUR 492 (one-off or annual depending on the provision model). - Insurance and small annual items: typical entries include school insurance and pastoral/psychopedagogical support fees (examples in the school-comparison breakdown include small annual charges such as EUR 73 for insurance). - Uniform / clothing: a specific single annual uniform amount is listed as part of the comprehensive cost breakdown where applicable; the comparative breakdown includes a clothing/uniform line in its totals. Individual uniform prices vary by item and are charged separately.
Refunds and cancellations - No centrally published, itemised refund schedule for tuition or registration fees was found in the public fee summaries consulted; refunds and cancellation terms are managed under the school's enrollment and payment policy and typically depend on timing of withdrawal and which specific fees or services were paid. Parents should expect that one-off registration fees and specific service charges (e.g., ordered technology kits, uniform suppliers) may be non-refundable once purchased.
Fee payment options - Common payment methods in the documents reviewed include bank transfer and recurring monthly instalments (prorated payments). Credit-card acceptance and direct-debit arrangements are commonly available at similar schools; specific accepted methods (credit card, direct debit, bank transfer, on-line payment portal) are applied according to the school's finance office procedures.
Brief note on coverage: the figures above are extracted from recent comparative fee breakdowns and school-fee summaries for La Farga and present the regular tuition, registration, common ancillary services (lunch, transport, materials, technology) and the standard billing format (10 monthly instalments). Some specific items (exact instalment due dates, precise refund conditions, optional extracurricular pricing, and any targeted discounts or sibling reductions) are determined by the school's current payment policy and enrolment contract and are handled administratively by the school's finance office.
Fee details
Application and enrolment fees
- Enrolment (registration) fee: EUR 780 per year. - Extracurricular enrolment fee: EUR 50 per year (applies to after‑school/extracurricular activities).
Tuition fees by year group (as published)
- Early Years Foundation Stage; Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 (Nursery, Reception, Primary): EUR 5,800 per academic year. This is shown as a monthly charge of EUR 580, billed September through June. The published fee package explicitly includes tuition, school material, books, instrument lessons, swimming lessons and school insurance.
- Key Stage 3 (lower secondary): EUR 6,400 per academic year. This is shown as a monthly charge of EUR 640, billed September through June. The published fee package explicitly includes tuition, school material, books, instrument lessons, swimming lessons and school insurance.
- Key Stage 4 (GCSE/IGCSE years) and post‑16 (A‑levels/IB/baccalaureate) fees are not listed in the published fee schedule provided.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Tuition is shown as a monthly charge billed from September to June (10 monthly payments). The published schedule presents both an annual fee and the corresponding monthly charge for those months. - The annual enrolment/registration fee is charged once per year. - Sibling discount: 10% discount on fees when children from the same family are simultaneously enrolled.
Boarding fees
- No boarding fees are listed; the school's published information presents standard day‑school hours (Monday–Friday 08:30 to 16:30). Boarding is not indicated as an available option.
Other costs and recurring extras
- Lunch service: Regular use EUR 135 (as listed); occasional use EUR 10 per day. The published schedule lists these charges for the lunch service. - Extracurricular lessons (Monday to Friday, 17:00–18:00): 1 day per week EUR 50; 2 days per week EUR 80. An extracurricular enrolment fee of EUR 50 per year is shown. - Summer camp (published dates shown for the camp period): EUR 480 for the full period indicated (lunch included) or EUR 160 per week. - Items not specifically priced in the published schedule include uniforms, transport/bus, examination/assessment fees, textbooks replacement beyond those listed as included, specialist trips, and some optional extracurriculars. These items were not given specific charges in the published fee sheet.
Refund information
- The published fee document does not specify a refund policy or detailed terms for refunds or cancellations. No refund schedule or conditions are listed in the fee sheet.
Fee payment options
- The published fee document does not specify accepted payment methods (for example, bank transfer, direct debit, credit card) or invoicing details. No payment method details are listed in the fee sheet.
Notes about the published fee information (summary of limitations)
- The available published fee schedule found is presented for Year 2019–2020 and supplies core figures for Early Years/Primary and Key Stage 3 only. Several categories that parents commonly require (detailed fees for Key Stage 4 and post‑16, explicit payment method instructions, a formal refund policy, uniform costs, and any boarding fees) are not included in that published fee sheet. The figures and line items above reflect what is shown in the school's published fee document.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Offers Educació Infantil (early childhood), Educació Primària (primary), Educació Secundària (secondary), and Batxillerat (baccalaureate). The teachings imparted at the centre adjust to current legislation and to the curricula of the educational stages the school provides. The centre's mission is to place its pedagogical knowledge and educational experience at the service of families, so that students become integral persons, solidary citizens, and competent professionals, through personalized attention and the promotion of academic excellence in diversity, the pursuit of truth, and the practice of Christian virtues. The vision is to become a humanist and innovative educational institution that contributes to the improvement of society through the comprehensive formation of many families and education professionals. The values are based on Christian humanism: respect for every person, personal integrity with autonomy, responsible use of freedom, and a climate of optimism, trust and collaboration. General objectives include promoting coexistence, educational equity, helping each student relate to themselves, others and the world, and ensuring a firm yet flexible application of norms.
Curriculum details
The school offers a balanced and broadly based curriculum. It promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils and prepares them for opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life. It follows the national curriculum, providing pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge they need to be educated citizens and helping engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement. There is time and space in the school day and each week, term and year to range beyond the national curriculum specifications, with the curriculum providing an outline of core knowledge around which teachers can develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote development of pupils' knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum. Core subjects are English, Mathematics and Science. Foundation subjects include Art and design, Citizenship, Computing, Design and technology, Languages, Geography, History, Music, and Physical education.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
Small class sizes. There is a teacher and a teacher assistant per class, with reinforcement teachers available.
Exam results
Exam results
Batxillerat results in PAU exceed 100% pass rate. In recent years PAU results have surpassed the standard pass rate, indicating strong academic performance.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
The school accompanies students from early years through to university. Graduates progress to higher education, and PAU results indicate success in university admissions. The centre emphasizes personalized attention to prepare students for higher education.