Italian International School vs The International School of Choueifat Abu Dhabi
Italian International School and The International School of Choueifat Abu Dhabi are both in Abu Dhabi, about 9 km apart. Both schools offer Advanced Placement (AP) programmes. Italian International School also offers Italian, and The International School of Choueifat Abu Dhabi also offers Bespoke, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels and Cambridge A Levels. Published annual fees are AED 30,065 - 53,380 at Italian International School and AED 28,740 - 46,460 at The International School of Choueifat Abu Dhabi, which puts Italian International School roughly 11% higher. Italian International School takes pupils from 3 to 18, and The International School of Choueifat Abu Dhabi from 4 to 18. The International School of Choueifat Abu Dhabi is the larger school, with around 6,728 pupils to Italian International School's 225. Typical class sizes are 7 at Italian International School and 28 at The International School of Choueifat Abu Dhabi.
Bespoke Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge International AS Levels, Cambridge A Levels, Advanced Placement (AP)
Pupils
Pupils
225
Pupils
6,728
Typical class size
Typical class size
7
Typical class size
28
Instruction language
Instruction language
English, Italian
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
—
Opened
1978
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Italian International School is located in Khalifa City A, Abu Dhabi, UAE. The campus address is Khalifa City A, South East 44, Block 10. Khalifa City A is a residential district with convenient access to major roads linking central Abu Dhabi and Yas Island, and it is served by local transport options suitable for families.
Location
The International School of Choueifat – Abu Dhabi is located on Yas Island, Yas East, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. The campus relocated to Yas Island and opened at the current site in September 2023. The postal address is P.O. Box 7212, Yas East, Yas Island, Abu Dhabi, UAE. The school serves students aged 4 to 18.
Stages
Stages
The school is an IB World School offering Primary Years Programme (PYP) for younger students and Middle Years Programme (MYP) for older students. PYP serves students roughly aged 3–12, and MYP covers approximately ages 11–16. The school has been authorized to deliver both programmes as part of its IB framework.
Stages
Kindergarten to Grade 12 (ages 4+ to 18+).
School type
School type
Co-educational, day school. Boarding facilities are not offered.
School type
Non-selective, co-educational, college-preparatory, English-medium day school.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
Nationals represented: 48 nationalities. The most common nationality is not publicly disclosed, and the local-to-international student ratio is not publicly disclosed.
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
The school provides English as an Additional Language (EAL) support and Special Educational Needs (SEN) support. It emphasises small class sizes and a holistic 360º care and support approach.
Additional learning support
Special academic support is provided, including placement tests to determine class level; if a student is behind, extra lessons or classes may be offered, and summer school or other options may be available at an additional cost.
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
There is no formal country affiliation stated; the curriculum combines IB with Italian language and culture enrichment.
Country affiliation
United Arab Emirates
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
No religious affiliation is indicated.
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
School days run from 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday to Friday. The campus includes a canteen offering chef‑prepared meals daily.
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
A school bus service is available with an annual fee of 5,000 AED. Bus routes cover Khalifa City A and areas such as Al Raha, Al Reef, Yas Island, Shakhbout City, Al Riyadh City, Al Shamkah, Airport Road, Zayed Sports City, Rabdan, and MBZ.
Tuition — per-term breakdown (school term months: Term 1 = 4 months, Term 2 = 4 months, Term 3 = 2 months; annual tuition is split on that basis) - Preschool (AED 30,065): Term 1 AED 12,026; Term 2 AED 12,026; Term 3 AED 6,013. - KG1 / KG2 (AED 40,120): Term 1 AED 16,048; Term 2 AED 16,048; Term 3 AED 8,024. - Grade 1–5 (AED 44,115): Term 1 AED 17,646; Term 2 AED 17,646; Term 3 AED 8,823. - Grade 6–9 (AED 48,535): Term 1 AED 19,414; Term 2 AED 19,414; Term 3 AED 9,707. - Grade 10–12 (AED 53,380): Term 1 AED 21,352; Term 2 AED 21,352; Term 3 AED 10,676.
Application / registration fees - A non-refundable registration (or re-registration) fee is charged for new and returning students. If a student remains on the waiting list and a place cannot be offered, the registration / re-registration fee will be refunded; no refund is given when a parent voluntarily withdraws a child. Specific registration fee amounts are charged at the time of application and are processed through the school's enrolment/registration procedures.
Billing schedule and payment terms - Term payment due dates: Term 1 due 01/09/2025 (covers 4 months); Term 2 due 01/12/2025 (covers 4 months); Term 3 due 01/03/2026 (covers 2 months). Tuition is collected according to these term dates. - Fee deduction policy based on attendance: no-show or present less than 1 week — registration/re-registration fee only; attendance over 1 week up to 3 weeks in a term — one full month's tuition; over 3 weeks up to 6 weeks — two full months' tuition; over 6 weeks of the term — full term tuition.
Banking and payment methods - Payment methods accepted: bank transfer, credit card payment at the school accounts counter, cash at the accounts counter, or cheque at the accounts counter. - Bank account details for bank transfers: - Account name/title: Italian International School. - Account number: 4031005609765001. - IBAN: AE410354031005609765001. - Bank: First Abu Dhabi Bank (SWIFT NBADAEAAXXX).
Boarding - The school operates as a day school; boarding facilities do not apply.
Other compulsory or commonly charged items - Transportation: AED 5,000 per year for school bus service (specific routes covered are defined by the school). - Canteen: Mandatory three-month canteen meal subscription; special rate AED 1,900 for 3 months (discounted from AED 2,050). Parents can choose any three months within the academic year for this subscription. - Uniform: Purchased separately (online from the school's official supplier). Uniform costs are charged separately at point of purchase. - Books and external-provider ECAs: Charged separately when applicable; costs vary by provider. - Device requirement: Students from Grade 3 are required to supply their own device; associated costs are borne by parents. - MYP / Grade 10 examination fees: MYP board/examination fees apply for Grade 10 students; IB exam and registration fees are charged in line with the IB billing schedule and applicable examination fees.
Refunds and credits - Registration / re-registration fee: refundable only when a student is on the waiting list and a place cannot be offered; otherwise non-refundable for voluntary withdrawal. - Tuition refunds/credits on withdrawal are governed by the school's attendance-based fee deduction policy (see Billing schedule and payment terms). Specific pro rata refunds or charges are applied according to the period of attendance within the term as stated in the fee deduction policy.
Notes on discounts and special cases - A flat 15% new-registration discount is applied to the listed tuition amounts for new registrations for Academic Year 2025–2026; other discounts (cardholder, employee, community partner and grade-specific) may apply as defined in the school's discount policy. Grade 10 students have a specific 25% founders discount for Academic Year 2025–2026 where applicable.
Contact for fee queries and payments - Finance contact: Mr. Jithu Mohanan, Finance Manager (email provided by the school for fee and payment queries). Bank remittance instructions require sending a scanned copy of the remittance advice with the student ID to the school's finance contact to allow reconciliation.
Fee details
Application / Registration Fees
- A registration or enrolment fee may be charged on acceptance of an offer. The fee must not exceed 5% of the annual tuition and, when charged, is deductible from the tuition payable.
Annual tuition and per-term amounts (by grade)
Notes: amounts are in AED. Per-term figures are shown as an equal three‑instalment split of the published annual tuition (annual ÷ 3). The published annual tuition and the school's approved additional fees are listed below.
- KG 1 — Annual: AED 21,140; Per term (equal split): AED 7,047. - KG 2 — Annual: AED 21,980; Per term (equal split): AED 7,327. - Grade 1 — Annual: AED 23,250; Per term (equal split): AED 7,750. - Grade 2 — Annual: AED 23,670; Per term (equal split): AED 7,890. - Grade 3 — Annual: AED 24,270; Per term (equal split): AED 8,090. - Grade 4 — Annual: AED 25,120; Per term (equal split): AED 8,373. - Grade 5 — Annual: AED 25,960; Per term (equal split): AED 8,653. - Grade 6 — Annual: AED 27,330; Per term (equal split): AED 9,110. - Grade 7 — Annual: AED 29,540; Per term (equal split): AED 9,847. - Grade 8 — Annual: AED 30,790; Per term (equal split): AED 10,263. - Grade 9 — Annual: AED 32,060; Per term (equal split): AED 10,687. - Grade 10 — Annual: AED 33,760; Per term (equal split): AED 11,253. - Grade 11 — Annual: AED 36,390; Per term (equal split): AED 12,130. - Grade 12 — Annual: AED 37,240; Per term (equal split): AED 12,413.
- Fees must be charged in a minimum of three instalments per ADEK policy; the school's approved fee schedule requires collection across at least three instalments. The registration/enrolment fee (when charged) is deductible from the tuition and must not exceed 5% of the annual tuition. The school is prohibited from taking any additional financial guarantee or deposit from guardians to secure enrolment. - Per-term dates and the exact instalment split are determined by the school's published billing timetable; instalment timing may vary between schools in Abu Dhabi. The school's accounting/finance office handles invoicing and receipting for tuition and additional charges.
Boarding fees
- No boarding provision or boarding fees are included in the approved fee schedule for this campus; the schedule lists day‑school tuition and separate charges (books, transport, uniform).
Refund and deposit rules
- The approved fee schedule specifies that registration fees, when charged, are deductible from tuition but must not exceed 5% of annual tuition, and that schools are not permitted to accept financial guarantees or deposits from guardians for enrolment. No general blanket refund timetable is included in the approved fee schedule itself; specific refund conditions (for example on withdrawal or unused term fees) are managed through the school's published finance or enrolment terms and any ADEK-required guarantee form.
Fee payment options and how payments are made
- Payments are payable to the school's accounting/finance department. Commonly accepted methods at SABIS/ISC campuses include bank transfer, cheque, cash and card payments; specific accepted payment channels and bank details are provided by the school's finance office at billing. Examples of payment instructions and accepted methods are handled at the campus level.
Other notes on costs
- Examination fees (external exam charges for IGCSE, A‑Levels, international tests) are commonly charged separately and are not always included in the published tuition; check grade‑specific exam obligations in the senior years. - Co‑curricular activity charges, specialised programme fees, after‑school clubs, meals and any medical or insurance fees may be additional and are typically listed separately on school invoices. These additional optional costs are not included in the annual tuition figures above unless explicitly listed.
If you require these amounts presented in another currency or arranged in a different instalment example (for instance a 40% / 30% / 30% split), those per‑term figures can be calculated from the annual amounts shown above.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The Italian International School (IIS) Khalifa City, Abu Dhabi is an IB World School with English as the language of instruction and Italian language and culture integrated throughout its programme. It is authorized to offer the Primary Years Programme (PYP) and the Middle Years Programme (MYP) within the IB continuum, with IB authorizations recorded in early 2025. The Italian language department combines the Italian Ministry of Education curriculum with IB guidelines, offering Language A for Italian mother-tongue learners and Language B for non-native learners across KG1 through Grade 12, with Italian available as a Diploma Programme study option within the Language A track. Language learning is embedded across the curriculum, with English, Arabic, and Italian vocabulary integrated across subjects and close collaboration between language departments to foster multilingualism. The school reports a 1:7 staff-to-student ratio and offers over 20 extracurricular options to support holistic development. As of January 2025, IB authorizations cover PYP and MYP for IIS Khalifa City; there is no Diploma Programme authorization listed for this school in the IB information system. } }? The extra characters may be extra. Wait there is extraneous closing braces. I need to fix. The final should be a valid JSON object with a single key