King's College The British School of Murcia vs The A Level College of Altea
King's College The British School of Murcia and The A Level College of Altea are both in Alicante. Both schools offer British programmes. King's College The British School of Murcia also offers IB, Cambridge (Secondary), EYFS and Pearson Edexcel IGCSE, and The A Level College of Altea also offers Cambridge A Levels. Published annual fees are €6,120 - 13,485 at King's College The British School of Murcia and €9,440 - 12,065 at The A Level College of Altea, which puts The A Level College of Altea roughly 10% higher. King's College The British School of Murcia takes pupils from 1 to 18, and The A Level College of Altea from 16 to 18. King's College The British School of Murcia is the larger school, with around 542 pupils to The A Level College of Altea's 24. Typical class sizes are 25 at King's College The British School of Murcia and 7 at The A Level College of Altea.
IB (DP), British Curriculum, Cambridge (Secondary), EYFS (Early years foundation stage), Pearson Edexcel IGCSE
Curriculum
British Curriculum, Cambridge A Levels
Pupils
Pupils
542
Pupils
24
Typical class size
Typical class size
25
Typical class size
7
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
—
Opened
—
Bus service
Bus service
Yes
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Located on the outskirts of La Torre Golf Resort in Roldán, 30 minutes from Murcia city centre. The campus serves up to 750 students aged 18 months to 18 years. Address: Calle Pez Volador s/n, Urbanización La Torre Golf Resort, 30709 Roldán, Murcia. Accessible by King's College's bus routes and other transport links to the city centre.
Location
The school is located in Altea. The address is Carrer Benidorm 3, Altea, 03590.
A-level courses for 16-18 year olds taught in English.
School type
School type
Independent day school; co-educational.
School type
A-level college.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
38 nationalities; 55% of students are from Spain and 45% are international, with the largest group being British.
Pupil nationality mix
—
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Disability and Special Educational Needs: limited facilities; assessment of needs; English as an Additional Language (EAL) programme available with costs; adjustments and additional services may be provided and charged as appropriate.
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
British international school delivering the English National Curriculum and A Levels; bilingual English/Spanish; accredited by BSO and PENTA International.
Country affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
—
School day structure
School day structure
The school day runs from 9:15 am to 4:30 pm with one morning break and a lunchtime break.
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
Bus routes cover more than 20 neighbourhoods in Murcia, Cartagena, and the coastal regions of Costa Calida.
Bus service details
—
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application & enrolment fees - One-off non‑returnable enrolment fee: EUR 1,400. - Refundable deposit: EUR 600 (refunded when the pupil's education at the school has ended, subject to the school's terms). - Pre‑Nursery: there is no enrolment fee for Pre‑Nursery; Pre‑Nursery is charged as 10 monthly instalments of EUR 621. The Enrolment Fee and Refundable Deposit are payable on entry to Nursery (from Nursery upwards).
Tuition fees by year group (three terms per academic year) — fee per term and annual total - Pre‑Nursery: EUR 621 per month, charged over 10 monthly instalments (annual charge based on 10 months = EUR 6,210). - Nursery (age 3–4): Term 1 EUR 3,700; Term 2 EUR 2,780; Term 3 EUR 2,780. Annual total EUR 9,260. - Reception (age 4–5): Term 1 EUR 3,700; Term 2 EUR 2,780; Term 3 EUR 2,780. Annual total EUR 9,260. - Year 1 (age 5–6): Term 1 EUR 3,845; Term 2 EUR 2,890; Term 3 EUR 2,890. Annual total EUR 9,625. - Year 2 (age 6–7): Term 1 EUR 3,980; Term 2 EUR 2,990; Term 3 EUR 2,990. Annual total EUR 9,960. - Year 3 (age 7–8): Term 1 EUR 4,220; Term 2 EUR 3,170; Term 3 EUR 3,170. Annual total EUR 10,560. - Year 4 (age 8–9): Term 1 EUR 4,220; Term 2 EUR 3,170; Term 3 EUR 3,170. Annual total EUR 10,560. - Year 5 (age 9–10): Term 1 EUR 4,290; Term 2 EUR 3,215; Term 3 EUR 3,215. Annual total EUR 10,720. - Year 6 (age 10–11): Term 1 EUR 4,290; Term 2 EUR 3,215; Term 3 EUR 3,215. Annual total EUR 10,720. - Year 7 (age 11–12): Term 1 EUR 4,750; Term 2 EUR 3,565; Term 3 EUR 3,565. Annual total EUR 11,880. - Year 8 (age 12–13): Term 1 EUR 4,815; Term 2 EUR 3,610; Term 3 EUR 3,610. Annual total EUR 12,035. - Year 9 (age 13–14): Term 1 EUR 4,815; Term 2 EUR 3,610; Term 3 EUR 3,610. Annual total EUR 12,035. - Year 10 (age 14–15): Term 1 EUR 5,170; Term 2 EUR 3,880; Term 3 EUR 3,880. Annual total EUR 12,930. - Year 11 (age 15–16): Term 1 EUR 5,235; Term 2 EUR 3,930; Term 3 EUR 3,930. Annual total EUR 13,095. - Year 12 (age 16–17): Term 1 EUR 5,395; Term 2 EUR 4,045; Term 3 EUR 4,045. Annual total EUR 13,485. - Year 13 (age 17–18): Term 1 EUR 5,395; Term 2 EUR 4,045; Term 3 EUR 4,045. Annual total EUR 13,485. - Fees include tuition, lunch and books.
Billing schedule and payment terms - The academic year is organised across three terms; school fees and transport charges are billed and payable termly. Receipts are presented at the start of each term (within the first ten days of September, January and April). All standard fees, buses, optional classes and visits are payable by direct debit. - A charge applies for rejected bank/direct debit payments (a fixed administrative fee is applied each time a payment is rejected). If fees are not paid within seven days of the due date the school may refuse attendance; if fees remain unpaid after fourteen days the school may terminate the contract. - Three months' written notice is required to withdraw a pupil; in lieu of notice three months' fees are payable.
Transport and optional services (charges and examples) - School bus (per term): Return service Term 1 EUR 796 / Term 2 EUR 597 / Term 3 EUR 597. Annual total for return service EUR 1,990. Single journey Term 1 EUR 520 / Term 2 EUR 390 / Term 3 EUR 390. Annual total for single journey EUR 1,300. - Early morning childcare: From 08:00–09:00 charged at EUR 57 per month. One‑day service charged at EUR 5.80 per day. - EAL (English as an Additional Language) support (per term): Infants (Years 1–2) Term 1 EUR 1,700 / Term 2 EUR 1,275 / Term 3 EUR 1,275 (annual total EUR 4,250); Juniors (Years 3–6) Term 1 EUR 1,875 / Term 2 EUR 1,405 / Term 3 EUR 1,405 (annual total EUR 4,685); Seniors (Years 7–11) Term 1 EUR 2,515 / Term 2 EUR 1,890 / Term 3 EUR 1,890 (annual total EUR 6,295); Sixth Form (Years 12–13) Term 1 EUR 2,635 / Term 2 EUR 1,975 / Term 3 EUR 1,975 (annual total EUR 6,585). Charges for EAL are added as applicable. - ICT levy: EUR 38 per year. - External examination fees (IGCSE, A‑Level, IB where applicable, and external music or other exam fees) are charged in addition and appear on the termly invoice when applicable.
Discounts and sibling policy - Sibling discounts (non‑accumulative; not applicable to enrolment fee or additional services): 2 children — 10% discount for the second child; 3 children — 15% discount for the third child; 4+ children — 20% discount for the fourth child.
Uniform, meals and other routine charges - School meals are compulsory for all pupils and are included in the fees. Packed lunches are not permitted. Uniform items are sold through the school shop and are charged separately. Other incidental costs (optional trips, extra curricular activities, replacement items, external exam fees) are charged to individual accounts as they arise.
Boarding - King's College, The British School of Murcia operates as a day school and does not have boarding provision at this campus (no boarding fees apply).
Refunds and cancellations - The enrolment fee (EUR 1,400) is non‑refundable. The refundable deposit (EUR 600) is returned when the pupil's education at the school finishes, subject to the school's terms. In the event of cancellation of a new enrolment, the school will reimburse the refundable deposit but will retain the non‑returnable enrolment fee provided notice is given at least three months prior to the last day of school; Pre‑Nursery first month's fees (the initial deposit) are not refundable. There is no refund of term fees for absence due to illness or other causes.
Fee payment options and practical notes - The school requires payment by direct debit for regular termly charges. Receipts are issued at the start of each term. Parents who cannot use direct debit must request an exception from the school finance team; rejected payments incur an administrative charge. External exam and other incidental charges are added to termly invoices when applicable.
(End of fee summary.)
Fee details
Application / Registration Fee
- Registration fee: €500.
Tuition Fees (by year group and per term)
- Year groups covered: A-level students aged 16–18 (both first and second year of A-level study are charged under the college fee structure). - Annual tuition (base fee, includes three A-level subjects, selected extra-curricular activities, and university application mentoring): €9,440 per academic year. - Per-month instalment option (charged over 10 months, September to June): €944 per month. - Per-term (standard three-term academic year): €9,440 ÷ 3 = €3,146.67 per term (calculated from the published annual fee).
Optional / Additional Annual Charges
- PCE / Selectividad preparation: +€1,050 per year. - Each extra A-level subject beyond the included three: +€1,050 per year. - Extra English or Spanish lessons: +€525 per year. - Fees are exclusive of coursebooks and official exam entry fees; families should budget separately for textbooks, examination entries and similar consumables.
Billing Schedule and Payment Terms
- Billing options: pay the full annual tuition in a single payment, or spread the annual tuition over 10 monthly instalments from September through June at €944 per month. - The registration fee is charged in addition to the annual tuition.
Boarding Fees
- Boarding is not offered under the college fee schedule; there are no published boarding fees.
Other Costs and Typical Additional Expenses
- Coursebooks and official examination entry fees are excluded from the published fees and must be paid separately. - Uniform costs are not listed in the published fee schedule; families should allow for potential costs for clothing, study materials, transport and extracurricular activities.
Refunds and Cancellations
- There is no publicly published refund policy or detailed refunds/cancellation terms in the published fee information; specific refund conditions for registration or tuition payments are not specified.
Fee Payment Options
- The published fee information specifies payment in full or by 10 monthly instalments (September–June), but specific accepted payment methods (for example: bank transfer, direct debit, or credit/debit card) are not specified in the published fee material.
Summary of Key Figures (one-line reference)
- Registration fee: €500. Annual tuition (base): €9,440. Monthly (10 months): €944. Per standard term (3-term division): €3,146.67. Optional extras: PCE/Selectividad +€1,050; extra A-level +€1,050; extra language lessons +€525. Coursebooks and exam entries excluded.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
The school follows the National Curriculum for England and Wales in the secondary phase and prepares students for IGCSE examinations. In the Sixth Form, the A Level programme is offered, with most subjects following the International A-Level modular course. The International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme was introduced in 2022, but from the 2025–26 academic year the school has reverted to the A Level programme. All pupils study English Language, and the majority study English Literature; two sciences are studied; Spanish (Lengua y Cultura) is taught as an IGCSE subject. Pupils in Years 12–13 can choose Especifica subjects such as Biology, Technical Drawing, Economics, Physics, Geography, Art History, Mathematics II, Mathematics for the Social Sciences, and Chemistry, alongside A-Level subjects; Enrichment includes Extended Project Qualification, the Duke of Edinburgh Award, and Cambridge English qualifications.
Curriculum details
ALCA offers internationally recognised A-level qualifications for students over 16. The A-levels are taught in English to 16–18 year-olds. The school offers Mathematics, History, Travel & Tourism, Business Studies, Physics, Spanish, Media Studies, Psychology, Art & Design, and Sport & PE (AS only). Optional extras include Extra Spanish/Extra English, Selectividad Preparation, and GCSE resits. If a subject is not offered, Kings Interhigh Online School can provide additional options. Class sizes are limited to 10 students, and students receive more timetabled time with teachers than at most local schools, with qualified native-English-speaking teachers and a personalised approach that prepares them for university applications.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
—
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
In 2025, the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme class achieved an average score of 33.5 points. The highest Diploma score reached 42 points. 69% of students earned the bilingual IBDP diploma. For the IGCSE 2025 cohort, 44% scored A*; 57% scored A*-A; 73% scored A*-B.
Exam results
—
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
2024 graduates pursued degrees at universities in Spain including CEU Valencia (Medicine), University of Alicante (Biomedical Engineering), Miguel Hernández University (Environmental Sciences, Law), ESIC Valencia (International Business), University of Navarra (Pharmacy), Francisco de Vitoria University (Business), European University (International Relations, Engineering), Carlos III University (Project Management), UCAM (Pharmacy), and CUNEF (Law and Business). In the Rest of the World, graduates enrolled at University of Manchester, University of Wales Trinity Saint David, University of Amsterdam, Maastricht University, University of Sydney, and other institutions.
Higher education progression
The A-level courses prepare students for university applications and provide access to universities in the UK, Spain and around the world.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
Enrichment Studies include the Extended Project Qualification, the Duke of Edinburgh Award, and Cambridge English qualifications.
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Submit an Enquiry to begin. Visit the campus in person or arrange an online interview. Complete the online Application Form and submit the required documents. Student Assessment & Interview: Year 1 to Year 3 applicants meet the Head of Primary for simple literacy and numeracy tasks in English; Year 4+ applicants complete an online CAT4 assessment and an English written assessment; Year 11+ applicants have an interview with a senior member of the Secondary academic team. Offer and Admission: after reviewing the application and assessments, an offer is issued by letter or email; to secure the place, a one-time enrolment fee and refundable deposit must be paid; Admission is formally confirmed by the Admissions Department.
Admissions
1. The school provides a personalised approach to education. A meeting with parents and students is arranged to create a personalised curriculum that best suits their needs. This process ensures the programme is tailored to the student's goals and learning style. 2. Academic requirements: The school is primarily an A-level college, so enrollees should have the capacity, work ethic, and attitude required for the courses. The school can consider students over 16 who may need to resit GCSE exams or require help with the university application process. A meeting is arranged to discuss further. 3. Enrolment for September 2026/2027. The base fee includes three A-level subjects, some extra-curricular activities, and university application mentoring and guidance. Registration is €500 and annual fees are €9,440, payable in full or over 10 months (€944 per month). Additional charges cover PCE/Selectividad preparation (€1,050 annually), extra A-level subject (€1,050 annually), and extra English/Spanish lessons (€525 annually). Fees exclude coursebooks and exam entries. 4. Contact for more information or to arrange a visit. Phone: +34 629 617 417. Address: Carrer Benidorm 3, Altea, 03590.
Scholarships
Scholarships
Nsouli Scholars Programme provides 50 full scholarships at any one time to attend any Inspired school; the programme honours Nadim Nsouli, founder of Inspired in 2013; scholarships are awarded to individuals of Lebanese origin; the programme supports education across academics, sports, the arts and extracurricular activities.