New School Lyon vs Ombrosa International School - Lycee Multilingue De Lyon
New School Lyon and Ombrosa International School - Lycee Multilingue De Lyon are both in Lyon, about 8 km apart. Both schools offer French programmes. New School Lyon also offers Montessori, and Ombrosa International School - Lycee Multilingue De Lyon also offers IB and Cambridge IGCSE. Published annual fees are €6,155 - 7,750 at New School Lyon and €6,540 - 17,890 at Ombrosa International School - Lycee Multilingue De Lyon, which puts Ombrosa International School - Lycee Multilingue De Lyon roughly 76% higher. New School Lyon takes pupils from 2 to 11, and Ombrosa International School - Lycee Multilingue De Lyon from 3 to 18.
69 avenue Jean Mermoz, 69008 Lyon, in Lyon's 8th arrondissement
Location
Ombrosa has four sites in Lyon and Savoie: Campus of Ombrosa Caluire (95 Quai Clemenceau, Caluire-et-Cuire 69300), The Nursery – Lyon (50 Rue Vendôme, Lyon 69006), École bilingue de Savoie in Voglans (215 Rue centrale, 73420 Voglans) and Collège multilingue de Savoie in Le Bourget du Lac (168 chemin de la grande Roche, 73370 Le Bourget du Lac). The Lyon campus sits on the banks of the Saône in a protected area of the Grand Lyon, and the network serves the agglomeration with five school bus lines.
Private, secular, non-profit international bilingual school, partly under contract with the State.
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
58 nationalities represented; 75% French and 25% international.
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Personalised care; increased supervision and extra tutoring where necessary; support courses in French, Maths or English
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
France (French national curriculum)
Country affiliation
France
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
Secular
School day structure
School day structure
Open Monday to Friday; starts 7:45 am (before-school care available until 9:00 am); morning 9:00 am–12:00 pm; afternoon 1:30 pm–4:30 pm; Nursery 4:30 pm–6:30 pm; supervised study three times a week from 5:00 pm–6:00 pm (CE1).
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
—
Bus service details
Five school bus lines serve the Grand Lyon agglomeration.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application and registration fees
- Registration fee for new students (per child): €360. - Re-enrolment fee for returning students (per child): €95. - Excellence Fund contribution (per child): €300.
Tuition fees (rates published)
- Monthly full-time tuition for one child: €549.50. - Monthly full-time tuition for a family with two children: €990 (total monthly). - Monthly full-time tuition for a family with three children: €1,399 (total monthly). - Monthly part-time tuition (TPS only): €386.50.
Note: The school publishes tuition as monthly rates. No published breakdown by individual year group (TPS, Maternelle, CP, etc.) or as per-term figures is available in the public schedule.
Optional and ancillary fees (monthly pricing where indicated)
- Daycare (hours listed: from 7:45 a.m. to 9 a.m. — time slot not charged — and from 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.; monthly rates): - For 1 child: 3 days €31; 4 days €41.50; 5 days €51.50; one-day ticket €4.20. - For 2 children: 3 days €51.50; 4 days €67; 5 days €82.50; one-day ticket €7.20. - For 3 children: 3 days €77.50; 4 days €92.50; 5 days €118; one-day ticket €12.
- Supervised study (monthly basis stated): 1 day €30; 2 days €55; 3 days €75. - Wednesday workshops: between €20 and €40 per month per activity (rate depends on the activity).
Boarding / residential provision
- Boarding is not offered; New School Lyon operates as a day school for nursery and primary levels (TPS to CM2). No boarding fees apply.
Billing schedule and payment terms
- Published billing basis: monthly tuition rates are shown (i.e., fees are presented as a monthly amount). No publicly published per-term billing schedule, due dates, or late-payment penalties are included in the published fee information.
Refunds and cancellations
- No publicly published refund or cancellation policy appears with the fee schedule. Refund terms and liability for partial school attendance or early withdrawal are not stated in the published fee page.
Other routine costs
- The published schedule does not list mandatory uniform costs or textbook charges as separate line items; optional service charges above (catering, daycare, supervised study, workshops) are those explicitly listed. Additional incidental costs (school supplies, excursions, special activities) are not itemised in the published fee schedule.
Fee payment options
- The published fee information lists rates but does not specify accepted payment methods (bank transfer, direct debit, credit card, cheque) or payment-channel details.
Brief note on unavailable details
- The publicly available fees are given as monthly rates and optional monthly services. A per-term breakdown, explicit per-year-group tuition lines, specific billing dates, accepted payment methods, and a published refund policy are not provided in the published fee schedule. These specific items are not available in the published fee material.
Fee details
Registration (application) fee - EUR 175 per child (charged only for first-year admission).
Annual tuition (day school) — general (Nursery through Upper Secondary, excluding international section) - Annual tuition per child varies according to the number of siblings enrolled and household means: EUR 6,540 (one child, highest household bracket) to EUR 3,175 (four children in the same family, lowest household bracket).
Annual tuition — international section (from Troisième / Grade 9 onward) - Troisième (IGCSE year 1): EUR 10,330 (one child, higher household bracket) to EUR 5,505 (four children in the same family, lower household bracket). - Seconde (IGCSE year 2): EUR 11,540 to EUR 6,715. - Première and Terminale (International Baccalaureate years): EUR 17,890 to EUR 9,275 (ranges reflect sibling/household allowance adjustments and possible institutional family-support measures).
Per-term amounts (approximate) - The school publishes annual tuition figures. Per-term figures below are approximate and calculated by dividing the published annual amount by three (annual ÷ 3) to provide a term-level reference only: - General day-school annual range per term (approx.): EUR 2,180.00 to EUR 1,058.33 (annual EUR 6,540 ÷ 3 to EUR 3,175 ÷ 3). - Troisième (approx. per term): EUR 3,443.33 to EUR 1,835.00. - Seconde (approx. per term): EUR 3,846.67 to EUR 2,238.33. - Première / Terminale IB (approx. per term): EUR 5,963.33 to EUR 3,091.67.
Billing schedule and payment terms - The detailed billing schedule, payment terms and any available family support or payment plans are set out in the school's application file and general information booklet; the published public overview gives annual amounts and notes sibling- and household-adjusted rates.
Boarding fees - Ombrosa operates as a day school across several local sites and offers daytime services (including midday meal service and before/after-school care). No boarding/internat fees are published for the school's sites.
Other costs and extras - Complementary fees: Certain international classes and specific teachings generate additional (complementary) fees. - Meals/canteen (demi-pension) and before/after-school care (périscolaire) services are provided and typically carry separate charges. - Textbooks and school supplies: lists of required manuals and supplies are published for each year group; costs for books and personal supplies are separate from tuition. - School trips, exams (IGCSE / IB-related charges), extra-curricular club fees and any optional activities may incur additional charges as specified in the school's fee documentation.
Refunds and withdrawal - Specific refund, cancellation and withdrawal conditions (including any non‑refundable elements) are set out in the school's formal registration/fee documentation and general information booklet; the public summary indicates fee levels but refers to the application file for full terms.
Fee payment methods - Public pages list tuition and fee levels but do not publish a detailed list of accepted payment methods. The school's application/fee documents specify billing modalities and permitted payment methods.
Notes for parents (concise, factual) - The registration fee is payable at first admission (EUR 175 per child). - Annual tuition is quoted as ranges that depend on sibling count and household allowance; international-section years (IGCSE/IB) carry higher published annual fees and specific complementary charges. - Per-term figures above are approximate (annual ÷ 3) to give term-level context; the school's registration documents give formal billing schedules and any available payment plans.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
New School Lyon is a bilingual French-English public school in Lyon's 8th arrondissement, serving pupils from TPS to CM2. It follows the official French Ministry of Education curriculum. Bilingual immersion in English from an early age is central to learning. Small class sizes support a personalised teaching approach, which is active and based on a thematic project of general and scientific culture. The environment promotes children's well-being and development.
Curriculum details
The school coordinates the French national curriculum with the International Baccalaureate, and offers bilingual access from nursery onward. From 3e (G9/Y10) upward, students choose between the French General Baccalaureate and the International Baccalaureate; Cambridge IGCSE is available in some paths, and Singapore mathematics is used to develop mathematical skills. The multilingual environment includes French, English, German, Japanese, Spanish and Chinese.
Student teacher ratio
Student teacher ratio
Small class sizes.
Student teacher ratio
—
Exam results
Exam results
—
Exam results
French General Baccalaureate (2025) had a 100% success rate with 100% honours; 61% of students achieved distinctions (B–TB) and the general average was 14.2/20. The International section had a 95% success rate with an average of 32 points, and 33% of students passed the Bilingual Baccalaureate.
Higher education progression
Higher education progression
—
Higher education progression
Graduates join higher education institutions in France and abroad, including INSA Lyon (PASS option mathématiques), EDHEC Nice and EDHEC Lille (International BBA, French and English tracks), Sciences Po Paris, Emlyon Global BBA, Université Lyon 1, Université Lyon 2, Bellecour Ecole, and abroad at University of Sussex, Rutgers University, Eindhoven University of Technology, University of Amsterdam, McGill University, Santa Barbara City College, among others.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
Parcours talent (talent track) is listed among higher education options via Emlyon Global BBA (English track).
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
—
Admissions
1. Information and application. Information and application files can be requested from the school. Applications are studied by the Head of Studies of the required class. Depending on availabilities, a waiting list may be established, and the date of reception of the complete application is taken into account. Registration fee (first year only) is 175€ per child for admission in 2025-2026. 2. Nursery entry. In nursery school, an interview with the director is required. The interview is part of the admission process at Ombrosa. 3. Elementary entry. For entry up to CE1 (G2/Y3), an application file and interview are required. From CE2 (G3/Y4), an assessment, interview and application file are required. 4. Secondary entry. In secondary school, an assessment, interview and application file are required. 5. Fees and payment. Annual school fees are identical per family and are adjusted based on the number of children enrolled and the household allowance. International classes from troisième (G9/Y10) to Terminale (G12/Y13) incur complementary fees. Reference points for 2025-2026 include: non-international fees from 6 540 € (one child, household allowance maximum bracket) to 3 175 € (four children, household allowance minimum bracket); international section starting in troisième: 10 330 € (troisième) / 11 540 € (seconde) for one child, down to 5 505 € / 6 715 € for four children; Première (G11/Y12) and Terminale: 17 890 € (one child) to 9 275 € (four children). The international section also references a policy to support families offered by the school and more details in the general information booklet.
Scholarships
Scholarships
null
Scholarships
—
Waitlist
Waitlist
—
Waitlist
Waiting list may be established. The date of reception of the complete application is taken into account.