The Nairobi Academy and Woodcreek School are both in Nairobi, about 24 km apart. Both schools offer British, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels and BTEC Qualification programmes. The Nairobi Academy also offers Cambridge (Secondary) and IB, and Woodcreek School also offers EYFS and Bespoke. Published annual fees are KES 428,500 - 1,494,500 at The Nairobi Academy and KES 824,000 - 2,337,500 at Woodcreek School, which puts Woodcreek School roughly 64% higher. Both take pupils from 2 to 18. Typical class sizes are 15 at The Nairobi Academy and 12 at Woodcreek School.
British Curriculum, Cambridge (Secondary), Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, BTEC Qualification, IB (DP)
Curriculum
British Curriculum, Cambridge IGCSE, Cambridge A Levels, BTEC Qualification, EYFS (Early years foundation stage), Bespoke Curriculum
Pupils
Pupils
—
Pupils
700
Typical class size
Typical class size
15
Typical class size
12
Instruction language
Instruction language
English
Instruction language
English
Opened
Opened
1976
Opened
2018
Bus service
Bus service
No
Bus service
No
Essentials
Essentials
Location
Location
Langata Road, Next to Mamba Village, Nairobi. P.O. Box 24817-00502 Karen, Nairobi Kenya. The Nairobi Academy Kindergarten (Kenwood Nairobi Academy) is on General Mathenge Drive, Westlands.
Location
Kiambu County, Kenya, along Kamiti Road. The campus is approximately 30 minutes from Nairobi CBD and about 40 minutes from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport.
Stages
Stages
Early Years (Kenwood Nairobi Academy Kindergarten; Nairobi Academy Pre-preparatory School), Preparatory, Secondary.
Stages
Kindergarten to High School
School type
School type
Private day and boarding school.
School type
Day and boarding school
Pupil nationality mix
Pupil nationality mix
—
Pupil nationality mix
Diverse international pupil body, with students from Kenya and around the world.
Additional learning support
Additional learning support
Pastoral care and wellbeing, including guidance and counselling, PSHE, Careers Education and Guidance, co-curricular engagements, talent and competencies development, leadership and student voice. Safeguarding is a core commitment.
Additional learning support
—
Country affiliation
Country affiliation
Kenya
Country affiliation
Kenya
Religious affiliation
Religious affiliation
—
Religious affiliation
Christian
School day structure
School day structure
—
School day structure
—
Bus service details
Bus service details
We have a fleet of buses and vans to transport students from home to school and back. Transport is not compulsory. Routes include Karen – Hardy; Rongai; Ngong; South B – NHC – Bomas; Dam – Phenom – Game Park; South B – Mombasa Road; Adams – Kilimani – Ngumo – Madaraka; SSD – Lavington; Lang'ata; Kileleshwa; UNEP – Highridge – Ngara; Rongai – Twala; South C.
Bus service details
School buses are provided.
Fees
Fees
Fee details
Fee details
Application & Registration Fees - Registration fee (one-off, non‑refundable): KES 15,000. - Testing/assessment fee (applicants): KES 5,000.
Pre‑Preparatory (PP1 – PP4 / Reception / Year 1) — Tuition (termly) - PP1 (age 2–3) Playgroup: KES 115,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP1. - PP2 (age 3–4) Nursery: KES 145,000 (termly). Lunches and afternoon school are exclusive for PP2. - PP3 (age 4–5) Reception: KES 160,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive. - PP4 / Year 1 (age 5–6): KES 195,000 (termly). Lunches are inclusive.
Miscellaneous charges for Pre‑Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Afternoon school: KES 12,000. - Lunch (where charged): KES 16,000 (pre‑prep). Occasional lunches per meal: KES 500. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Preparatory School (Year 2 – Year 7) — Tuition (termly) - Year 2 (age 6–7): KES 225,000 (termly). - Year 3 (age 7–8): KES 270,000 (termly). - Year 4 (age 8–9): KES 285,000 (termly). - Year 5 (age 9–10): KES 340,000 (termly). - Year 6 (age 10–11): KES 350,000 (termly). - Year 7 (age 11–12): KES 370,000 (termly).
Miscellaneous charges for Preparatory: - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000. - Parents' Teachers' Association levy: KES 500. - Lunch (compulsory for Years 2–7): KES 38,500 (per term). - Internet charges (compulsory Years 2–7): KES 4,500 (per term). - Bus transport: charged according to the school's zonal plan (amount varies by zone). - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 40,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000.
Secondary School (Year 8 – Year 13, plus BTEC/IB) - Year 8 (age 12–13): KES 375,000 (termly). - Year 9 (age 13–14): KES 392,000 (termly). - Year 10 (age 14–15): KES 410,000 (termly). - Year 11 (age 15–16): KES 1,230,000 (per annum). - Year 12 (age 16–17): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - Year 13 (age 17–18): KES 1,306,500 (per annum). - BTEC programme (per annum): KES 1,085,400. - IB Diploma programme (per annum): KES 1,354,500.
Secondary miscellaneous and extras: - Internet charges (compulsory Years 8–13): KES 6,000 (per academic year or as charged). - Lunch (compulsory for Years 8–13): KES 42,500 (per term). - Student lockers: KES 1,000 (per term). - Annual assessment fee for BTEC students: KES 87,000. - Caution fee (refundable on leaving): KES 50,000. - School magazine (annual): KES 2,000. - Ambulance & insurance services: KES 1,000.
Boarding fees and boarder charges - Full boarding fee (termly): KES 203,500. - Medical cover for full boarders (per annum): KES 52,000. - Weekly boarding (Monday–Friday): KES 25,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Weekend boarding (two days): KES 10,000 (termly unless otherwise stated). - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for boarders/local students: KES 27,000. - Caution money (refundable on leaving) for foreign students: KES 100,000. - Entertainment imprest for boarders (accountable): KES 6,500.
Discounts and inclusions - Tuition fees are stated as inclusive of books and stationery where specified. - Family discount on tuition fees only: 5% on the second child; 15% on the third and subsequent siblings.
Refunds & non‑refundable items - Registration fee: one‑off, non‑refundable. - Testing fee: charged on application (KES 5,000). The document lists this fee without refund. - Caution fees / caution money: shown as refundable on leaving (amounts vary by section and by local/foreign status as above).
Billing schedule & payment terms (as stated in the fee schedule) - Many tuition figures are presented on a termly basis; certain senior years and programme fees (Years 11–13, BTEC, IB) are shown as per annum. Early‑payment discounts may be applied and are determined on a termly basis. Transport is charged according to the school's zonal plan. Family discounts apply to tuition only.
Other costs commonly noted - Bus transport: charged according to four zones (amount varies by route/zone). - Lockers, magazines, occasional lunches and afternoon school charges as itemized above. - Uniform costs are not itemized in the published fee schedule.
Fee payment options - The published 2025/26 fee schedule lists fees, termly/per‑annum presentation and a statement that early‑payment discounts and family discounts apply, but it does not specify detailed payment methods (credit card, bank transfer, M‑Pesa, paybill, etc.) or explicit billing dates in the fee document itself. Contact the school's admissions or finance office for the accepted payment channels and exact due dates.
Summary of coverage in this fee schedule: the document provides complete termly tuition figures for Pre‑Preparatory and Preparatory years, termly amounts for Years 8–10 and per‑annum figures for Years 11–13 and for the BTEC/IB programmes, plus boarding tariffs, listed miscellaneous charges, family discount rules, and which items are refundable or non‑refundable. Specific payment channels and a full billing calendar are not specified in the published fee schedule.
Fee details
Application & registration fees
- Registration / admission fee (day students, non-refundable): KES 20,000. - Registration / admission fee (boarders, non-refundable): KES 25,000. - Medical emergency cover (per year): KES 5,000. - Co-curricular & extra‑curricular fee (per term): KES 20,000. - Peripatetic music lessons (optional, per term): KES 20,000. - Caution / refundable deposits where shown (see refundable section below).
Tuition fees — per term (amounts in KES)
Early Years (early years class options and part‑time options shown separately): - Ruby (approx. 2–3 yrs): KES 131,500 per term. - Opal (approx. 3–4 yrs): KES 181,500 per term. - Diamond (approx. 4–5 yrs): KES 188,500 per term. - Pearl (mornings only, part‑time option): KES 27,000 per term. - Pearl (full‑day / full‑time): KES 36,500 per term (part‑time/full‑day entry also shown).
Key Stage 1: - Year 1: KES 253,000 per term. - Year 2: KES 264,200 per term.
Key Stage 2: - Year 3: KES 320,000 per term. - Year 4: KES 340,000 per term. - Year 5: KES 365,000 per term. - Year 6: KES 372,000 per term.
Key Stage 3–5 (secondary / sixth form) — per term: - Year 7: KES 395,000 per term. - Year 8: KES 400,000 per term. - Year 9: KES 425,000 per term. - Year 10: KES 455,000 per term. - Year 11: KES 757,500 per term. - Year 12: KES 565,000 per term. - Year 13: KES 847,500 per term.
Note: the fee schedule shows multiple columns for different student categories (day, weekly boarder, full boarder, international/IFY where applicable); amounts above follow the published per‑term fee entries for the standard categories shown.
Boarding fees
- Temporary boarding (per day, payable in advance): KES 10,000. - Weekly boarding — per term (by year group) examples shown in the schedule: Year 6 through Year 13 weekly‑boarding per‑term figures are published in the fee schedule (examples published include amounts such as KES 649,800; KES 655,000; KES 676,800; KES 730,400; KES 1,201,500; KES 870,300; KES 1,305,450 for different year groups/categories). - Full boarding — per term (by year group) examples published include amounts such as KES 1,309,950 (for specific categories shown).
Transport (per term)
- Zone 1: One‑way KES 30,290 / Two‑way (return) KES 37,900. - Zone 2: One‑way KES 41,800 / Two‑way KES 52,250. - Zone 3: One‑way KES 49,500 / Two‑way KES 61,900. - Zone 4: One‑way KES 64,900 / Two‑way KES 81,150. - Zone 5: One‑way KES 70,400 / Two‑way KES 88,000.
Other compulsory / optional costs
- ICDL (computer literacy) — published as a per‑year charge (example entries show KES 33,600 and KES 30,000 for different categories). - Co‑curricular & extra‑curricular per term: KES 20,000. - Peripatetic music lessons (optional, per term): KES 20,000.
Refunds and refundable deposits
- Registration / admission fees are explicitly shown as non‑refundable. - Caution money (deposit) is refundable; published caution amounts vary by section/age group (examples: Early Years / KS1 caution shown as KES 40,000; Key Stage 3–5 caution amounts published include KES 55,000, KES 60,000 and KES 90,000 for different year groups/categories). - Caution fee for the International Foundation Year (IFY) is refundable upon progression to a participating partner university (published example: KES 10,000).
Billing schedule and payment terms
- School fees are payable before commencement of each term. Students with outstanding fees will not be registered for external examinations. - Year 11 and Year 13: the annual tuition fee for these year groups (covering the three terms) is billed in two instalments and payable in September and January only. - Sibling discounts (applied to the younger child(ren)): 2nd child 5% off tuition; 3rd child 7.5% off tuition; 4th and subsequent children 10% off tuition.
Fee payment options and account details
- Bank transfer payments are accepted; the fee documents publish school account names and account numbers for ABSA Bank Kenya PLC (Muthaiga branch) and KCB Bank (Salama House branch). Published account entries include: "WOODCREEK SCHOOL LTD — AC NO: 2037887296 (ABSA)" and "WOODCREEK SCHOOLS LIMITED — AC NO: 1224506111 (KCB)". Use the school's posted contact numbers for payment queries: +254 743 299 810 / +254 741 670 716; email: info@woodcreekschool.sc.ke.
Brief note on items not explicitly priced in the published fee schedules
- The published fee schedule provides explicit amounts for tuition (per term), boarding categories, transport zones, co‑curricular charges, medical cover and certain per‑year charges (e.g., ICDL). A specific uniform price is not published in the fee schedule documents consulted; uniform costs are generally managed separately by the school and are not shown as a listed line item in the published fee PDFs.
If you require a compact extraction of particular year groups, boarding category totals, or the transport zone that applies to a given address, use the account contact numbers above to confirm the zone/category that applies and for the exact account reference to use when paying.
Diving deeper
Diving deeper
Boarding arrangements
Boarding arrangements
—
Boarding arrangements
—
Uniform requirement
Uniform requirement
—
Uniform requirement
—
Food options
Food options
—
Food options
—
House system
House system
—
House system
—
Governance and ownership
Governance and ownership
—
Governance and ownership
—
Academics
Academics
Curriculum details
Curriculum details
Curriculum at a glance: Nairobi Academy offers a multi-path secondary curriculum. KS3 IGCSE (ages 12-13) forms the basis of learning, with Year 9 students choosing IGCSE options. KS4 IGCSE (ages 14-16) provides a broad range of subjects with five compulsory subjects: English, Mathematics, two or three Sciences, and History or Geography, plus four or five other subjects including a modern language and a humanities subject. A Level (ages 16-18) comprises the GCE A Level programme and Pearson BTEC, with three A Level subjects chosen from seven options, and enrichment including guidance on university applications. The Nairobi Academy is authorized for the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (DP) and is pursuing authorization for the Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP) and Career-related Programme (CP). Extra-curricular activities include a variety of clubs and societies to complement academic learning.
Curriculum details
Woodcreek School offers the British national curriculum for Kindergarten through High School. The curriculum is accredited by the Cambridge Assessment International Education and enables access to leading universities nationally and worldwide. It culminates in internationally recognized qualifications, including IGCSE and GCE (A-Level) and BTEC examinations.
Higher Education and Careers: The Careers Counselling Department uses a framework that focuses students on recognizing and creating opportunities to make informed career choices by defining their career goals in an annual Career Action Plan. The Careers' Action Plan is based on the Key Stages, with the Careers' Head working closely with Year Group Coordinators and Form Tutors to provide support. Key Stage 3 (Year 8 and 9) introduces career activities and resources to help students choose IGCSE options in Year 9. Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and 11) centers on refining the career action plan with experiences such as Work Experience. Key Stage 5 (Year 12 and 13) offers exposure to Career and University Fairs, training on Personal Statements, Personal Branding, and other competencies to prepare for tertiary education and the world of work.
Higher education progression
The school prepares students for higher education at leading universities in Kenya and internationally.
Gifted and talented
Gifted and talented
—
Gifted and talented
—
Academic calendar
Academic calendar
—
Academic calendar
—
Wellbeing & support
Wellbeing & support
Social & emotional learning
Social & emotional learning
—
Social & emotional learning
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
Special educational needs (SEN)
—
English as an additional language
English as an additional language
—
English as an additional language
—
Mental wellbeing
Mental wellbeing
—
Mental wellbeing
—
Safeguarding
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding
—
Safeguarding policy
Safeguarding policy
—
Safeguarding policy
—
Facilities
Facilities
Facilities overview
Facilities overview
—
Facilities overview
—
Sports facilities
Sports facilities
—
Sports facilities
—
Academic facilities
Academic facilities
—
Academic facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
Extra curricular facilities
—
Extra curricular facilities
—
Parent experience
Parent experience
History
History
—
History
—
Community
Community
—
Community
—
Parent teacher association
Parent teacher association
—
Parent teacher association
—
Extra-curricular
Extra-curricular
Academic & intellectual
Academic & intellectual
—
Academic & intellectual
—
Arts & creative
Arts & creative
—
Arts & creative
—
Cultural & language
Cultural & language
—
Cultural & language
—
Social & hobbies
Social & hobbies
—
Social & hobbies
—
Community & service
Community & service
—
Community & service
—
Leadership & professional
Leadership & professional
—
Leadership & professional
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Lifestyle & wellbeing
—
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
Language provision
—
Language provision
—
Bilingual teaching
Bilingual teaching
—
Bilingual teaching
—
Immersion programs
Immersion programs
—
Immersion programs
—
Reputation
Reputation
Awards
Awards
—
Awards
—
Accreditations
Accreditations
—
Accreditations
—
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
Admissions
1. All admissions to the School are processed through a senior member of staff. When seeking admission, prospective students are requested to provide: 1. Two copies of the birth certificate. 2. Two copies of the passport, 3. Two copies of passport photos, 4. Two subsequent previous school reports / academic transcripts, 5. School Leaving Certificate. Prospective students will also be interviewed and asked to sit an entrance placement examination.
2. Enrolment Process: A student who is interested in joining Nairobi Academy should fill the application form and make an appointment with the school for a formal interview. Prospective students not resident in Kenya should contact the school via telephone or email for further advice.
3. After passing the interview, the student will be offered an application form.
Admissions
The admissions team will answer your questions and arrange a campus viewing. If you decide to apply for enrollment, you will receive the necessary application forms. Step Two: After questions are answered and a campus visit has taken place, you may apply for enrollment by receiving the application forms. Complete the forms and return them with the application fee. The school will review the submission and guide you on the next steps. Step Three: The completed application is reviewed once the application fee is paid in full. The school assesses the submission for a place based on available capacity and program requirements. The final decision is communicated after the enrollment process is completed. Step Four: Woodcreek School is non-selective and offers opportunities for all. Enrollment is not denied based on previous academic achievement. If a child has Special Education Needs, the school may work with parents to develop an Individual Education Plan, and any additional support beyond standard provision may incur extra costs. The school reserves the right to deny access if needs exceed teaching capacity. Step Five: Applications are accepted throughout the year and students may join at any time. For Year 6 entries mid-year, prior learning will be assessed to determine fit. The school will communicate whether it can meet the student's learning needs and confirm placement. Step Six: Year level placement follows the child's age in most cases. Placement is normally age-appropriate, but the school may consider entering a child into a different year level in special circumstances. Parents should alert the school at application if they wish a different level from the one ordinarily expected.
Scholarships
Scholarships
Our school offers a few Scholarship awards at the start of each Key Stage for well deserving and highly achieving students both within and outside the school community. These Scholarships are given based on the child's academic as well as co-curricular achievement and potential.